Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: THE PRINCE'S NANNY
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it CaseLangVeirs Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 28, 2011
sabrina West has been sent to Italy to become the nanny to the Prince of Savoy's twin daughters. A long line of previous nannies had been sent to work for the Prince, but none had lasted. According to the feedback , not only were his twin daughters difficult and manipulative, but the Prince himself was far from easy to deal with. So it was with some trepidation that Sabrina walked off of the ferry at Lake Como. The Prince himself had come to meet her, she was totally taken aback by this tall handsome Adonis. Yes he was proud and arrogant, and for a time she thought she would be sent packing straight back on the ferry, but they agreed that she would stay to prepare the two girls for their interview for a private school he wanted to send them to.
Prince Vittorio Savoy had been married but his wife had died just after the birth of the twins, and he had vowed never to marry for love again. But he found himself drawn to Sabrina, even the girls seemed to have taken to her. Sabrina could not help but be attracted to the prince, but she was his employee, just a servant. Anything between them would never work. Then his daughters decided to take matters into their own hands and locked him and Sabrina in the tower together.
This is a sweet romance, with a fairytale feel to it. A handsome prince with two motherless daughters, and a beautiful nanny. Quite a pleasant read.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
I like Carol Grace, but like all the other books of hers that I have read, I get a feeling that it was written in the 1980s and was just recycled for the 2000s to keep the "contemporary" label. But, first things first - the story.

Vittorio Monteverde, a descendant of Italian royalty and would have been a prince if Italy has remained a monarchy was in need of a nanny for his twin daughters. Enter nanny Sabrina West, from San Francisco, California, whose agency the Prince has been using to hire nannies. Sabrina was sent to him because everyone they had sent had either been fired or resigned.

To salvage her nanny agency's reputation and keep the Prince's business, Sabrina has one week to prepare the twins for their interview to an exclusive boarding school.

***SPOILER ALERT***
In a matter of that one week, Sabrina failed to get the twins pass their interview. But, she won their hearts and the heart of their father. This plot of course is expected. It's a romance and happily ever after is a given.

What really annoyed me and the reason why I gave this three stars is POWER POINT!!! Sabrina helped Vittorio Monteverde close a multi-million dollar deal because she knows how to make a power point presentation!!! Vittorio Monteverde owns a big bank, one of the biggest in Italy according to a storyline. Yet, he does not have anyone in his employ who knows how to make a power point presentation except his nanny! And, he made Sabrina make the presentation! Has Vittorio turned insane? Sabrina might be bright, she might even have a genius IQ for all we know, but to make the presentation about a bank merger without any prepartion except for an hour wherein she created the power point presentation is just totally unbelievable. In short, you have to suspend your disbelief on this one.

This is also the reason why I believe the story should have been kept within the 1980s timeframe. Power Point was originally released in 1987 and rightfully considered a groundbreaking software. In the 1980s context, Sabrina's knowledge of Power Point is awesome. In the 2000s or even 2010s context, knowing how to use Power Point is expected even among middle school children.

Now, if you can suspend your disbelief, or imagine that its the 1980s, it is truly a great read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
Lovely variation on the Cinderella story. Beautiful nanny meets handsome Italian prince with two motherless daughters, a step mother who owns the nanny agency & has two not so nice daughters. Throw in the Prince's fiancee who dislikes his daughters almost as much as they dislike her. The only thing missing is the Glass Slipper. Very Good Read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2012
It was a cute quick read with fun characters and a solid plot. There were a set of adorable twin 6 year old girls that were scheming throughout and kept me smiling. The Prince needed an attitude adjustment at times but was still likeable. Gotta love the fact that I was able to download it for free on Amazon. Happy Reading, Enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 27, 2014
I loved this story. The nanny travels to Italy, Lake Como (home of George Clooney) to be the nanny to twin girls of a prince. He lost his wife when she gave birth to the twins so he is off romance and definitely love and marriage. The young, pretty nanny shows up and turns his world upside down. This was a sweet romance and a good story. I really enjoyed it and recommend it. Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
There's nothing better than curling up with a good book, and I'm glad I made room for this one on my Kindle. The author is engaging. She paints a nice picture of the landscape and surroundings during the story. In short, the book is about a nanny who is called to Italy to work for a Prince. The Prince has twin daughters that prove to be a handful, but Sabrina, the nanny, remains diligent in doing her job. What she didn't expect is to fall in love with the Prince who is engaged. She struggles to control her feelings for him while working to win the hearts of his daughers. If you want to know how it ends, I would highly recommend that you download it. The author provides enough twist and turns early in the story to keep you engaged. You won't be sorry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2012
What I loved about this novel was that the lead characters were well-developed. They had their back stories and personalities which were clearly reflected within the story. They were believable and thus able to easily engage a reader. I also like the romance which felt right, not forced, so that there's a feeling of the inevitable taking place when events unfold in the story.

That being said, it was badly written. The narration was amateurish and stilted at times in huge portions of the book, AND TYPOS LIKE WHOA! Major stumbling block for readers. In some crucial parts - like the one where they each realize they had fallen in love - so that the reader is left wondering, 'really? how do you suppose you came to that conclusion?' It's like the writer is trying to dictate the thoughts and feelings of the character to the reader instead of making them feel it.

That being said, the author has a huge potential to be one of those authors the romance world constantly buzzes about, and this could even be the story to do it for her, but it needs some serious revision and proofreading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
I found this story quite silly. The way it was written and the abrupt changes in the characters feelings for each other without any particular reason really bothered me...I kept checking the progress on my kindle to see how much more I had to read ( unfortunately, I'm not capable of leaving a book unfinished... even if I'm not enjoying it...)
Furthermore, the digital version has lot of editing problems that should really be reviewed.
Overall, quite disappointing...especially because I have read other books from Carol grace that I really liked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2011
So happy to have discovered another one of Carol Grace's novels. She again delivers on providing an exciting, fun and witty book. Pick this up today or buy the kindle version.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2011
Amateurish and badly in need of editing.

Love the plethora of indie writers on Amazon and their great prices, but it wasn't enough to compensate for this one. I couldn't get past the first two chapters, which is unusual for me. But the tenses were all over the place, and the internal dialogues were cringe-worthy.

I don't preclude trying Grace again in the future, after she has time to gain some experience, but don't waste your time or money here.

December 3, 2011

Someone commenting on my review (rather derisively) brought to my attention that Carol Grace is NOT a new author; she has a substantial backlist. But the website I found for author Carol Grace (aka Carol Culver and Grace Caroll) does not list this book, at least under this title. Newest releases shown are for 2009.

If there is only one writer by name of Carol Grace, I am at a loss as to why the quality and editing was so poor on this book. My opinion of it remains unchanged.
44 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.