Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eric Clapton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars9
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 20, 2011
The concept of the book is good, and as usual with such "what-if" concepts the author neccessarily must make up lots of things that never actually happened, as well as tweaking things that DID happen.

Having said that, the book is so ridden with errors that one wonders if there has been any research at all. A typical example is the repeated use of the term "Das Fuhrer" (sic). In fact, there are multitudes of lingual, factual, geographical and historical errors that need not have been tweaked as they are not relevant to the "what-if" concept. Literally hundreds of obvious such errors spring from the pages as the read goes on. This to the extent that it completely takes away the joy of reading. One can really wonder if this guy really is a Military Historian at all, or if the fact that this is a "what-if" concept book has been used as an excuse for not doing proper research.

Add to that an editing that at times is totally incoherent and makes the reader get quite lost in the plot.

Conclusion: This is not a good read.
33 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2003
I saw this book first on the website:
[...]
Then I purchased it and found that the story was filled with very visual accounts of historical characters and events throughout the early years of Hitler's Reich and the Second World War.
The entire story is a fantastic journey into a very likely scenario that might have changed the course of world history.
A great read. This man is a born story teller!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2004
The Sky Club by Ian Feldman is a deftly written thrilling. This is a grippingly suspenseful novel about a retiring British spy who learns of a devastating secret of fifty years -- that Allied commandos had not stopped the creation of a German nuclear bomb by Nazi scientists, but had only driven their research underground. The unforeseen consequence was that a doomsday device many times more powerful than the lethal weapon used on Hiroshima slowly took shape. Alternately brutal, terrifying, and tense, The Sky Club is a dark and highly recommended saga will suspend the reader on edge with Ian Feldman's gift for masterful and "reader engaging" prose.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
The premise is great but the execution is poor. This needs to be professionally edited to achieve any higher ratings from readers. The author uses commas in the wrong places and uses way too many. There are numerous wrong words throughout the manuscript (e.g., 'stair' for 'stare') and paragraphs break in the middle of sentences.

I completed the book to learn what happened to the characters and to the world but I was left stunned and confused in many places by sudden changes without explanation. For instance, how did Horst negotiate his exile? The book starts with the discovery of his body, goes through his war years, but we never learn why and how he made it to the island. Or, how did the SSI warrior suddenly get to North Carolina? Then, the author spends too much time on topics no way germane to the plot, slowing down the book and distracting readers.

This story has great potential! It needs better editing by a professional editor (and the author needs to heed the editor's comments and suggestions) and it needs to be shortened and parts clarified.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
I am inspired to learn more about the Nazi's effort to create nuclear bomb. I don't know enough to distinguish between fiction and history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
If love enjoy historical fiction, this is a great read. Intrigue and insight all in one. The price was great too - got it for free!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2014
An exciting read that kept me rivited. I enjoyed the fast pace of the book and can recommend it to anyone interested in that era
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
Boring. Author jumps around too much in relating his story. Hard to keep interested. One loses touch with the main characters, in fact, can't tell who the main characters are.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2010
I enjoyed the story - however, needed major editing before publishing. The formatting was not good at all and I'm not sure that had anything to do with how the book is transferred to Kindle. It was a good read; but would have flowed smoother with tighter editing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.