Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tastes Just Fine!
I very rarely review products, but since I hesitated for quite awhile to order this product based upon another reviewer's unmitigated dislike for its flavor, I thought it might be helpful to others considering this product to know that it tastes just fine! I've used vanilla PaleoMeal every morning for years in my morning shake and really liked that flavor too, but wanted...
Published on March 15, 2012 by anonymous

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If at first you don't succeed...try, try again
This is one of the only places I could find and share a review about this product, VEGELITE protein powder by Thorne Research. While I admire and appreciate that there is no sugar, and a wonderful amount of protein, when I tried it the first few times found it dishearteningly distasteful. I was really worried that I couldn't get through the day with only this to eat. I...
Published on November 9, 2012 by Rockridge5203


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tastes Just Fine!, March 15, 2012
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
I very rarely review products, but since I hesitated for quite awhile to order this product based upon another reviewer's unmitigated dislike for its flavor, I thought it might be helpful to others considering this product to know that it tastes just fine! I've used vanilla PaleoMeal every morning for years in my morning shake and really liked that flavor too, but wanted something with fewer carb grams along with a great nutritional profile, and Vegalite fits the bill. The chocolate is even better, but the vanilla is very good too, and I will be ordering both flavors from now on instead of my old standby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If at first you don't succeed...try, try again, November 9, 2012
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
This is one of the only places I could find and share a review about this product, VEGELITE protein powder by Thorne Research. While I admire and appreciate that there is no sugar, and a wonderful amount of protein, when I tried it the first few times found it dishearteningly distasteful. I was really worried that I couldn't get through the day with only this to eat. I checked back on the mixing instructions from the PEERtrainer site (as I am doing the two week cleanse with Jackie Wicks and JJVirgin..which is really fun and supportive). It hasn't seemed to work with blueberries and greens, but with a handful of spinach and a half banana...and a little more water and coconut milk, blended up really well made ALL the difference. SO FOLKS, before you think about returning this, do play around with ingredients, and blending techniques, and you might find that it works just fine. :>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!, May 2, 2012
By 
L. L Sievers (El Segundo, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
After seeing such scathing comments, I had to double-check to make sure I was reading reviews about the same product. I'm a long time vegan, have tried myriad plant-based protein powders, and have found many less than palatable. Ranging from cardboard to downright disgusting, their tastes have varied with few earning the rank of delicious. My wellness doc recommended Thorne, I tried it, and I've been sold ever since - it is indeed delicious! I happen to be a vanilla-nut, but chocolate lovers will be equally pleased with this superior product. The flavors are rich, the smoothies are creamy, and I can't think of a yummier way to help satisfy my daily protein needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Paleo smoothies!, June 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
Very hard to find Paleo-approved protein powder. Add a cup of fruit, a cup of coconut milk and a scoop of Vegalite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tastes good, fits my special diet., March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
I am using the Virgin diet, which eliminates the 7 most common foods that cause intolerance issues. This shake does not contain the foods I am avoiding, and it tastes ok, when you add a few things to customize it.

For my husband, I use the vanilla shake and add a cup of frozen fruit:
Mixed berry: blueberries, raspberries, strawberries
Piña colada: pineapple chunks, shredded coconut & 1-2" of frozen banana. (Cut bananas into chunks before freezing them)
-- we use almond milk or coconut milk, but you can also use water.

There is a slight after-taste, but we have become accustomed to it after a few days. It is much better-tasting than some others we have tried, and it doesn't upset my stomach! See my review of the chocolate, for my personal favorite recipe: cinnamon mocha supreme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a matter of taste, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
I really am torn about this product - it's superior in its' nutritional values but it's got a very strong taste. I think that is why the reviews are so all over the place - you either like it or not - the vanilla is very sweet vanilla- ee. In a fake vanilla way. It really is potent - like a bad vanilla candle smell . My last protein powder ( whey) was vanilla also and the flavor disappeared with added fruit - this one - the flavor stays no matter what I add. I cut the powder in half to try and ease into it - that has helped - I am trying to like it - but it's a struggle.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok...for the two week PeerTrainer Cleanse, March 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
It's ok...I also got it for the PeerTrainer Cleanse as JJ Virgin recommended (no whey, no soy, no gluten, no sugar, only a pea/rice blend to minimize allergens). It's not particularly tasty, but not as horrible as Balanced Planets' Pea/Rice blend Protein, which tastes like soap. I also tried the Spirulina Gold line (their pea/rice blend)...the Choc Cherry was also pretty unpalatable too, but not as bad at the Balanced Planet brand. So while I haven't found Thorne's to be especially praise-worthy for it's taste, I can deal with it for the two week cleanse period. Still, I would like to find a brand that I can truly use as a daily meal replacement, that fit the criteria and actually tastes good. Still searching for that brand! Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For taste, watch your sugar, April 9, 2013
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
This is a sweet product. When I first made a smoothie with Original almond milk, I hated it. Through trial and error, I found, unsweetened almond milk is the trick. Try 1.5 cups unsweetened almond milk, 1 T or organic almond butter, a frozen organic banana and a scoop of the vanilla protein powder. Really yummy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even my fussy daughter loves this...only wish it weren't so expensive., February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
This Vegan Protien Powder is Great. Even my fussy daughter looks forward to it each morning in her Smoothy!! The only complaint that I have with it is it's cost. I may be forced to try a cheaper make, because it is only lasting 2 1/5 to 3 weeks when using only half a serving per person. Otherwise, I think it's brilliant; tastes great, very little grit and it does give each Smoothy the right amount of bulk. If it were less expensive, I would have given this a higher mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz (Health and Beauty)
taste terrible but it does give me the protein so its alright....blend it with fruits cause it taste very grainy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

THORNE RESEARCH - Vegalite Vanilla 15.3 oz
$39.90 $30.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.