Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


161 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not just important for bone health.
I had to have orthodontic treatment as a child not once but twice, starting when I was in second grade and ending (except for my retainer) when I was thirteen. I still have a very narrow maxillary arch (upper jaw/palate), and am missing two incisors and my wisdom teeth because I just had no room for them. A common misconception even among medical professionals is that...
Published on November 9, 2011 by Dana Seilhan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 52 cents per milligram
Probably fine stuff but the Carlson's caps are a much better deal at 3.7 cents per milligram ($32.94 for the 180 count 5mg/cap from Vitacost). They are both MK-4.

The Thorn site says there are 80, 15 mg doses per bottle (1,200 drops). This would last 26.7 days at 45mg/day.
Published on August 21, 2012 by A. Gabriele


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

161 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not just important for bone health., November 9, 2011
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
I had to have orthodontic treatment as a child not once but twice, starting when I was in second grade and ending (except for my retainer) when I was thirteen. I still have a very narrow maxillary arch (upper jaw/palate), and am missing two incisors and my wisdom teeth because I just had no room for them. A common misconception even among medical professionals is that wisdom teeth are "vestigal," meaning we're evolving away from a need for them, but that simply isn't true. A person who has been properly nourished since the prenatal period will have room for all of his or her teeth, including the third molars. Unfortunately, I was not one of those lucky people, and neither are most folks in America today. The work of Weston A. Price, DDS has led to the discovery that vitamin K2, along with the other fat-soluble vitamins A (retinol) and D3 (cholecalciferol), is important to the development of the facial bones. If you do not regularly eat fish and bird eggs, animal organs, and grass-fed animal and dairy fat, you need this vitamin--especially if you want to have kids, and MOST especially if you have my type of facial deformities. Deformities which are no longer considered such because so many of us have them.

Also, if you are type 2 diabetic or suffer from metabolic syndrome, you should know that menatetrenone/menaquinone-4 (other names for this vitamin) is known to stimulate the production of the substance adiponectin by the fat cells. Adiponectin then goes on to increase insulin sensitivity all over the body. Metabolic syndrome and type 2 diabetes are effects of insulin resistance, which is *not enough* insulin sensitivity. You also need to eat a healthier diet, of course, but if you've been eating low-fat and low-animal-foods for years, and now your metabolism is messed up, this vitamin will probably help you.

All I know is, I've been taking this for several months now and I *feel* different. I also find that even though I don't always stay on the low-carb wagon, my weight goes down much more than it goes up. I would imagine my results would be even better if I kept my diet clean at all times. If you've been frustrated with your blood sugar control or your weight loss progress, this may be one more weapon to add to your arsenal. I will definitely be keeping this on hand for myself from now on.

For those who are kind of leery of taking liquid vitamins, never fear. The MCT oil in this formulation is nearly tasteless. I've been taking the drops straight by mouth and it doesn't bother me at all. (Don't actually put the dropper in your mouth or you'll contaminate the whole bottle.) You could certainly add it to a beverage or a food and you wouldn't taste it. Also, I have never taken the full 15-drop recommended dose, as that's over ten thousand times the recommended daily intake. I've been taking 5 drops a day, which is still high but with the health mess I was in, I probably needed it. I may cut back further to one drop a day when I get my new bottle since I also eat some cheese daily. We'll see how it goes. I also take 8000 IU of real vitamin A (from fish oil) and 5000 IU of vitamin D3 because they balance one another out. Just some data points in case anyone is interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cleaned the plaque off my teeth, August 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
I've stopped going to the dentist for teeth cleaning altogether. Adding this vitamin K2 cleaned the calcified krud off the back of my lower front teeth in 2 days! Truly amazing! Now my teeth are smooth and clean all the time. I just brush my teeth once a day -- and often I forget to do even that. I'm saving good money without the dentist 2x year.

I learned about it from Richard Nikolay at Free the Animal website. He wrote: "Well, the K2 is the only one I definitely "feel." . . . Within a few days, all plaque deposits on my teeth dissolved and have not returned. This has been a big issue, as I had gum disease and two surgeries about seven years ago. Since getting off grains (probably the gluten) my gum disease has reversed completely according to the dentist. And now, my teeth are virtually always smooth. I rarely feel the need to brush them."

So, I had to try it. And it worked.

The vitamin K2 is a hard to get vitamin, even if you eat the best pastured eggs, butter and organ meats. It's the 'X-Factor' that Dr. Weston A. Price discovered. It puts the minerals where they are supposed to go, instead of calcifying your arteries and joints and tartar on your teeth.

Be sure to get the MK-4 version of vitamin K2. The MK-7 is the plant derived form. In answer to one critic, the likely reason MK-4 doesn't hang around in the blood very long is because the body uses it up immediately. MK-4 is the form our body uses most readily. If you have concerns about this, google these two articles: Chris Masterjohn's "On the Trail of the Elusive X-Factor", and then look for Stephen Guyenet's blog post "Vitamin K2."

And even though this bottle costs alot up front, you only need several drops a day -- so the bottle will last you all year.

NOTE: Read all of Richard Nikolay's blogs on this. Apparently, for this to work, you need good quality Fermented Cod Liver Oil, only made by Green Pastures. I have been on that kind of cod liver oil for years. Maybe that's why I had such a dramatic effect.

Bottomline: if we get all the nutrients we really need, our body should be clean and smell good -- like all primitive people were.

I also stopped wheat completely (read Wheat Belly by William Davis) and bye-bye went bad breath and body odor. I only take a shower every 2 or 3 days. It is a great freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorne Research Vitamin K2 Liquid vs Seven Leading Vitamin K-2 Supplements, May 28, 2013
By 
RWM (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
*****
Here is a side-by-side comparison of eight leading Vitamin K-2 supplements: Nutrigold Vitamin K2 (MK-7) Gold, Doctor's Best Natural Vitamin K2, Life Extension Super K with Advanced K2 Complex, Now Foods Vitamin K-2 (MK-4), Now Foods MK-7 Vitamin K-2, Jarrow Formulas MK-7, Solgar Natural Vitamin K2 (MK-7), and Thorne Research Vitamin K2 Liquid.

Vitamin K is an essential, fat-soluble vitamin that cannot be synthesized by the body, making supplementation necessary. Vitamin K is a group of three vitamins: Vitamin K1 (phylloquinone), Vitamin K2 (menaquinone), and Vitamin K3 (menaphthone). Vitamin K2 is usually found in meats, dairy, and egg yolks.

Vitamin K1 is involved in blood clotting. Vitamin K2 directs calcium into your bones and teeth instead of your arteries. I am on a Vitamin D3 regimen of 5000 I.U. daily and believe Vitamin K2 helps with the proper assimilation of that D3.

Unless it is properly directed, calcium can block arteries instead of going into your bones. This happens when calcium builds up in the blood vessels. Calcium also attaches to plaque. This can cause hardening of the arteries, heart attacks and strokes. Vitamin K2 helps calcium to go to the right places. Vitamin K2 directs calcium to go into your bones and teeth instead of your arteries. Recently published data on Vitamin K2 demonstrate its positive effect upon heart disease and bone metabolism.

Vitamin K2 includes several subtypes. The two subtypes most studied are MK-4 and MK-7. The most well studied of the menaquinones is MK-4. However, MK-7 is the most commonly derived form. MK-4 is the more difficult to find.

MK-7 remains present in the blood longer than MK-4. MK-4 remains detectable in your body for about 4 to 5 hours, whereas MK-7 remains detectable in your body for at least 4 days. Because of this, MK-4 is sometimes taken 2 to 3 times daily, whereas MK-7 need only be taken once daily.

MK-4 is found in animal based foods such as meat, chicken, cheese, egg yolks and butter.

MK-7 is found in natto, a traditional Japanese fermented soybean food which is produced by growing the MK-7 generating bacillus, natto, on the surface of cooked soybean. MK-7 is also found in certain fermented foods such as sauerkraut and kimchi. Kimchi is a traditional fermented Korean side dish made of vegetables with a variety of seasonings. MK-7 has the highest bioavailability and longest half-life in the blood. The longer half-life means MK-7 is available to support bone and arterial integrity for much longer periods than other forms of Vitamin K.

BREAKDOWN: Below is a breakdown of these supplements.

Nutrigold Vitamin K2 (MK-7) Gold (See, Nutrigold Vitamin K2 - MK7 Gold (From Natto in Organic Olive Oil), 100 mcg, 120 softgels)
*****
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$22.99 for 120 gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.19 (using Amazon's price)
Contains soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Not vegetarian
Not enteric coated
One gel cap contains 100 mcgs* of Vitamin K2 as MK-7
Phone Number: (800) 476-3542
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Vitamin K2 (as menaquinone-7), non-GMO organic olive oil, softgel bovine gelatin, non-GMO vegetable glycerin, and purified water

Doctor's Best Natural Vitamin K2 (See, Doctor's Best Natural Vitamin K2 MenaQ7 Vegetable Capsules, 60-Count)
*****
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$8.69 for 60 gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.14 (using Amazon's price)
Contains soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
One gel cap contains 45 mcgs* of Vitamin K2 as MK-7
Phone Number: (800) 333-6977
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Vitamin K2 (as menaquinone-7), modified cellulose (vegetarian capsule), magnesium stearate (vegetable source), starch, and fatty acids

Life Extension Super K with Advanced K2 Complex (See, Life Extension Super K with Advanced K2 Complex Softgels, 90-Count)
*****
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$18.09 for 90 gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.20 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Not vegetarian
Not enteric coated
One gel cap contains 1000 mcgs* of Vitamin K1, 1000 mcgs Vitamin K2 as MK-4, and 200 mcgs of Vitamin K2 as MK-7
Phone Number: (800) 226-2370
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Vitamin K1 (as phytonadione), vitamin K2 (as menaquinone-4), vitamin K2 (as menaquinone-7), ascorbyl palmitate, extra virgin olive oil, gelatin, glycerin, beeswax, purified water, and carob color

Now Foods Vitamin K-2 (MK-4) (See, NOW Foods Vitamin K-2,100mcg, 100 Vcaps)
*****
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$7.38 for 100 gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.07 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
One gel cap contains 100 mcgs* of Vitamin K2 as MK-4
Phone Number: (888) 669-3663
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Vitamin K2 (as menaquinone-4), alfalfa (medicago sativa), cellulose (capsule), rice flour, maltodextrin, ascorbyl palmitate, and silica

Now Foods MK-7 Vitamin K-2 (See, Now Foods Vitamin K-2 (MK7) Veg Capsules, 100 mcg, 60 Count)
*****
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$12.98 for 60 gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.22 (using Amazon's price)
Contains soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Not vegetarian
Not enteric coated
One gel cap contains 100 mcgs* of Vitamin K2 as MK-7
Phone Number: (888) 669-3663
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Vitamin K2 (as menaquinone-7), rice flour, cellulose (capsule), gelatin, ascorbyl palmitate, and silica

Jarrow Formulas MK-7 (See, Jarrow Formulas MK-7 (vitamin K2), 60 Softgels)
*****
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$12.99 for 60 gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.21 (using Amazon's price)
Contains soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Not vegetarian
Not enteric coated
One gel cap contains 90 mcgs* of Vitamin K2 as MK-7
Phone Number: (310) 204-6936
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Vitamin K2 (as menaquinone-7), medium chain triglycerides, evening primrose oil, and soybean oil. Softgel consists of gelatin, glycerin, water, and caramel (as a light barrier)

Solgar Natural Vitamin K2 (MK-7) (See, Solgar - Natural Vitamin K2 (MK-7) 100 mcg Vegetable Capsules - 50)
*****
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$14.40 for 50 gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.29 (using Amazon's price)
Contains soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
One gel cap contains 100 mcgs* of Vitamin K2 as MK-7
Phone Number: (201) 944-2311
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Vitamin K2 (as menaquinone-7), dicalcium phosphate, vegetable cellulose, vegetable magnesium stearate, and silica

Thorne Research Vitamin K2 Liquid (See, THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty])
*****
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$64.90 for one fl oz (30 mL) bottle on Amazon
Flavor: none (no taste)
18 month shelf life after opening
Don't have to refrigerate after opening
1200 drops per bottle
Recommended Serving = 15 drops 1-3 times per day
Price per serving (15 drops) = $.81 (using Amazon's price)
One drop contains 1000 mcgs* of Vitamin K2 as MK-4
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Vegetarian
Phone Number: (800) 228-1966
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Vitamin K-2 (menatetrenone-4), medium chain triglyceride oil, and mixed tocopherols

OPINION: All eight are excellent Vitamin K-2 products, with some significant differences:

Doctor's Best Natural Vitamin K2 contains MK-7. It contains soy. It does not contain GMOs. It does not contain ascorbyl palmitate. It is not certified Kosher. It is vegetarian. It contains less MK-7 per pill than the others (45 mcgs).

Nutrigold Vitamin K2 (MK-7) Gold contains MK-7. It contains soy. It does not contain GMOs. It does not contain ascorbyl palmitate. It is not certified Kosher. It is not vegetarian.

Life Extension Super K with Advanced K2 Complex contains 1000 mcgs of Vitamin K1, 1000 mcgs Vitamin K2 as MK-4, and 200 mcgs of Vitamin K2 as MK-7. It does not contain soy. It does not contain GMOs. It contains ascorbyl palmitate. It is not certified Kosher. It is not vegetarian. This is considered a full spectrum Vitamin K, i.e., it is a combination of several forms of Vitamin K. It has at least two times more mcgs of MK-7 than the other seven supplements. It has ten times more mcgs of MK-4 than Now Foods Vitamin K-2 (MK-4). It also contains 1000 mcgs of Vitamin K1 which the other seven supplements don't have.

Now Foods Vitamin K-2 (MK-4) contains MK-4. MK-4 is less effective and slower at raising Vitamin K-2 levels in the bloodstream than MK-7. It does not contain soy. It does not contain GMOs. It contains ascorbyl palmitate. It is not certified Kosher. It is vegetarian. It includes alfalfa, which is a rich source of natural Vitamin K. MK-4 costs less than MK-7. It is the least expensive of the seven products mentioned.

Now Foods MK-7 Vitamin K-2 contains MK-7. MK-7 is more effective and faster at raising Vitamin K-2 levels in the bloodstream than MK-4. It contains soy. It does not contain GMOs. It contains ascorbyl palmitate. It is not certified Kosher. It is not vegetarian. MK-7 costs more than MK-4.

Jarrow Formulas MK-7 has the least amount of MK-7 of the seven. It contains soy. It does not contain GMOs. It does not contain ascorbyl palmitate. It is not certified Kosher. It is not vegetarian.

Solgar Natural Vitamin K2 (MK-7) contains MK-7. It contains soy. It does not contain GMOs. It does not contain ascorbyl palmitate. It is not certified Kosher. It is vegetarian.

Thorne Research Vitamin K2 Liquid is a liquid. It is very potent, but it is expensive. One drop contains 1000 mcgs of MK-4. So, one serving consisting of 15 drops contains 15000 mcgs of MK-4. It does not contain soy. It does not contain GMOs. It does not contain ascorbyl palmitate. It is not certified Kosher. It is vegetarian. It is the most expensive of the eight products listed.

PRECAUTIONS: If you take a blood thinner like Coumadin® (warfarin), which works by inhibiting the effect of Vitamin K, the use of a Vitamin K supplement should be discussed with your doctor before you begin taking it, as changes in blood thinning may occur.

RECOMMENDATION: If I were to select one, it would be Life Extension Super K with Advanced K2 Complex because it is considered a full spectrum Vitamin K. It has more than two times as much Vitamin K2 as MK-7 than the other seven supplements and ten times more mcgs of Vitamin K2 as MK-4 than Now Foods Vitamin K-2 (MK-4). It also contains 1000 mcgs of Vitamin K1 which the other seven products don't have. Also, it contains neither soy nor GMOs, but it does contain ascorbyl palmitate.

However, Thorne Research Vitamin K2 Liquid, the only liquid in this group, is extremely potent, but it is also expensive. If for some reason you have a need for this kind of potency (one drop contains 1000 mcgs of MK-4), Thorne Research Vitamin K2 Liquid might be a good choice.

RATING:

I rated Nutrigold Vitamin K2 (MK-7) Gold, Doctor's Best Natural Vitamin K2, Life Extension Super K with Advanced K2 Complex, Now Foods Vitamin K-2 (MK-4), Now Foods MK-7 Vitamin K-2, Jarrow Formulas MK-7, Solgar Natural Vitamin K2 (MK-7), and Thorne Research Vitamin K2 Liquid five stars. In my opinion, they are all excellent products.

I have separately reviewed all of these supplements.

* 1000 micrograms (mcg) equal one milligram (mg).

Prices current as of 09/10/2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
I started Vitamin K-2,4 after reading the science behind its ability to direct supplemental calcium to the bones, teeth and nails - not to the arteries! It was difficult to decide between K-2,4 and K-2,7. I chose K-2,4 because the preponderance of the research was performed using K-2,4. That said, K-2,7 is more readily available and far less expensive than K-2,4. Thorne is a reliable producer of K-2,4 and this product arrived without any cause for complaint.
The change in my skin was unexpected and absolutely amazing! My hands and forearms have little subcutaneous padding and I had resigned myself to constant bruising from even the slightest knock. Within three days of taking 25 drops/day I had NO MORE EASY BRUISING! My hands and forearms are free of bruises now and look far more youthful!
I don't know how my bones and teeth are doing, but my nails are growing in strong, shiny, and without ridges for the first time in decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Product!, November 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
I can't say enough good things about Thorne's Liquid K2. It is the MK-4 type of K2, which is the MOST DIFFICULT to find, mainly because it's the most expensive to make (which is why you find ALL the manufacturers seriously "PUSHING" MK-7, which is easier and cheaper to produce), but MK-7 converts to K1 and K2, which is very, very BAAAAAD for someone on blood thinners (anti-coagulants)!!!!! MK-4 does not convert to K1, so it is MUCH safer.

If you are looking at this product, then you've either done your research on K2's (specifically from MK-4) beneficial impact on bone and cardiovascular health, or the American Diet's common deficiency in K2, or someone else has told you about it, so I'm not going to go into everything it has helped us with, but I will say it has made a big difference in our lives, and it's great to be able to find it in liquid form which makes it easy to take! I'm so happy to have found a source for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy for the moment!, February 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
I'm taking one drop, three times per day. I have noticed an improvement with one tooth which hurt me when eating (I bought it to treat this problem and seems to work). It is easy to take. No taste at all. Taken in this way it will last me a long time. So at the end the high price is not so important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Started for periodontal health, less sensitive and whiter teeth in 10 days, not kidding, October 28, 2013
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
This is part of a trio of products I'm trying to improve my mouth by attempting to change the bacterial, mineral, vitamin content of my saliva. Currently using Nature's Plus Adult's Dental Care Probiotic Lozenges Peppermint -- 60 Lozenges as well as Great Lakes Gelatin, Collagen Hydrolysate (Kosher) 16-Ounce I learned that Vitamin K2 is concentrated in salivary glands.

I have had periodontal disease for years since my 30s (I am now 48, female). Over the years, surgery, root planing and scaling, lost one molar already, bone loss shows on x-ray, gingival recession, deep pockets, abcess, bleeding when I floss, unless very consistent. I have spent a fair amount of time and money at the dentist but have had few cavities in my life. I am evidently prone to periodontal disease microbes instead of the cavity-causers. I experience heavy plaque and calculus buildup and tartar below the gum line. My periodontist asked if I was a smoker because my teeth were yellow, slightly darker toward the root (I don't smoke but I do drink coffee). From what I can understand, periodontal disease is an autoimmune condition where the pathogenic bacteria below the gumline stimulate the bone supporting the tooth to be resorbed by the body. Bone loss, then tooth loss.

I have been on a probiotic kick recently since starting to make my own kefir (thanks kefirlady.com!) and learned that beneficial microbes live not only in the digestive tract but on every surface of the body. So I experimented with using a couple of cups of kefir in my bath to colonize my skin with beneficial lactic acid bacteria etc. This resulted in noticeably smoother, less flaky skin. After all, lactic acid is a common skin cream ingredient and Cleopatra supposedly bathed in milk. Too much acid on the teeth, not so good.

How about the oral cavity then? I learned of an oral probiotic, BLIS-M18, which is a specific strain of tongue-dwelling microbe (Streptococcus Salivarius M-18) isolated from healthy humans without dental disease. It shows some impressive clinical trials and seems relatively new. BLIS means "bacteriocin-like inhibiting substances" which means this strain was selected specifically for its ability to inhibit known dental and periodontal pathogenic bacteria. The microbe was discovered and tested in New Zealand and is now available in various supplements. The lozenge I am using contains calcium and D3 and I began using it just over two weeks ago. From the first dose the dental probiotic cleaned the plaque off the back of my lower teeth and it was much easier to keep my teeth clean, hardly anything there when I would floss. I would wake up in the morning not feeling like my teeth needed to be brushed at all. There is a BLIS K12 also, a different probiotic from the same people, which is tested to inhibit tooth decay and ear/nose/throat infection, but I don't get the gleamy clean feel from it like the M-18 version. Evidently the M-18 produces enzymes that dissolve plaque and regulate the pH of the mouth.

Even though the probiotic lozenge made my teeth feel clean, I had read a little about K2 and I eat pastured eggs almost daily. I thought I might bump it up by adding the Thorne Research drops since there was supplemental calcium in the probiotic lozenge. I had read that too much calcium supplementation can be problematic, so I went ahead and added K2 just over a week ago, as well as a bovine collagen powder that was supposed to improve soft tissue synthesis as well as bone. [...] mouse study re bone

Something dramatic is happening in my mouth. I feel something in my upper and lower jaw. Also my teeth are rapidly turning white and far less sensitive.

MY CURRENT METHOD:
After brushing and flossing before bed, I make a cup of Sleepytime tea (mint/chamomile). I add a tablespoon of the collagen powder. I add 5 drops or so of the K2 drops and maybe a smidge of coconut oil for taste/fat solubility. I swish the warm solution in my mouth before swallowing, then follow this with the probiotic lozenge containing calcium and D3. The whole shebang is quickly absorbed and goes right to work while I go to bed.

I can FEEL SOMETHING in my upper and lower jaw. A mild pulsing, or warmth, slightly achy? Not unpleasant, hard to describe. At first I thought the tooth whitening was my imagination. I held ice cubes in my mouth against my teeth and sure enough, less sensitivity.

I'm hopeful that the content of my saliva is changed sufficiently by this system to remineralize my teeth, especially sensitive exposed roots, and halt the periodontal disease. Is it possible to regenerate bone or gum tissue? Do I have to continue these products long term? It's too early to tell. I'll try to report back once I've gone back for evaluation.

I give a drop morning and night to the other members of my family. I use about 5 drops morning and night for myself using the herb tea/collagen/probiotic lozenges combo at night usually. The recommended dosage on the bottle seems enormous but I would do it if I had osteoporosis. I will probably keep up this dosage for a few months then back off to a drop morning and evening.

________________
UPDATE:
Just read this important book Vitamin K2 and the Calcium Paradox: How a Little-Known Vitamin Could Save Your Life

Bumping up my dosage to 45 drops/day in divided doses. I can see/feel a difference at lower dose, but I have issues to resolve and this dosage is well tolerated in clinical trials.

UPDATE 11/8/2013:

After 2 days of high dose vitamin K2 my knees felt achy. So I went back down to approx. 5 drops morning and night. There are clinical studies that support the use of low-dose vitamin K2 in osteoporosis, including the form I am taking MK-4 was used at the equivalent of 1 and a half drops a day in Japanese women. So there is an effect at low doses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great supplement at a great price, January 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
At first I was put off by the price, but then I calculated the dosage and compared it to other drops and capsules, and now I can assure you this is the BEST PRICE out there, as I researched extensively. I only take one out two drops a day, separately, because that more than satisfies my requirements. I do eat a fairly high fat diet of pastured raw milk, butter, eggs, meat and cod liver oil and high vitamin oil so I think I probably get some k2 from that, but from what I have read it can still be difficult to get enough K2 from food sources.
I really like that this is so easy to take and I can easily give it to my young children. This bottle should last almost a year, so really it is very economical. I highly recommend this supplement and from this source especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great product, April 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
This product is so easy to take because all you have to do is squeeze out a drop. The suggested intake is 15 drops which equates to 15 grams of vitamin k, but I only do two max because I've read from different sources that 1.1 grams of vitamin k2 are needed.

If you buy this product take when you take your vitamin D because they potentiate each other. Also, don't take it around the time you take magnesium because block each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best source of mk-4, June 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: THORNE RESEARCH - Vitamin K2 Liquid - 1 fl oz [Health and Beauty] (Health and Beauty)
Clears calcium from arteries and puts it where it belongs - in the bones.
Just a few drops each day fixes you up. Fights atherosclerosis and arterial plaque.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.