Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Was So Entertained!
This has to be the most enjoyable book I have read this summer. I had never read Evanovich before. I came across this book while strolling through a "Message Board" from Kelly Rippa's book club (Regis and Kelly Show). Someone had mentioned it and I'm so glad that I picked it up.
In all three books there are colorful chartacters starting with Joe...
Published on August 11, 2002 by Teri Adams

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars three plums in one
If you want the gist of the books these are the way to go considering they are an ABRIDGED copy. The reader Lori Petty does an alright job. unfourtnaly I would recommend the unabridged read by either C.J Critt or Lorelei King they do a supuerb job where Petty is lacking
Published on June 18, 2006 by T.Miller


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Was So Entertained!, August 11, 2002
By 
Teri Adams (Laguna Niguel, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has to be the most enjoyable book I have read this summer. I had never read Evanovich before. I came across this book while strolling through a "Message Board" from Kelly Rippa's book club (Regis and Kelly Show). Someone had mentioned it and I'm so glad that I picked it up.
In all three books there are colorful chartacters starting with Joe Morrelli, Ranger, Grandma Mazur and Lula. Stephanie Plum the main chartacter is a delight to follow as she takes on a new job as a bounty hunter.
I can't say that the series is particularly suspenseful OR that it is not predictable BUT I can promise that you will find yourself pulled in ... and along for the ride. In all three books I found myself laughing out loud ... even in the middle of the night ...and wishing there was someone I could share the storyline with. If you like a fast read, good writing and a lot of laughs ... This is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Three Stephanie Plum books in One!, July 26, 2001
By 
Andy Edie (Kansas City, Missouri) - See all my reviews
In 'Three Plums in One' you get the first three books in the Stephanie Plum series, 'One for the Money', 'Two for the Dough' and 'Three to Get Deadly'. Evanovich has created one of the most endearing, hilarious and completely entertaining characters to populate any genre of fiction you could hope to read in your lifetime.
Stephanie Plum is an out-of-work lingerie buyer who falls into bounty hunting through a combination of a family acquaintance and a pressing need for food, shelter and neon shades of makeup. When you think of a Bounty Hunter you think of a smart, cunning, confident law-enforcement type, but after you meet her, you will think "Oxymoron" whenever you hear the phrase "Stephanie Plum, Bounty Hunter."
Stephanie bungles her way through several fugitive apprehensions, as well as a rocky, quasi-romantic relationship, all the while giving us all the hilarious details in her frank, rambling narrative. Joe Morelli, a Trenton, New Jersey vice cop, plays Tracy to Stephanie's Hepburn, and Evanovich will have you in tears with her talent for writing the sardonic and sarcastic dialogue that takes place between these two.
Each episode has an underlying mystery to solve, but soon after you start reading you will discover that no matter what Stephanie is describing in her narrative, you would happily read along, much in the same way you would listening to a master storyteller describe a root canal.
'Three Plums in One' is a fast, sometimes suspenseful and often (very often) hilarious read. The three novels run together seamlessly, creating a sense of continuity that will have you thinking it was written as one novel, and then divided.
Read this book now. You will not be sorry. And, just for fun, count the cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great place for newbies to start, April 2, 2002
I've already written reviews for these three books individually so I wont repeat myself here....much. Suffice it to say that if you havent read any of the Stephanie Plum books but would like to start, this collection is perfect for you.
In short, ONE FOR THE MONEY & THREE TO GET DEADLY are wonderfully hilarious. The second book, TWO FOR THE DOUGH, is okay but falls short in its humour and action content.
The Stephanie Plum series is in its eight book now and probably will last another eight. Read this collection of the first three books that started the craze.
Before the series goes stale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!!, December 31, 2001
By 
Kelly Reed (Milton, WI USA) - See all my reviews
I just finished Three Plums in One - what a great book! I'm surprised I haven't read this series before now as I have read all of Sue Grafton's. I must say this is one of the very few books that has made be laugh out loud - my 7 yr old son said "Mom, what's so funny?" The image in my mind of Stephanie's grandmother just makes my laugh - imagine her dressed in Doc Martins, flannel shirt, and jeans! I also like the scene in the third book when Lulu and Stephanie are chasing Mo with a dead body on top of his car and if flys off onto Lulu's hood!! I have just bought all the remaining books in the series and can't wait to start reading!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Praise for Lori Petty, July 16, 2004
By 
Kurt Conner (South Hadley, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Other reviews have done a great job analyzing the content of these delightful little books, but I was introduced to Stephanie Plum on CD during a road trip (that went through Jersey, which made the books that much better). I have to attract attention to Lori Petty's fantastic reading. Her hooker voice made me laugh over and over, and she does a great job of developing distinctive voices for all the other characters as well. The tone is perfect, she's totally clear on every word, and she really does add another level of enjoyment to the experience of listening to these books on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Read!, August 20, 2001
By 
T. Taylor (Marietta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought "Three Plums in One" to get me started on Stephanie Plum and I read the entire thing in one weekend. My husband thought I'd lost my mind when he kept hearing me cracking up laughing while reading these stories. I just ordered all the rest and I know I'm going to be totally disappointed when I finish Seven Up and have to wait for number 8!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O boy!...it'll make your stomach muscles hurt!, January 17, 2005
I can't even begin to tell you how much I LOVE the series! The author does an amazing job too! I laughed so much, I never read a funnier book. The story is great, the charachters are sexy, and I got 3 of my friends hooked on the series. Its just something you have to try, if you like it, you'll be hooked, and if not, then you're missing out on a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a former "Jersey Girl", September 29, 2004
Being from NJ, these stories really hit home!! Stephanie Plum is the epidomy of the big hair, spandex clad, hockey shirt wearing girl from my past!! She is hilarious. I agree with the other reviewers that these are those types of books that you can't seem to put down. I have been able to read each book in 3-4 days. Definitely worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT series!!, August 3, 2003
I kept hearing about Janet Evanovich everywhere. On a soap opera message board, book club flyers, talk shows, and everytime I was in a book store, one of her books was on display up front. When I saw the "Three Plums In One" book, I decided to get it and see what all the fuss was about.
Some internet friends said, read the first one and you'll be hooked. I was laughing out loud from the first chapter! Everyone has a somewhat dysfunctional family, and the Plums are no exception. They are a wide variety of personalities and you can't help but be drawn into it. What mess will Stephanie be in next? What will Grandma do/say next? What job will Mom suggest to Stephanie next?
Stephanie tries to just do this first job to help her make rent in a tight spot, but soon it snowballs into taking another case while she works on the first that was harder than she thought. Morelli and Ranger keep popping up to help, or hinder, her efforts, and keep things interesting! This book is a very easy read, and is HARD to put down!! I was laughing so much that my Mom said she wanted to read it after me, she read ALL 3 in a week!! I wasn't that fast, but it kept me busy during the LONG car ride on vacation. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery/suspense or police type books. I am going to read the others ASAP!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Summer Reading, July 29, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy an "easy read" in the summer and this author came through for me. I actually found myself laughing at some of the hard-to-believe antics. After reading these first three in the series one right after another, I will buy the rest of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

THREE PLUMS IN ONE
THREE PLUMS IN ONE by Janet Evanovich (Hardcover - 1994)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.