Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Photo-History of World War II!
It's been some time since I've seen a new WW II photo-history so the arrival of Time Life Books' WORLD WAR II IN 500 PHOTOGRAPHS was appreciated. A 2014 release, it's a nicely-done visual guide to the Second World War. I have my doubts that reading the book will make the reader "An Instant Expert," as the cover claims, but it's worth a look.

Arranged...
Published 7 months ago by Michael OConnor

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Got this for my husband who likes photographs. He thought it was ok.
Published 6 months ago by MCB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Photo-History of World War II!, June 2, 2014
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
It's been some time since I've seen a new WW II photo-history so the arrival of Time Life Books' WORLD WAR II IN 500 PHOTOGRAPHS was appreciated. A 2014 release, it's a nicely-done visual guide to the Second World War. I have my doubts that reading the book will make the reader "An Instant Expert," as the cover claims, but it's worth a look.

Arranged chronologically, a short, introductory chapter covers events from 1919 to 1939 then launches into: '1939: Outbreak of War in Europe;' '1940: War Across the Continents;' '1941: War to the East and West;' etc. The photographs are a combination of b&w and color pix. Some are candids; most are official government or commercial agency snaps. Many of them will be familiar to serious military history buffs. The book's photo time-lines are a plus. Color maps are also included.

The accompanying text reads like TIME Magazine articles, informative but bland and superficial. Sidebars on prominent leaders and select topics are interwoven with the narrative.

As photo-histories go, WORLD WAR II IN 500 PHOTOGRAPHS isn't bad. It brings together a good collection of images that capture that titanic conflict in all its vividness. I would have liked a more knowledgable, involving narrative but at $17.95 retail, what the heck! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Eye Popping - Best Ever...incredibly!, September 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
With literally tons of books about WW2 overflowing everywhere, this one is - amazingly - still relevant and almost surprising in its clever use of photos. Bravo TIME!!! I'd like to write a much longer review on my travel blog, but can't seem to locate THE person at TIME (in PR?) to contact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIFE WORLD WAT II PHOTOS, October 20, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
If you love World War II, you'll love seeing this collection of photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book! Great pictures and great history lesson, August 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
Wonderful book! Great pictures and great history lesson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars $$ well spent especially for the WWII historian who has everything, November 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
this was a gift for my husband who loved it!!! and he's got pretty much every WWII item imaginable. he particularly enjoyed the facts presented in this book as well as the photos. i couldnt be happier as he's a hard person to shop for and this was a major win in his book- yay! i also bought one for my father-in-law. i can't wait to see his reaction too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Were you there?, July 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
Having lived through WW II, I wanted to see a pictorial review of that period in history with just enough text to provide an "easy-reading" summation of that period. This volume does just what I have been looking for. Photography and text are both excellent. It is an excellent "coffee table" volume as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
lots of good photos with war maps and a lot of info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 14, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
Good book. Fast ship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, January 17, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
Historical evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 9, 2014
This review is from: TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs (Paperback)
Good to work With
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs
TIME-LIFE World War II in 500 Photographs by TIME/LIFE BOOKS (Paperback - May 13, 2014)
$17.95 $15.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.