Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book That Both Entertains and Educates
I'm a sucker for any book that gives kids hands-on learning. There's much to like about this book: it's 4-color; full of photographs, drawings, and factoids; and contains interesting science experiments that most kids can complete with minimal adult supervision. Each experiment is nicely detailed, with simple steps, so the outcome should be successful (always a boon!)...
Published on January 17, 2012 by SBELLR

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this book
Very disappointed in this product. All the projects are for preschool kids and have no relevance to todays school children. I guess that's why they fail to mention anything that's actually in the book.
Published 4 months ago by Matthew Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book That Both Entertains and Educates, January 17, 2012
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
I'm a sucker for any book that gives kids hands-on learning. There's much to like about this book: it's 4-color; full of photographs, drawings, and factoids; and contains interesting science experiments that most kids can complete with minimal adult supervision. Each experiment is nicely detailed, with simple steps, so the outcome should be successful (always a boon!). There's a section on Life Science ("Which Part of Your Arm is Most Sensitive?"), another on Earth Science ("Are Clouds Salty?"), another on Physical Science ("How Can I Make a Soda Bottle Spin?") and a fourth on Technology and Engineering ("Which Shoe is Best for a Big Hike?"). Each experiment concludes with a "The Science Behind It" box. Another nice touch: a section on "Success Secrets" for science fairs, including display tips and thinking like the judges. Whether used in the classroom or at home, this book is sure to be a hit with your kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars time for kids big book of science experiments, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
The book looks like it has lots of explanations and easy child friendly experiments. The only negative is that I think it is written for an older age group - our child is 9 and I think it is aimed at 12 year olds and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what our kids needed!, January 16, 2013
By 
frisky2000 (Forever Summer) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
With two science fair projects due each winter, our elementary school kids are always stuck with where to find new and exciting ideas for their investigations. This full color book by TIME FOR KIDS offers not only a huge selection of various age-appropriate experiments, but also provides valuable step by step real life photos, instructions, ideas for further thinking, guidelines to prepare the story boards, and unique questions and points of interest related to each topic. Special attention is given to safety while carrying out the experiments as well. There is something for everyone in this idea book, from the kid who loves earth science to the little inventor in the family. Though the choices are extensive, we managed to successfully narrow down at least 4 topics that were of interest to our kids this year and they are now choosing which ones will make for the most fun and informational presentation on their grade levels. A terrific book, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to learn!, November 12, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
Time Big Book is a great way to establish concepts of science set forth in the text. Mostly common, household goods are used. We are homeschoolers and my 11-year-old has really taken off with the book. Nice use of modern, colored photos. Very attractive to a young learner. Highly recommend for fun and/or learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes learning fun!, October 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
My 10 year old boy and I love doing these experiments. The book has easy-to-use instructions that make learning fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Although this book can be enjoyed by 8-year-olds, August 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
This is a real science book and should not be regarded as merely a book of science experiments as the title implies. Each general area of science tends to be covered in considerable detail, much more so than would be required simply to explain the experiments described. For example the illustration of the architecture of plant cells and the human digestive system are reminiscent of a children's encyclopedia. Although this book can be enjoyed by 8-year-olds, I would agree with reviewer Joyce that, in many cases, it is more suitable for 10-12 year olds (and even adults).
The book is beautifully illustrated and well written. In many cases, one gets the sense that the book is intended to give students inspiration for school science projects--not a bad idea in itself.
Some of the experiments are very easily done. The use of a glass of water to show the ability of a lens to reverse the direction of an image (page 136) is as simple as they come and yet it was a big hit with the elementary children with whom I tried it. The construction of an electromagnet from a steel bolt wrapped with copper wire attached to a battery (page 154) is a neat experiment; but I found that a longer bolt and more extensive copper wire wrappings were necessary to yield any significant magnetic strength when connected to a D battery.
The book "365 Simple Science Experiments with Everyday Materials" has many more experiments and simpler explanations. I recommend it as a very useful companion volume in selecting science experiments to do with young children.
--Snowman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science is FUN, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
We got this book for our two grandsons, who at 8 years old are enamored with science. They love it!! It made good points for Grandma and Grandpa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
I purchased this book not really knowing if I'd like it. As it turns out, it is awesome! The topics are appropriate for elementary age level and of interest for them as well. The colorful pages and detailed explanations are student friendly. It has been a great investment for the classroom setting. Simply awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good place to start, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
grandson loved it. The kitchen sometimes looks like a lab. I see great things coming from him and the book is a boost and safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday gift, September 26, 2013
By 
Euvoughn Greenan (San Diego, California USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide (Hardcover)
This was a birthday gift for my great nephew. He loves these type of books. He is 8 years old and is endlessly fascinated by anything science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide
TIME For Kids Big Book of Science Experiments: A step-by-step guide by Editors of TIME For Kids Magazine (Hardcover - December 6, 2011)
$17.95 $14.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.