Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, not Great
Since this package contains so many things, I'm going to review each item separately, so you can decide if the whole kit is worth it:

1) Tippman A5 Marker - One of the best paintball markers around. It's the "AK-47" of markers. Retails for about $179.00.
2) Low profile hopper - It doesn't state that it comes with one, but my kit did. A definite must for...
Published on March 3, 2011 by Usualdosage

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ???
Some stuff were missing: Neck protector and low-profile hopper. All and all, The things that came with it works fine. The marker is awesome. Mask didn't fog up. The tank was so-so but expected from a CO2 tank. Shipping was on time.
Published on July 1, 2011 by User 112233


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, not Great, March 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
Since this package contains so many things, I'm going to review each item separately, so you can decide if the whole kit is worth it:

1) Tippman A5 Marker - One of the best paintball markers around. It's the "AK-47" of markers. Retails for about $179.00.
2) Low profile hopper - It doesn't state that it comes with one, but my kit did. A definite must for any A5. Retails for about $6.00.
3) C02/HPA Remote line - Another definite must. What a lot of people don't know is that a remote line works as an expansion chamber for C02 (so don't go buy a expansion chamber if you use a remote line). Remote can also handle HPA (High Pressure Air). Retails for about $16.99.
4) Neck protector - Thin neoprene, I never have used it, and I can't see it offering much protection from a neck shot. Retails for about $7.00.
5) C02 Cannister - I would recommend using HPA rather than C02 (especially if you ever desire to convert to a full-auto marker). But, C02 works, and cannisters retail for around $30.00.
6) Mask - The mask that comes with it is usable, but not high quality. It's made of hard plastic, and is definitely on the cheaper end. Retails for about $16.99.
7) Equipment Belt - This is the first thing I'd replace. May work for "speedball", but the tubes poke out on either side which will snag everything in a game of woodsball. You're better off getting a paintball vest. Retails for about $11.00.
8) Paint pods - Comes with 4, white/clear plastic. They're fine, they retail for about $2.50 each.
9) Oil, tools, squeegee, barrel cover - These are "incidental" items, that should come with any marker you buy retail.

So, overall cost (retail) for all of these would be: $276.98, which makes it a good deal. However, I promise you will want to replace the mask and belt, which would make the kit cost $248.99 (still a decent value). And, if you ever want to switch to HPA, you have a CO2 cannister that you may only use if you run out of HPA, so there's another $30 bucks.

I checked the price of all of the items I've switched over to, and buying items piece by piece would have cost me a total of $341.99, which included a Switch FS mask (very nice mask, thermal lens, flexible, COMFORTABLE), a UAG digital camo paintball vest and an HPA cannister.

Bottom line, its a good deal if you don't plan to really get into paintball, but just want to have something you can goof around with a few times. But, if you are serious about it, you should probably just part it out, buying used when you can (particularly on the A5, which is pretty much indestructible).

Long winded, but I hope it helps some new buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gun in every way, May 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
Short story:
It's big, it's heavy, you can beat it up, and it's only ever chopped three balls in over 800 shots. This gun is a tank, it's surprisingly accurate for having a short smooth barrel (approx. 12 inch spread @ 40ft), and it's cake to work on if it has any problems with all the quick release bolts on it (and don't worry, they WON'T come out while you play, even if you're rough on it).

Great deal if you want to step up to the next level gun from a cheaper beginner gun.

Long story:
All the little things. like the quick and easy screw for the front grip, and the replaceable barrel receiver if you ever strip it (it's a separate fitted chunk held captive by the main receiver halves), and you can remove the gas line and attach the quick release directly to the receiver instead of having it under the main grip (receiver has a standard tank valve on it, just like the base of the grip). I personally would have preferred a metal trigger, or at least something with a better feel, but that's not a real issue. The cyclone is amazing, never had a single jam, and the gun's pretty conservative with ammo. I am not a fan of the paintball tube and tank belt, just makes the tank jab into your spine as you run, not pleasant, but the tubes are great for keeping paintballs at the field. Mask is meh, but it gets the job done. I would also suggest getting the low profile hopper, makes the gun look better if you ask me. Pray you don't get hit right on the cyclone feeder because it is a pain to clean. The rest of the gun is cake, just pull the back plug and you can pull the firing assembly right out.

Overall just an awesome deal, plus it's a pretty sweet looking gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Far, Awesome, October 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
First: I ordered this thing after midnight and got it the next day even with the "Super-saver shipping". Probably won't happen to everyone but it was worth mentioning.

Second: Opened the box, added CO2 and started shooting my friends. Who could ask for more. The mask isn't the greatest, it didn't fog up like other masks that I've used but it did collect moisture on the inside and it was like looking through a window with rain running down it. That's OK for now because I bought this kit for the A5 gun, the remote and the tank. As far as I was concerned the rest was just icing. I will end up upgrading the mask and letting a friend (who is on the other team) use this one.

Third: The gun. It works! Like I said I opened the box and shot people with it. Even using crappy paint I was knocking people out at 40 plus yards and haven't chopped paint yet. I play "woodsball" at a friends and we took on 30 others in some really grueling matches and rough terrain. This gun never missed a beat. One warning I'll give you with the remote system is to tighten the valve screw all the way and then back it off about a 1/4 turn otherwise the air won't reach the gun.
Have fun with it and remember to flank your opponents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very happy, October 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
After reviewing many sites i found amazon to have the best deal. My son had been asking for this paintball gun and I was skeptical to purchase but after reading the reviews I brokedown. He was very happy to receive it and so far no problems. Two people happy here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Extras, May 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
Lots of extras. Much better deal than if we bought the items separately at a local store. I think we saved about $150.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal, April 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
A great way to get into paintballing while keeping your budget in mind, i recomend upgrading the cyclone feed and getting a better barrel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TIPPMANN A5 Kit, February 6, 2010
By 
Jeremy Frank (College Station, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
This is a great starter kit! It comes with everything you need (even though the neck guard is stupid).
Everything was great quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars starter, July 29, 2009
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
I'm the old man on the field who needed a starter kit. This set up has everything except the Advil for when you get hit. Would recommend a second 20 oz. tank for field play. Best in its class for one ball per trigger pull. You can't go wrong with this for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a toy, June 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
I was blown away by the thrust of this weapon. It sent paintball farther and strighter than I could have hoped for. At 50 meters, it will take bark off of trees. If you are looking for a great Paintball gun, look no where else but this offer. It is more than a toy. If you have a target, you can quickly elimate it with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun gun, June 22, 2009
This review is from: TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard (Sports)
I picked this up about 3 weeks ago, haven't taken it out play yet, but have taken it apart, fairly simple layout, extremely easy to perform maintanence/modifications upon. A great beginner paint marker.

would recommend it in a heartbeat to any novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

TIPPMANN A5 Gun 4+1 Xray MEGA Set + Remote + Neck Guard
$349.00 $234.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.