Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Originals
Right - I've bought this album and am very pleased, because most of theses tunes are originals.

Previous reviewers were right, however, to mention Star Trek & Bonanza as not being originals.

In the album booklet there are five tunes asterixed as not being originals. They are Dragnet, Bonanza, Star Trek, S.W.A.T. and Happy Days. So they own up to...
Published on May 22, 2005 by D. J. Brimer

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close, but not quite
Many of these TV themes have been previously released on Tee Vee Tunes "Television's Greatest Hits". While many of the tunes are the originals (I Dream of Jeannie, Hawaii Five-O, Addams Family), many are not (Munsters, Bonanza, Andy Griffith), while others (such as Mannix and Happy Days) sound like extended versions of the originals. It's great to hear all the old themes...
Published on October 16, 2007 by D. Backlin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Originals, May 22, 2005
By 
D. J. Brimer (Nottingham - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
Right - I've bought this album and am very pleased, because most of theses tunes are originals.

Previous reviewers were right, however, to mention Star Trek & Bonanza as not being originals.

In the album booklet there are five tunes asterixed as not being originals. They are Dragnet, Bonanza, Star Trek, S.W.A.T. and Happy Days. So they own up to this fact - so fair enough.

Star Trek - I can't tell the difference between this and the TV show.

The other four, it says, were all released as singles, I presume, in these versions. Thus giving them a certain amount of validity.

It also goes on to say that some of the tunes are re-recordings by the original artists made for commercial release and are hence not the tunes used for the actual TV soundtrack. It doesn't say how many and I wouldn't like to guess. But one such track is definitely Dynasty. It's all synthy, where on the show it was more orchestral. But it is done by the original artist and released as a single so - OK.

Darren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past, November 5, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
This CD had me smiling all the way home during my commute. The tracks on this CD are astounding. TV theme music from the 50's through the 90's in a whirlwind presentation that will have you singing along or laughing with glee... As far as sound quality, the tracks are very clean and true with a few surprises. The orignal themes are there, with a twist. Some of the themes are extended. In Dragnet, for instance, the familiar "Dah, dah dut, dah" motif is there and then transitions to a big band arrangement sound. The original theme sounds just like the old reruns, but even better. This "trick" is also done on Batman, Mannix, Andy Griffith and some others. These tracks and others, may have been the extended release versions on radio or perhaps a remix with some new arrangements. The only themes that I heard on this CD that did not seem original were the Munster's Theme and possibly the Brady Bunch theme. These recordings are very acceptable, and I doubt most people would even notice. That's what happens when you are glued to the tv all day as a kid. Oh well.
The collection is nothing short of entirely entertaining. You'll be able to sing along to Gilligan's Isle, appreciate the rich warmth and full arrangement of Bonanza, recollect those scary moments at night when you hear the original Twilight Zone theme, and snap your fingers to the Partridge Family theme song.
This CD is a great time machine for those who grew up in these eras and a great tour of what past tv music was like for those of us who arrived some time after the release of these shows.
If you like classic tv shows, grew up during the golden age of television, or appreciate the pop culture of television, TV Land Television themes is for you. Some of my favorites in this CD are Hawaii 5-0, Batman, Green Acres (with Zsa Zsa and Eddie Albert!), Star Trek (re-recorded but great), Beverly Hillbillies, Movin On Up from the Jeffersons, S.W.A.T, The LoveBoat and of course, the I Love Lucy Theme. Get ready to go back to the past with a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close, but not quite, October 16, 2007
By 
D. Backlin (Fort Smith, Arkansas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
Many of these TV themes have been previously released on Tee Vee Tunes "Television's Greatest Hits". While many of the tunes are the originals (I Dream of Jeannie, Hawaii Five-O, Addams Family), many are not (Munsters, Bonanza, Andy Griffith), while others (such as Mannix and Happy Days) sound like extended versions of the originals. It's great to hear all the old themes again, but I'd much prefer to hear the originals. To their credit, some tracks (such as The Addams Family and "The Ballad of Jed Clampett) feature the "in" theme and the "out" theme.

If you're a fan of the old TV themes, you'll probably find something you like, though not necessarily all the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batman and Munsters, September 8, 2005
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
Despite what I've read in many of the other reviews, Batman and the Munsters ARE NOT the original versions that we heard on the intros to the shows themselves. To hear the original themes for those songs, go to the TV Land Theme song home page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all that original, August 8, 2007
By 
Robert W. Cox "xanthusix9" (Irving, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
I bought this CD thinking that all the tracks were going to be the original recordings. Some are and some are not. But for the most part, not a bad CD. But if you are looking for all original recordings and not rearrangments, then look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's wonderful, but..., August 18, 2003
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
... some of the songs (such as Bonanza and Star Trek) are not original and have been re-performed by other artists.
Since I mainly bought the cd for the song of Bonanza I am really disappointed. I wish they would say on the back of the cd that 3-4 songs are not original recordings. I would probably buy the disc all the same, but I felt cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not All Themes Are Originals, May 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
Some of these theme songs are remade and sound pretty lousy in my opinion. Any regular television viewer of these shows can easily distinguish them from originals. I can not recommend this set at all because of this. I made the mistake buying this by believing some MISLeading reviews that said they were "original themes"-"could not tell the difference from originals"(come on get your hearing checked or watch more classic tv or be more accurate. Other buyers read your reviews for guidance). I cringed at the sound of some of the weird music substituting the original theme song. They should have had the "fake" songs on another disc so I could have tossed that one in the trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~For Any TV Junkie~, July 10, 2003
By 
bob (Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
Now a picture may be worth a thousand words but a TV Land theme song is priceless. From I Love Lucy to Happy Days; from The Munsters to the Brady Bunch this CD has most of the classic TV shows ever. Having the most popular TV themes and TV shows what could be wrong with that. You can listen to it for hours because the whole CD is more than an hour long so its good for your listening pleasure. It even has some pictures of some TV casts/character/s in the booklet inside the CD case. Also it tells a little about each TV show about its theme song and has the dates that the show was on. Its perfect if you love music and/or love classic television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TV Favorites, February 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
This is a large collection of TV Themes from some well known and loved TV shows from the past. A few of these(such as The Dukes of Hazzards) you don't see often in other TV theme collections. About 40 percent of these are non-broadcast originals, which is cool; but I prefer the original broadcast ones. Some re-records are pretty good, some sound pretty bad. Overall a mixed bag, with a little here and there to please most people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deja Vu, February 16, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs (Audio CD)
Listening to these familiar themes as performed by the original artists certainly brings back wonderful memories! I was particularly pleased, not only with the quality of the pieces, but with the actual performances themselves, just as we remembered them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs
TV Land Presents: Favorite TV Theme Songs by Eddie Albert (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.