Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoomin' Fun
These babies make me feel like I'm about to qualify for the Olympics! Not only do I swim faster, I swim smarter. After several laps with them, I take them off and continue on my own, paying attention to my kicking and mimicking the motion and speed attained with fins on. They're training me to be a more efficient and better swimmer. On top of that, they're...
Published on January 24, 2011 by Natalie Dressed

versus
187 of 190 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sizing Chart
When I ordered these fins I bought the yellow because the sizing options say they fit size 5-7; however, this is only for men's shoe sizing.

For women the manufactures note "For women's sizing, size down 2-2 1/2 sizes."

The fins I ordered also came with the actual sizing chart which really needs to be displayed under the products information...
Published on January 16, 2012 by Lacey


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

187 of 190 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sizing Chart, January 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TYR SPORT EBP Burner Fin (Sports)
When I ordered these fins I bought the yellow because the sizing options say they fit size 5-7; however, this is only for men's shoe sizing.

For women the manufactures note "For women's sizing, size down 2-2 1/2 sizes."

The fins I ordered also came with the actual sizing chart which really needs to be displayed under the products information.

XXXS (Lt. Blue)- US M 12-1, US F 12-1, EU 30-33

XXS (Purple) - US M 1-3, US F 1-3, EU 34-35

XS (Orange) - US M 3-5, US F 4.5-6.5, EU 36-37

S (Green) - US M 5-7, US F 6.5-8.5, 38-39

M (Yellow) - US M 7-9, US F 8.5-10.5, EU 40-41

L (Red) - US M 9-11 US F 10.5-12.5, EU 42-43

XL (Blue) - US M 11-13, US F 12.5-14.5, EU 44-45

It shouldn't be the customers job to inform other customers about proper fitting of the product, which is why I gave it 2 stars. When I get the fins back in the proper size and test them I'll do another review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoomin' Fun, January 24, 2011
By 
Natalie Dressed (MERCER ISLAND, WA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TYR SPORT EBP Burner Fin (Sports)
These babies make me feel like I'm about to qualify for the Olympics! Not only do I swim faster, I swim smarter. After several laps with them, I take them off and continue on my own, paying attention to my kicking and mimicking the motion and speed attained with fins on. They're training me to be a more efficient and better swimmer. On top of that, they're comfortable, well-designed, they even float (well mostly, at least they don't sink like a stone as some of the other training fins I've seen do) these are a great way to bump up the usual lap routine. They definitely work the big muscles in the thighs, front and back. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sizing is Off, April 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's so hard to know which size to order. I was hestitant to order via I-net, but couldn't locate a store that sells fins nearby.

Based off the size description & Lacey's review, I ordered my daughter a size (S)5-7 Green.
Her shoe size is a 7.5 ladies. So I sized down for mens which would put her in a men's 5.5 which is the green fin.
From Lacey's review, she included the manufactures size chart: S (Green) - US M 5-7, US F 6.5-8.5, 38-39.

However, they still do not fit properly. Her toes hang out a little bit & bc she has a narrow foot, they are not very snug. We can't size up bc then they would be way too big. We will keep these fins so she can get some use out of them.

The material is a nice soft flexible silcon like material. She hasn't worn them to practice yet, but I'm sure they will be comfortable. I just wish the sizes were more accurate.

Since it's a closed heel fin, I would like to see inbetween sizes made. so instead of having a fin that is for a size 5-7, they should make them 5-6 and 7-8 and 9-10 so that the fit is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for serious swim training, June 5, 2012
I have a competitive swim background although many years ago. Now I am doing triathlons and doing more swimming. I was looking for some fins to break the monotony of doing almost all freestyle pool swimming. I was also concerned by some of the reviews for other similar fins as far as sizing inaccuracies. I took a chance of the TYR BURNER fins. I've had the chance to do two workouts with them and so far I am quite pleased. They are much shorter than the fins I am used t using in the ocean for bodysurfing or snorkeling. There really isn't much fin surface area at all compared to most swim fins. This is on purpose (or on porpoise!). With a longer fin blade, you will have to slow down your kick cadence, and possibly put too much stress on the ankle. These allow you to keep your normal stroke rate and leg/foot movement range without alteration. You can do normal flip turns without alteration of technique. The foot bed is soft and comfortable. The sizing is right. I wear a US 10.5 size and I got the 9-11 (red) fin and it is a snug but comfortable fit. The open toe design allows for some wiggle room as far a sizing. These are very high quality and a good value for the money. iSWIMBIKERUNSTRONG.wordpress.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fins, May 6, 2011
This review is from: TYR SPORT EBP Burner Fin (Sports)
The top of the fin is flexible enough to allow for easy slip on and removal. They work great for training and lap swimming. Perfect for kick sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great short swim fins!!!, June 20, 2012
By 
LEE (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For exercise, I've been learning to swim laps. I'm not a very proficient or efficient swimmer so keep this in mind when judging my review.

I've been using the Aqua Sphere Alpha Fins which I very much enjoy using. I decided to buy a short fin to add to my swimming tools. I tried the Finis Zoomers, but it felt heavy and it had an uncomfortable fit (too narrow for my feet). I then tried the similar TYR Burner which was lighter (they float) and the foot pocket rubber was much more flexible which make for a more comfortable fit.

Like all short swim fins, the TYR Burner makes you kick so if you want a good kicking work-out then it's a good choice. Although the TYR Burner float, they're not as floatable as the Aqua Sphere Alpha Fins which initially made me prefer the Alpha Fins since I've got heavy legs. As I've gotten to be a better freestyle swimmer, I now almost exclusively use the TYR Burner and use my Alpha Fins only when I do dolphin kick drills.

If properly fitted, these fins are a snug fit except around the front of the feet. For this reason, blisters will develop around the toe knuckles as they rub against the rubber. I found neoprene fin socks are too thick to wear. A possible solution is the Finis footbooties which isn't a full neoprene sock but only covers the front of the feet. Unfortunately for me, neoprene socks or half socks were too thick for me to wear with the TYR Burner because I have wide feet.

My solution to prevent blisters - shims of waterproof minicell foams (3 1/2 inches x 2 inches x 1/4 inch) placed between the top of my toes and the front inside foot pocket of the TYR Burner. The minicell foams cushion my toes and prevents the rubbing that causes blisters. Although not necessary, I did end up using Gorilla glue to attach the minicell foam to the fins so I wouldn't loose the foams. The shims of minicell foams make the TYR Burner incredibly comfortable to wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Fit Fine, February 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TYR SPORT EBP Burner Fin (Sports)
I wear a size 10.5/11 us. I bought the large (9-11) They fit fine...in the water. If you try to put them on dry, you will have problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST FIN - LET ME HELP YOU WITH SIZING..., May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I agree - they do a bad job of informing you of sizing. To all the ladies who wear a size 8 shoe, the size SMALL in GREEN fit me PERFECTLY! I've had these a year and they have no cracking, breaking, etc. I just rinse them in fresh water after every swim and let them air dry.

I've tried probably 15 types of swim fins at my health club over the last 8 years, and these are my favorites by far. The fit is perfect and don't rub my feet, they are not too long and not too short. I am so glad I bought my own fins.

I am mainly writing my review to help ladies' pick the correct size. I hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not adequate water resistance in pool., June 25, 2013
By 
S-N-D "Layford" (Princeton, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TYR SPORT EBP Burner Fin (Sports)
Pros:
1. Looks pretty.

Cons:
1. Not true to sizes. Too small. I wear shoes size 11 and ordered the XL (Size 11-13). They are very tight and uncomfortable once on.

2. Blades not the right size and shape. In the pool, I don't feel enough water resistance, and realize blades are thicker, shorter and much heavier than similar fins, hence reducing the maneuverability and effectiveness.

3. Too expensive, compared to other fins that do better jobs.

I bought the pair from Swim2000. The experience is horrible. The fins came in a USPS paper envelope, without any other packaging. The fins looked used when taking out of the paper envelope. Swim2000 customer services also suck. Better stay with Amazon.com LLC.

Here is the ranking of the five pairs of the swimming fins I have bought and tested recently:

1. Aqua Sphere Microfin Fitness Swim Fins, size: 11 - 12 (46-47) (4 stars)
2. Head Energy Swim Fin-Size 11-12 (4 stars)
3. Speedo Multicolored Short Blade Training Fin, XX-Large (3 stars)
4. FINIS Floating Fins, Black/Navy (Size: 11-13) (2 stars)
5. TYR SPORT EBP Burner Fin, X-Large (2 star)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TYR Burner Fins, August 1, 2012
By 
L. King (Groton, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TYR SPORT EBP Burner Fin (Sports)
It takes a little getting used to fins for someone who has never used them before. I did have some foot cramps initially but now that I am using them in the pool I really do feel my legs are getting stronger. I am a cyclist who loves to swim after a ride. I recently started running and can feel a difference after using these fins - my legs aren't as achy as they were when I first started my running program. They are also quite comfortable so it is easy to slip on and off at the pool. I wish they had come with a package insert or instructions for starting to use them. I am pretty happy with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

TYR SPORT EBP Burner Fin, Large
$34.99 $26.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.