Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and practical book for enhancing your home!
I purchased this book several months ago and have been thrilled with it's beautiful photography, clear instruction and easy (yet clever) ideas for gardening indoors. My home is not set up for big outdoor gardens, so these small container and tabletop gardens have been a godsend! I had never thought of decorating my kitchen and bathrooms with live plantings, and wow,...
Published on August 5, 2003 by R. Goodwin

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic information
I was hoping for a discourse on plants that work well together when potted together, grouping objects and living plants in interesting arrangements, keeping the living matter alive. Unfortunately, this book was limited to single species of plants living in its own container occasionally decorated with marbles.

It did, however, have some good information about...
Published on July 8, 2011 by A. Howard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and practical book for enhancing your home!, August 5, 2003
By 
I purchased this book several months ago and have been thrilled with it's beautiful photography, clear instruction and easy (yet clever) ideas for gardening indoors. My home is not set up for big outdoor gardens, so these small container and tabletop gardens have been a godsend! I had never thought of decorating my kitchen and bathrooms with live plantings, and wow, what an improvement! I am buying copies for my friends and family. This makes a wonderful housewarming gift. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book for house plant lovers, August 12, 2009
By 
S. Sells (Little Rock, AR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tabletop Gardens: 40 Stylish Plantscapes for Counters and Shelves, Desktops and Windowsills (Paperback)
Tabletop Gardens is more than I expected. I was looking for ideas to support by passion for building terrariums. And I found just what I was looking for in that regard. The instructions given and the ideas for the perfect plants are found inside the pages. However, what I did not expect was a new passion for water gardens and topiaries. This book is splendid with easy directions for creating exquisite gardens to display inside your home. I am very happy with this book. It will be "a keeper" in my book collection for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic and Inspiring!, January 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tabletop Gardens: 40 Stylish Plantscapes for Counters and Shelves, Desktops and Windowsills (Paperback)
I have to say the photography in this book is BEAUTIFUL. The photographer somehow catches the best angles, and thus creates a deep sense of inspiration in the reader. The book also gives good recommendations of different species and what can be used in different environments (terrariums, submerged, etc.). Awesome book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncomplicated advise and easy-to-follow instructions, March 6, 2003
Tabletop Gardens: Create 40 Intimate Gardens For The Home, No Matter What The Season by gardening expert Rosemary McCreary offers a wealth of imaginative approaches to miniature indoor gardening. Included are ideas for deploying and displaying plants under glass, in bowls and trays, and even in water environments. The uncomplicated advise and easy-to-follow instructions will allow for any aspiring gardener to create harmonious combinations of plants in perfect containers. Whether working with herbs, grasses, bulbs, water plants, vines, or miniature shrubs, Tabletop Gardens is wonderfully illustrated, thoroughly "user friendly", and very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful design and practical, July 10, 2003
By 
Received this as a gift and found it so well written and photographed that I ended up buying a few as gifts for others. Fabulous book design and layout. Beautiful pictures. Great container ideas and very clear information for ongoing care. The grass garden section was especially neat. The author suggests new takes on indoor gardens such as using mini primroses in a flat basket. I've always planted them outdoors but never imagined how nice they would look inside the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT--EASY INSTRUCTIONS, COOL PICTURES!!!, January 9, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tabletop Gardens: 40 Stylish Plantscapes for Counters and Shelves, Desktops and Windowsills (Paperback)
I love this book!!!!! I have almost no knowledge about plants, how to NOT kill them, or make them look great in the house. Despite this roadblock, I still wanted to make the house more "homey" and "artistic" with regard to flowers and/or plants---until I found this book, I had no idea how to go about accomplishing this. THIS BOOK SOLVES MY PROBLEM!!! Extremely easy to follow step-by-step instructions, beautiful pics on almost every page, instructions on what type of pot/vase/box/soil/rocks/etc to use and the freedom to improvise, and an awesome guide in the back about what may be going wrong with the plant if it is exhibiting blank blank symtoms. Tons of plant options/creations which make it easy for ANYONE to find something in there that he or she likes....even a little section on cactus for those of us who live in hot, dry, dusty regions. Oh, and if you are one to get distracted and bored easily with intruction-following, no worries!!, the steps are short and sweet! Long, dull, and complicated...??? Definitely not found in this book. It would make a fabulous gift; I am probably going to buy a couple for housewarming gifts and even for my mom (who is stuck in a plant rut and needs some inspiration). If you decide to shell out a couple bucks for this book, you won't regret it. Five stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic information, July 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tabletop Gardens: 40 Stylish Plantscapes for Counters and Shelves, Desktops and Windowsills (Paperback)
I was hoping for a discourse on plants that work well together when potted together, grouping objects and living plants in interesting arrangements, keeping the living matter alive. Unfortunately, this book was limited to single species of plants living in its own container occasionally decorated with marbles.

It did, however, have some good information about the length one could expect a cut plant to live, flowering durations, and the like.

If you have a very difficult time keeping plants alive, then this book would probably be a good resource. The instructions are easy to follow, nice photos, etc. If you have any experience at all in gardening, I recommend trying to find something a little more advanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars attractive enough to look at......, March 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tabletop Gardens: 40 Stylish Plantscapes for Counters and Shelves, Desktops and Windowsills (Paperback)
but really nothing special. There really aren't any new ideas here, and there really isn't much information. (If I'd seen this in a bookstore, I certainly wouldn't have bought it.) I'd just pass it on to someone who knows less about houseplants, but there's not enough information for an inexperienced indoor gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Striking, simple and complete, March 3, 2004
This striking book is an excellent choice for those of you who simply can't stop gardening, no matter what the season or location. While apartment dwellers will especially benefit from the tabletop gardens, everyone could find a place in their home for these beautiful examples. Everything from dry gardens to bogs is covered. Each example includes information on lighting, water, temperature requirements and average life span.
I have never had much success with indoor plants, but I am tempted to try out a few of these, including the ones growing simple grasses in pretty containers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done, September 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tabletop Gardens: 40 Stylish Plantscapes for Counters and Shelves, Desktops and Windowsills (Paperback)
Tabletop Gardens is a terrific introduction to the art of indoor gardening. The text is clear and concise and filled with tips and tricks to be successful including extensive lists of which kinds of plants do well and why. I was inspired by the abundance of ideas complete with photographs. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn indoor gardening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tabletop Gardens: 40 Stylish Plantscapes for Counters and Shelves, Desktops and Windowsills
$16.95 $13.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.