Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Japanese Noodle Cookbook
This wonderful cookbook specializes in Japanese noodles and includes a number of variations for udon, soba, and ramen. It includes detailed descriptions of ingredients and a little bit of background on each style of noodle. Although I haven't made the handmade soba noodles, I have tried the udon recipes and they came out better than most Japanese restaurants. Please do...
Published on July 22, 2009 by Eilie

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful recipes for noodle dishes...
...but if you are looking for the recipes to make the noodles themselves, look elsewhere.

The book is called Takashi's Noodles and there is a pictures on the dust cover of Takashi displaying fresh noodles but while there are recipes in the book for soba and egg pasta, recipes for ramen, udon and somen are not included.

I would very much like to give...
Published 14 months ago by S. Cunha


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Japanese Noodle Cookbook, July 22, 2009
By 
Eilie (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Paperback)
This wonderful cookbook specializes in Japanese noodles and includes a number of variations for udon, soba, and ramen. It includes detailed descriptions of ingredients and a little bit of background on each style of noodle. Although I haven't made the handmade soba noodles, I have tried the udon recipes and they came out better than most Japanese restaurants. Please do not be put off by the review stating that this is a horrible book because the short ribs are not cooked long enough. The recipe included in this book is for Japanese style beef short ribs which are a half inch thick cut along the bias, as you would see in shabu-shabu or Korean barbeque recipes, and therefore a minute per side is a reasonable estimate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Japanese noodle cookbook, August 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Paperback)
Takashi did a great job writing a Japanese noodle cookbook using available ingredients found in the western grocery stores. His recipes are not what I call a fusion style of recipes and he stays true to his background by presenting true Japanese noodle recipes.

His Japanese recipes are very solid and traditional recipes with beautiful presentation and photos. Pages 1-94 are Japanese recipes and pages 96-127 delves into other Asian as well as western noodle dishes.

The cold noodle dipping sauces are excellent with some innovative ideas such as tomato dipping sauce which I found very interesting. It does go extremely well with chilled somen noodle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book with simple recipies that work, January 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Paperback)
First off, ignore the one star review. The review bought the wrong type of rib cut and is blaming it on the book. You have to get the across the bone Asian style rib cut..not the between the bone American/European style Rib cut.

Now..onto the review:
This is a excellent book!
Takashi(who is a skilled chef in the Chicago area) has put together simple recipies that taste great and can be be made in a home kitchen without a monster effort. He also gives you a little backround about the noodles and the dishes so you can get a feel on how they are viewed in their native country. There are more than noodle recipies also-he includes recipies for Yakatori, Gyoza/Pot Stickers and many other common Asian Pub/Street food dishes that really fit in with the noodle recipies.

Plus, Takashi is not afraid to throw a Professional type recipie at you for a challenge if you so desire:look for the recipie with foam.

I am a professional chef and I can appreciate the simpliticy and ease of this book. I suggest a large 12+qt pot and a fine strainer or a china cap with cheesecloth to strain the soups as the only real things you need. Also, find where your local well stocked Asian Grocery store is at, as you will need to visit them for a few things that you won't find in a normal grocery store. If you can't find it locally, go online-Asian ingredients can be found online cheaply these days.

Just get this book if you are interested in Asian noodle soups/dishes and want a great, simple starting place Or you don't want to put a full day or three ala Momofuku to make noodle dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noodles and more noodles, October 14, 2011
By 
Michael C. Hosokawa (Columbia, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Paperback)
Nicely written and illustrated book for the Asian hobby chef. The text is easy to understand and you know what your dish is supposed to look like when served. While not always attainable the presentation of the noodles can be your goal. Many Asian cookbooks either require exotic ingredients not readily available or feature presentations only Iron Chef Morimoto could design. Takashi's Noodles provides recipes that the hobby chef can manage, presentations that can be your goal and a nice variety of noodle dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes to make impressive and delicious dinners, January 21, 2014
By 
Rachel W. (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Paperback)
I ordered this book back in early fall and by now have made most of the ramen and udon recipes in here. I love this book. Anyone complaining about difficulty making the recipes or preparing elements ahead of time should go back to their instant noodles! The detailed information is probably the most accessible instruction the typical American will receive for making traditional ramen recipes that are considered highly challenging and prized technique in Japan. I have several friends who I've prepared ramen dishes for and they've said that the recipes I've made were better than the ramen they've had in the city here and in Manhattan. If you want to learn to make an exceptional dish, it takes work. If you understand that from the get go then you'll enjoy this book.
PS: most of the packaged items called for in recipes can be found on Amazon. As Takashi tells us, it's better to make the dashi from scratch than to use the pre-made powders that are full of MSG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook, January 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Paperback)
This is a great cookbook with a wide variety of recipes. In addition to great Japanese noodle recipes the chicken Yakitori recipe has become a standard that I make frequently. The recipe for braised pork belly is also excellent, and something I've repurposed in a lot of other recipes. Since this is a Japanese cookbook you'll have to find some ingredients that aren't common to most grocery stores, although I found that Asian markets around me carried everything I needed (most ingredients are also available online). I've started keeping Dashi and Kombu around the house all the time, and they've become regular ingredients in my cooking. All in all a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this topic of Japanese cooking, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Paperback)
So often we end up buying cook books that try to cover all aspects of a style of cuisine. I already had a couple of Japanese cookbooks but this one is topic specific and really gives a lot of interesting and historical dishes served in all areas of Japan. Noodles with different toppings and sauces are a way of life in Japan, too often Americans only think of sushi or Benihani. Japanese cuisine is so much more complex and diverse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Noodle heaven, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Paperback)
My daughter's partner requested this book on her wish list and it was a good choice. The photography is stunning, the directions and recipes are simple but sophisticated. Chef Takashi knows his subject inside and out and I know Heather will get a lot of use out of it. Good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, to the point and well thought out., November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Kindle Edition)
Great resource for the western cook preparing Japan's noodle dishes. At once simplified and authentic. Highly recommended.

Takashi's charm and innate warmth come through in every recipe. The descriptions of the food and his memories of his history with them placed in context, add a layer of depth to the recipes.

Well done. Domo arigato, Takashi-sama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed Japanese noodles reference, October 25, 2011
By 
Jackie Teo (Malacca, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Takashi's Noodles (Paperback)
Good reference book for Japanese noodle lovers. The content and teaching method on "how-to" was clearly guided. Ingredients and preparation methods are easily understandable and clearly stated. You will easily made a bowl of nice Japanese Noodle by referring to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Takashi's Noodles
Takashi's Noodles by Harris Salat
$11.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.