Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for leaders of all types
This is a must read for anyone trying to make change these days. As a a Prof. in Leadership what stands out to me is that it takes a stand for what leadership is, and looks like. In addition, it is filled with amazing, practical stories about how to expand your influence and power. Moving the conversation from leadership being about position to leadership being about...
Published on October 26, 2011 by Maura Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many personal anecdotes.
If you took out all the personal stories about times working in the White House, studying at Harvard, and working on the Olympic Committee, you could probably cut the length of this book in half. I had to take a break from reading Ms. Meyers personal memoir and come back to it after reading a truly inspiring book called "Winning Every time" by Lis Weighl. Now...
Published 2 months ago by Globetrotter5K


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for leaders of all types, October 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Take the Lead: Motivate, Inspire, and Bring Out the Best in Yourself and Everyone Around You (Hardcover)
This is a must read for anyone trying to make change these days. As a a Prof. in Leadership what stands out to me is that it takes a stand for what leadership is, and looks like. In addition, it is filled with amazing, practical stories about how to expand your influence and power. Moving the conversation from leadership being about position to leadership being about influence is critical in an era when we need people of all types to step up and make change happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read It and Reap . . . Highly Recommended, September 25, 2011
This review is from: Take the Lead: Motivate, Inspire, and Bring Out the Best in Yourself and Everyone Around You (Hardcover)
Kudos to Betsy Myers for showing that business books can be substantive, insightful, inspiring. . . and page-turning.

She shares behind-the-scenes stories and revelations from her one-of-a-kind experiences - from heading up President Clinton's White House Office for Women to serving as COO of Obama's grassroots Presidential campaign - to show that people are yearning to be well led.

Knowing that is one thing; doing it is another.

Betsy's put-you-in-the-scene examples of "leaders who listen" and real-life recommandations on how to "take the lead" make this a "can-use-it-today" book you'll want to refer to again and again so you can continue to reap real-world results . . . on and off the job.

Read it and reap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read/good content, June 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Take the Lead: Motivate, Inspire, and Bring Out the Best in Yourself and Everyone Around You (Hardcover)
This is a good leadership book. I read it on the advice of some of my managers at work. It is an easy read and combines anectdotes with suggestions on what makes a good reader. I could not be any more different than the author and I went into the book thinking I would not enjoy it, but I was pleasantly suprised. Worth the price paid as I bought it used on Amazon. I am just beginning my foray into a leadership role, so I may not be the best one to review, but I would say there is a good chance I will read it again within the next few years (and I never read a book twice).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Myers Walks Her Talk, December 13, 2011
This review is from: Take the Lead: Motivate, Inspire, and Bring Out the Best in Yourself and Everyone Around You (Hardcover)
Take the Lead: Motivate, Inspire and Bring Out the Best in Yourself and Everyone Around You is a great book. In writing it and sharing her experiences, Betsy Myers continues to be one of America's foremost examples of leadership. She gained her experience in two United States presidents, their administrations and walked the halls with the most powerful people in the world in Washington DC and at Harvard University. Now as a speaker and resource for the Young President's Organization, Bently University and to anyone who buys this book, she shares practical advice on how the best inspire and motivate. Betsy says we are all leaders in some aspects and in Take the Lead, she shares Seven Core principles which all leaders can use to be their best. She encourages us to bring out the best in ourselves first, and to inspire and motivate those around us in our profession and in life. From the Oval Office to the playground, there is something here for leaders and even for ordinary people seeking inspiration everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence in Leadership, August 19, 2012
Betsy Myers has written a good book on how to motivate, and inspire people when you are in a position of leadership. It also tells you how to get into a position of leadlership and have the respect and love of the people you are leading.

Myers uses a series of stories about her own experiences and those of others to illustrate her take on leadership. She says that to be a good leader you have to be a good listener and put people first. She gives example after example of how people used the personal touch to work with their staff of employees. Some leaders made a point of getting to lunch or coffee with every person under them to get their views and opinions on variouis policies and issues facing the company or organization. She tells how one company had to cut the salaries of their people by 30 percent and how the leaders talked to every employee and gave them time and helped them through the crisis, making each one feel like they were an important and valued part of the organization.

I really like Betsy Myers ideas about leadership. I've been jobs I loathed because of a dictatorial boss and I know what it is to be an employee that is not heard. I love the idea of being able to talk to my boss openly and candidly and feeling like I am a valued part of the organization that I am working for. Having a leader like she describes seems like a dream. By applying the principles of this book it can be a dream come true. -- Valerie Lull, Author, Ten Healthy Teas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too many personal anecdotes., July 14, 2014
If you took out all the personal stories about times working in the White House, studying at Harvard, and working on the Olympic Committee, you could probably cut the length of this book in half. I had to take a break from reading Ms. Meyers personal memoir and come back to it after reading a truly inspiring book called "Winning Every time" by Lis Weighl. Now that's the writing style I appreciate...there was just enough personal accounts to give you practical insight but not too much that the author comes off sounding self-absorbed (like Take The Lead).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on Leadership I've Ever Read!, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Take the Lead: Motivate, Inspire, and Bring Out the Best in Yourself and Everyone Around You (Hardcover)
Do you love a book that you never want to end?!

THIS IS THAT BOOK!

I've read countless leadership books and most seem to just repeat what their mentor or someone that inspired them said in a slightly different format, but, in the end, it's really just the same stuff you read before. Not this book!

Betsy Myers brings an entirely new perspective to leadership that is so simple and yet so profound. Her lifelong love for the study of what makes a leader great has taken her professionally from her own business in southern California to being a senior official in the White House to Harvard's Center for Public Leadership to being the COO of a winning presidential campaign to ultimately one of her most important positions, a parent and to her daughter's first grade classroom.

Betsy's belief that leadership starts with ourselves is powerfully demonstrated when she shares a conversation she had with one of her daughter's elementary school teachers. The teacher had just shared with Betsy that she (the teacher) didn't see herself as a leader. To which Betsy responds: "Are you kidding?"..."You're teaching all these children how to read and write, how to share and other important life skills. They are growing and developing their sense of self-worth, and you are right in the middle of that process, teaching them how to learn and nurture their own abilities. You're leading them into their future!"

Betsy's ability to bring out the most productive feelings in those around her carries through into each page of her book and brings about those same feelings in her readers.

BUY THIS BOOK TODAY! IT'S OUTSTANDING! And be sure to get copies for your team, colleagues, staff, etc. -- I have no doubt you will see a rise in productivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Met Expectations, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a great book, and it arrived in great condition. I don't have any other comments about the purchase. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Leadership Book, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was great to find a leadership book written by a active women in politics. I got it for a leadership assignment for a graduate class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stories illustrate her common-sense leadership principles, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Her stories illustrate her principles and underscore the priority of helping the people we lead to be and do the best they can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Take the Lead: Motivate, Inspire, and Bring Out the Best in Yourself and Everyone Around You
$25.00 $18.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.