Customer Reviews


354 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (56)
1 star:
 (74)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The movie tells what life actually is.
Someone seems to say "life is between boredom and anxiety". People feel bored for what they already have and feel anxiety for what they don't. The process of knowing a new person or getting a new thing stirs the excitement. The excitement makes people feel delighted, happy and bold, which could lead to make a wrong decision and regret later. After a while, the excitement...
Published 24 months ago by Troy

versus
50 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything old stays old
Margo (Michelle WIlliams) meets Daniel (Luke Kirby) on a Colonial tour, in which actors are put in stocks and whipped for committing adultery. This bit of foreshadowing (Daniel goads her into administering the lashing) is a clue as to the moral dilemma that involves Margo, Daniel, and ultimately Margo's husband, Lou (Seth Rogan).

The theme of marriage,...
Published on June 23, 2012 by J. A Bowen


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The movie tells what life actually is., November 30, 2012
By 
Troy "Odyssey" (West Chester, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Take This Waltz (DVD)
Someone seems to say "life is between boredom and anxiety". People feel bored for what they already have and feel anxiety for what they don't. The process of knowing a new person or getting a new thing stirs the excitement. The excitement makes people feel delighted, happy and bold, which could lead to make a wrong decision and regret later. After a while, the excitement dies down, the new becomes the old, the boredom strikes again... I think the movie captures the idea very well. People who have the similar experience will find this movie is interesting and worth to watch. Otherwise, the movie might seems boring and slow.

The important thing in the life is to figure out what is really important and hold on to them. Rather than chasing the "mirage" created by the excitement, it is better to ride out the boredom by discovering new trait from old people or things, include ourself. So when you feel you will give in to the temptation, you can watch this movie and see whether you still want to do it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not A Literal Interpretation, January 17, 2013
This review is from: Take This Waltz (DVD)
Take This Waltz is a slow moving quirky movie. There was something unique about this film, something that caught my attention from the first moment.

The film opens with a beautiful song, light quirky words, slightly on the folk side. The opening montage is a set of close ups of Margot making cup cakes. One of the last shots is of her sitting in front of the oven, a man in shorts walks past and the montage ends with an out of focus shot of the man standing in front of a bright window. I describe this very carefully because the film closes with exactly this same series of shots. They are identical, except for one small detail; the man is wearing long pants.

The film then moves to a town on the east coast of Canada where Margot writes the new brochure copy for a Colonial town. A man taunts her to participate in a mock flogging. He ends up sitting next to her on the plane home. Turns out he lives across the street and they share a cab home, as they part ways she says under her breath, "I'm married." Margot is married to Lou, a chef writing a chicken cookbook.

This next paragraph has spoilers in it. If you would rather not know some details, skip this paragraph.
Ultimately, Margot ends up having an affair with Daniel. The literal interpretation of this affair is that she is a horrible person, doing what so many people do. She should be in love with her funny schlub of a husband. Her life is fabulous and she should be happy. Instead she falls for this handsome sexy guy across the street. I contend that there is another way to look at this film. Lou wore shorts a lot in this film. Daniel never wore shorts once, in fact the director made sure we got to see his Capri pants, they were always long pants; even at the beach. Margot never cooks in the whole film; in fact she hates the kitchen. The opening and closing montage style is completely different from the rest of the film. It is an intimate dance with Margot, the close ups of her bare feet moving gracefully. Throughout the film she wears funky sneakers, rarely barefoot. The opening and closing montage say that the affair was a fantasy. If I look back on the film with the idea that the affair was completely in Margot's head, the film takes on a completely different amazing turn. It all makes sense and is powerful.

The film is beautifully made. The interiors are full of stuff, bright colored stuff. Margot wears some of the funkiest unusual clothes. The exteriors portray a Toronto neighborhood so perfectly, open and green. The trips into the city are tight shots with all kinds of activity everywhere. Michelle Williams is absolutely radiant. She is bohemian, wears those unusual clothes perfectly. She as well as Sarah Silverman are never afraid to take off her clothes. They are both beautiful women comfortable with their bodies. Seth Rogan and Luke Kirby are also confident, but both stand to the side to let the women shine. This is a strong cast. I do have one complaint about the Montreal airport, it is not Dorval - the chairs, halls, and doors are all wrong. Given the attention to detail in this film, I'm surprised that slipped in.

The film is almost two hours long. It does move along at about the same slow pace throughout. Frankly, I liked this pace. This isn't an action picture; it is a sort of romance or a slow slide into a fantasy world. I would guess it was too slow for a lot of viewers. This is an R rated film. There are several scenes with full frontal and rear female nudity. There is a scene in the middle of the film where Daniel describes what he wants to do to Margot. It is one of the most sensual scenes I have ever watched where nobody ever took off their clothes or even touched. There is an artistic scene of two people having sex, reasonably well covered. There is some strong language. The film is intended for mature audiences.

This film was less about betrayal and more about what boredom and fantasy will lead people to think. I loved the quirkiness of this film. The soundtrack was perfection. Sarah Silverman and Michelle Williams were amazing. Although slow moving, I was moved by this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film is what its trailer, score, synopsis and rating suggest., May 26, 2013
By 
Marcelle Drouffe (Northern Hemisphere) - See all my reviews
The film is beautiful, its landscapes, décor, colour...

There's a shower scene at a swimming pool that juxtaposes the young bodies of the main characters with those of older women. The scene has been described as "ugly," perhaps deemed so because it was frank and not a male gaze POV. The younger women daintily shower; the older women truly wash themselves. The younger women gab about wanting to escape the humdrum of their lives, to which an older woman interjects: "New things get old." The younger women turn and gaze at the older women. We are left to imagine their thoughts. Watching the scene was uncomfortable, but it was a refreshing display of female nudity.

A recently sober character talks about the inevitability of their relapse. We weigh the inevitability of the main character's adultery. The character later says, "Life has a gap in it. It just does. You don't go crazy trying to fill it like some lunatic," which is funny and strains belief given the scene. Maybe that's heavy-handed, but the two quotations given seem to be the only saving grace of this film for reviewers who gave it 1 star, so maybe spelling things out is needed.

The scenes set at the Video killed the Radio Star (new supersedes old) ride were more telling than the quotations. In one scene, the young woman takes this ride alone. We can assume this is a ride that she has taken with her husband a long time ago. In the other scene, she takes her neighbour there and they share a few minutes of exhilaration in the darkness, flashing lights and loud music. The music stops and the lights come on: the ride is ended. They, and we, are surprised and disoriented. We know a ride always ends, yet we are surprised, resentful or seek another (which will also end).

The film is what its trailer, score, synopsis and rating suggest. You have been warned. Strange dialogue? It fits the film. Boring? Well, you see the minutiae of a couple's life. Boredom is the setting for discontent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the thoughtful, November 26, 2012
This is not a light Hollywood RomCom. This story explores the chemistry of relationships. Margot is happily married to a good guy, a chef named Lou. They have fun and a nice life where their friends and family love them as a couple. Five years into a marriage, they do not have a deep connection, but a superficial one where they are content with the companionship that grows over time. There is a lot of nurture & familiarity in their relationship but no spark.

The two are different from each other. Margot feels the space between them but does not want to explore what is happening on a deeper level until she meets a carefree urban hobo / artist by chance when visiting a local landmark. She later realizes that he lives across the street from her. Daniel, the artist seems to see past her normal facade and made up excuses and stories. He calls it for what it is and makes her realize that she does not want everyday security but a raw deep connection with someone who feels her being deeply and allows her to be an individual.

The film is shot in beautiful urban Toronto. The backdrop and streets are full of color and life. The main characters of Margot and Daniel are played by the talented and adaptable Michelle Williams and hunky, deep and slightly mysterious Luke Kirby. Michelle gives a great performance of a young woman who is not sure what is lacking in her life. She tries to hold on to the things that others say are good for her and struggles with being pursued by a slightly obsessive suitor. The cerebral and sexual tension between the two actors heightens as the film progresses. One of the best non sex, erotic scenes happens in a cafe where Daniel tells Margot what he will do with her (this happens about 45 minutes into the movie). Luke Kirby looks at Michelle Williams as if he can see deep into her soul and Michelle looks increasingly like she has been carried away on a cloud when she looks at him. The acting is superb. Excellent performances are also seen by Sarah Silverman and Seth Rogen.

This is now one of my all time favorite movies. I hope to see more from Sarah Polley who wrote and directed this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Sexy Film, August 14, 2012
This film does a wonderful job portraying real-life relationships. Lots of people won't like it, but that's because the "typical" love story doesn't end this way. In reality, situations arise similar to this more times than one can count. It's battle between what others feel is right for you, and what you actually know to be right for your happiness. Michelle Williams did another fantastic job, and I feel the casting for Daniel (Luke Kirby) was spot-on. Luke Kirby plays such a great character, innocent, real, sexy, sweet, and honest. He's a good guy and knows what he wants, but is willing to wait for it. I look forward to seeing Luke Kirby in more films. I recommend this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything old stays old, June 23, 2012
Margo (Michelle WIlliams) meets Daniel (Luke Kirby) on a Colonial tour, in which actors are put in stocks and whipped for committing adultery. This bit of foreshadowing (Daniel goads her into administering the lashing) is a clue as to the moral dilemma that involves Margo, Daniel, and ultimately Margo's husband, Lou (Seth Rogan).

The theme of marriage, temptation, boredom and adultery is hardly new fodder for exploration, but it does have an endless fascination. This tale of hipster attraction, lust and flirtation does not add anything particularly intriguing to the mix. Michelle Williams does a good job with the complicated character of Margo, who seems literally lost in her own neuroses and insecurities. She swings from childlike timidity to really bold flirting without much in between, and the instant hot attraction between she and Daniel leaves her understandably emotional and highly charged. Daniel, it turns out, lives right across the street from Margo and Luke (how did they not know this?) and he also veers from boldness - he literally stalks her 24/7 -- to suddenly turning morally righteous just as he's about to get what he wants. These two tease each other in a way that I found infuriating. Of course, they say and do things that real people operating under the conventions of civility would never say or do, but when it comes to pulling the trigger, they both back off.

Most puzzling to me was the character of Luke (Seth Rogan), Margo's husband. A writer of cookbooks involving chicken, he is a charming manchild with a strange distaste for touching his pretty wife. She, clearly in love with him, tries on countless occasions to "seduce" him (her words), only to be spurned with no explanation each and every time. They behave towards each other like kindergarten children with a crush. They "play" with each, tickle each other, he dumps cold water on her in her shower (why???) but he will not sleep with her. Is he gay? Asexual? At one point he mutters something about "not deserving her" which does nothing to clarify the situation.

My favorite performance in the movie was that of Sarah Silverman. She seems natural, is her usual bold, profane self, and adds a dimension of reality to a movie which is so subtle and nuanced it gets in its own way. "Everything new gets old" is hardly a startling new revelation, and unfortunately, this treatment of that theme ultimately fails to satisfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical and Captivating, October 24, 2012
This review is from: Take This Waltz (DVD)
Before I decide to rent a DVD, I tend to read the 1-star reviews to see if there might be some valid reasons for not renting it. I admit that I almost didn't rent this one because of some of the things said in the one-star ratings.
However, I took a chance, and I'm glad I did. It is definitely not one of your run of the mill "cheat on your spouse" movies. I found it lyrical, understated and subtle, with a haunting soundtrack that definitely added to the mood.
It was a two-hour movie. In my experience, most two-hour movies could have been condensed into 90 minutes, but I didn't find any "wasted time" in this movie. It kept my interest from start to finish.
Unlike some one-star reviewers who found the characters dull and uninteresting, I found them quite captivating. The movie provided some neat character studies.
Admittedly, some of the dialogue, particularly near the beginning, was a bit artificial and seemingly contrived. However, it overcame that after awhile.
And I felt the ending (the last 10 to 15 minutes) was a bit strange and disjointed, which detracted from the seamless flow that had been developed through the first 105 minutes.
Other than that, though, I thought it was an excellent movie.
Certainly, I wouldn't recommend it to everyone, because not everyone would like this kind of movie. However, if you feel like relaxing for a couple of hours and experiencing how some people try to make sense of their relationships, this might be worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frightening..., April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Take This Waltz (DVD)
...there is no masked murderer hiding in the shadows in this movie, but there is something that might be worse, because it might be real. There are no bad people in this movie, at least not inherently. No one does anything to be vindictive or even because they are indifferent. This movie scares me simply because it was all so logical. That could be me. I love movies and good stories and take them for what they are in essence, entertainment, but the ones that stick with me, the ones I tell others about or give as gifts, are the ones that make me think and evoke a deep emotion. This film is a mirror and it will give you the opportunity for great introspection, if you will allow it. Not everyone wants this, in fact the person I bought this for has yet to watch it because it makes her nervous. Life isn't clean and it is good to be reminded of this amongst all of the fairy tales. This film will do just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, but I liked it, November 24, 2012
By 
P. L. (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a funny, strange little movie, but I really enjoyed it. It was well acted and kept my interest the entire way through. It avoided a lot of the usual cliches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No One Can Fill All Your Holes, December 6, 2012
By 
Eric Sanberg (Villa Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Take This Waltz (DVD)
I swear those Canadians can churn these kinds of movies out endlessly; and I can't say I'm sorry. I enjoyed watching this movie very, very much.

Here's the scoop. Margot (Michelle Williams) can probably write but uses her talent to write p.r. type stuff. She's married to Lou (Seth Rogen) who writes cookbooks featuring chicken and chicken only. They live in Ontario and are good together. They have a cool, interesting thing between them, but she has some issues, some voids that eat at her. She meets Daniel (Luke Kirby) on a flight. He paints, but is afraid to display his works. Turns out he lives across the street from her and therein lies the rub as the two become interested in one another.

The user reviews on this are lukewarm, but for me it was a great watch. First off, I like the set up. Of the three main characters, there are really no "bad" people. Rogen seems perfectly content though there may be something in the fact he doesn't want children. From the opening shot, when you see Margot out of focus, you know she will be the crux of the matter. She is generally happy but something is missing. The finger is pointed at her more than Rogen as being a villain. Daniel is a decent guy but has issues in fear and sees something in Margot. Though he respects the fact she's married, he still needs to be with her. They don't "cross the line" but they still do damage to the status quo.

Hat's off to the set directors here. Both Morgot's/Lou's place and Daniels place are cluttered, but it's a great clutter; filled with all sorts of odd stuff all over the place. The eye is constantly wandering over things, and the color scheme is great. Colors and things that normally would not occupy the same frame in most movies are at home here. Whoda thunk that Sarah Polley would go from child actor to such an astute writer/director. This is a woman's film to be sure (note the post aerobics shower scene) and she fills the circumstances with subtle nuance. For me there was only one clunky scene in the whole film. And she interjects certain plot points in surprising ways. Oh! The sound track is really nifty too. I liked the tunes a lot and I liked the way they underscored the content.

I must stop now or the length will put people off from reading it but I like this film a lot and would recommend it unhesitatingly to anyone fond of indy films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Take This Waltz
Take This Waltz by Seth Rogen (DVD - 2012)
$13.97 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.