Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Bob Dylan Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars44
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2010
Extreme is back with their first live DVD/CD and it was worth the wait. This band sounds as good and preforms as well as they ever have. Gary Cherone (the most under-rated front man of all time IMO) sounds great and hits all the notes. Nuno Bettencourt is still "the Man" on lead guitar. Pat Badger's bass and backing vocals are flawless and new drummer on the block, Kevin Figueiredo, is the perfect fit for this band. This show was recorded at the House of Blues August 8th 2009 in Extreme's hometown of Boston, MA. and if I had to sum up the concert in one word it would be "FUN"! This band is just so much "fun" to watch and listen to. This DVD really does a great job of capturing the energy of that show. I can say this because I was lucky enough to be there that night. Watching this DVD reminded me exactly what a great show it was and what it felt like to be there. Of course no dvd can be as great as being at the actual show but this dics does a fine job of showing off the talents of the band and what a great show thay put on. Now my being there that night and my love for this band might make me a tad bias. But this really is a great LIVE DVD. In fact I have some friends that are now getting into Extreme because I showed them this DVD. This group gets a lot of flack for being the "More Than Words" band but fans of these guys know how great they really are. And as live shows go, I would put these guys up against anybody.

The show consists of the following songs from their five albums

1. Decadence Dance
2. Comfortably Numb
3. Rest In Peace
4. It's a (Monster)
5. Star
6. Tell Me Something I Don't Know
7. Medley: Kid Ego, Little Girls
8. Teacher's Pet
9. Play With Me
10. Midnight Express
11. More Than Words
12. Ghost
13. Cupid's Dead
14. Take Us Alive
15. Flight of the Wounded Bumblebee
16. Get the Funk Out
17. Am I Ever Gonna Change?
18. Hole Hearted

Also included are the following videos

King of the Ladies
Interface
Run
Ghost

Anyways, for Extreme fans this DVD is a MUST!!!! And if you are someone who just wants to watch a great Rock band put on an Excellent show, then you could not do much better then this DVD. In fact the only thing better is to get out there youself and see Extreme actually play live.
22 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
A must have for any fan of Extreme! Recorded at the House Of Blues in Boston's Fenway area, this dvd / cd doesn't ever get boring. It's entertaining enough to watch repeatedly. The audio and video quality is excellent. I'd recommend this dvd to the casual Extreme fan as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2015
Extreme is one of the best bands in rock 'n' roll. Yes, they are; don't argue with me. Their music stands up through all these years, and they are just as energetic as they were 25 years ago. This DVD was a great souvenir from that tour. I saw them at a small club right after having cancer surgery earlier in the year. This Boston show happened right after I saw them in New Haven, CT. It captures everything I saw, and I'd watch this over and over in a heartbeat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2010
To find words for this DVD is a challenge, as mere words will never do it justice. A few, Awesome, spellbinding, crazy, wild, hot, incredible.
To break down:
Awesome - This band is totally mind-boggling live, the talent, energy and pure guts they just pour out, leave you breathless.
Spell-binding - Watching Nuno Bettencourt play live is an experience that I can't compare to anything else. He has the most amazing hands I have EVER seen...pure and simple, he is absolute magic.
Crazy - these guys get you so involved and intertwined in their music, u totally loose yourself..the word frenzy comes to mind.
Wild - see above.
Hot - one word will cover this..NUNO.
Incredible - Again, these guys give their souls in their music and in their live performance. Seeing them live for me, was like a huge musical orgasm...by giving all they have and then some, they just pull all you have and then some, out of you..an unforgettable exchange between musicians and the fans who love them. A live show with Extreme is an experience NOT to be missed by anyone who loves real music. Buy this DVD...trust me, it will blow you to the moon and back...a GREAT ride...don't miss it! And Next time Extreme plays at a town near you....if you want to have an experience to mark down in your Book of Life as unequalled...GO!!!!

Michelle
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2010
awesome production! AWESOME COMEBACK!! Other than a few snide comments from Nuno (to be expected ... complaining about the sound re: Pat)I give this DVD 25 stars if I could.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
No frills concert , just extreme a few lights the audience and great music perfectly performed by the band. I love how they made a great show with out all the BS special effect other bands use because lets face it the other bands suck with out them. Vary few bands can pull this off, ZZ Top is one and Bonamassa is another . The ridicules price people are asking isn't worth it but it is a great concert.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
Not a huge fan of this band's vocals/lyrics... but they are what they are.

If you like Extreme, or just Nuno's guitar playing, or just a DAMN good live show.

I recommend owning this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2010
Does a great job capturing one of the best live acts out there. I've read some interviews where the band was a little self-deprecating about this recording, essentially sounding like it's a case of finding some faults with your own performance when you go back and view the film. Which is understandable... But they're being hard on themselves. I've seen them on tours for Porno, III Sides, and Saudades, and they were great every time. If you ask me, they sounded better than ever on the most recent tour, and this DVD does a great job capturing that. Mixed by Bob St. John, who did work on a few of their other albums (III Sides, for example), it sounds great, too. My only qualm is that this wasn't filmed in HD. Hope the band continues to put out new music and gives us a concert film to go with the next tour as well. Big thumbs up.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2010
I've been an Extreme fan since the late 80s, and I've amassed quite a collection of bootleg videos and CDs of dozens of their live shows. I can say without a doubt that they've never sounded so much like a single unit as they do on this CD/DVD. I think they've finally found the right drummer for them, and it shows. Even Gary's voice sounded pitch perfect...different from some of their earlier live stuff. If you are an Extreme fan, then you've already bought this. If you're on the fence about this, I promise it's worth it just to watch Nuno's finger moving up and down the neck. The only thing I'd change is the inclusion of more stuff from Saudades de Rock. Only four songs..:(
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
If your a fan, or just looking to jump into Extreme music ,this is a great place to start,awesome video as well as audio! This video takes you into the crowd as a fan and see's the best Boston band around…Extreme delivers a solid performance!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.