Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 27, 2011
I am often asked to recommend a book to help new photographers learn how to do more than simply point, shoot, and hope for the best. The books I have seen so far are either so elementary that they are insulting or just advanced enough that a beginner can not understand them. "Take Your Best Shot" is the perfect book for those ready to take the next step. It is not a cookie cutter recipe for success in every instance, but it gives enough information to get the reader started on the right track, teaching you how to explore the skills needed for each activity. It is not for someone who has never picked up a camera before, but it will take the new photographer who is ready to move away from all-automatic everything to one who can learn how to control their camera for more consistent and predictable results.
0Comment21 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
As a experienced novice, I've found this book enjoyable and invaluable. The images are stunning and the advice clear and useful.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
I have been an avid photographer since the 70's. Over the years I have purchased and read hundreds of photography books and attended a multitude of photo workshops and seminars. No book is as good as this one for the price. Sure you can find books that will cover a specific subject in more detail but you can't find a better general photography book that covers so much material in an easy to understand manner with excellent photographic examples.

Don't think twice this book is well worth the money!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
I bought this book as a gift for my photo club to use for inspiration, hits and tips and ideas for future shoots. They loved it and a few have ordered a copy for home.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2014
Filled with great ideas, techniques and photos, add this to your library or give it to a budding photographer. Beginner to expert, you'll find good tips here.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2011
This book is beautifully printed with a lot of basic but useful and intersting information. I have no doubt that it can help me improve my photographic skills somewhat. It is not dry nor boring and is a pleasure to read. Best for a private bathroom library...:)
Well worth the dicounted price I paid on Amazon. Highly Recommended.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
It covers all the basics and enough advanced info to satisfy most peoples needs. It offers good savings on the normal shop recommended retail price
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Since this book was published by Popular Photography I was expecting more content. There is nothing new in this book that you don't find in other basic photography books. Instead I would strongly recommend you get the "Complete Photo Manual by Popular Photography" book which has more new photography tips and photo projects which is more value for your money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
Great book. It was fun to look at the pictures and read the articles accompanying the pictures but I was disappointed in it. I didn't learn very much from it. It doesn't give examples of f/stop(s) and shutter speeds and ISO in certain photography environments.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2011
This is a great book for helping to improve one's photographic skills and take them to a higher level. Easy to read and very well illustrated.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse