Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean cold lines of New England poems
These early poems of Frost ( 1916) already display his characteristically clear and cold lines, his fine delineations of Nature, his moral meanings. "Two roads diverged in a wood- and I / I took the one less traveled by/ and that has made all the difference.

Frost was a tremendously ambitious and hardworking poet, who some biographers have accused of...
Published on April 29, 2005 by Shalom Freedman

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No 'Stopping By the Woods on a Snowy Evening'
I was looking forward to reading 'Stopping By the Woods on a Snowy Evening', but came away disappointed. Of course, 'The Road Not Taken' is worth the price of admission regardless. It is chock-full - as chock-full as 53 pages can possibly be - of other Frost goodies.
Overall, a good book for the price and a great addition to your order, but for serious Frost devotees...
Published on December 16, 2002 by Chris Salzer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean cold lines of New England poems, April 29, 2005
This review is from: The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
These early poems of Frost ( 1916) already display his characteristically clear and cold lines, his fine delineations of Nature, his moral meanings. "Two roads diverged in a wood- and I / I took the one less traveled by/ and that has made all the difference.

Frost was a tremendously ambitious and hardworking poet, who some biographers have accused of sacrificing life and family to art. His poetry has a stark beauty about it, the beauty of the birches he devotes a major poem to.

This collection lacks many of his major poems , but nonetheless gives the feeling and flavor truly of a major American poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the price, October 5, 2001
By 
David E. Levine (Peekskill , NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This collection of Robert Frost poems is a clear 5 star for the low price. Dover consistently provides great literature at an extremely low price. Despite the great bargain, you may want to spend more and purchase a book of Frost's complete poerty. Although this book has a nice selection, some of his greatest poems are missing from this collection, notably "Mending Wall" and "Fire and Ice." Still, if you just want a few selected poems to carry you back to another era into a New England woods on a snowy evening you can't go wrong here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essence of a Moment � Poetry by Frost, August 9, 2002
This review is from: The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Frost, like no other poet, captures a moment that we all have experienced at one time in life. He paints a picture with such vivid strokes of literary imagery that the mind brings the reader back to a moment in time, almost feeling the sensations of past experiences.
For example, I recently made a decision where I was torn between family and career interests. To ease the anxiety of a lost professional opportunity, I reasoned that the chance would present itself again someday, maybe. Thinking of Frost I realized that he captured that very self-rationalization in the Road Not Taken. "Oh, I kept the first for another day! Yet knowing how way leads on to way, I doubted if I should ever come back."
As others have pointed out already, the largest drawback of the book is lack of thickness. Even though one of my all-time favorites, "Stopping By the Woods on a Snowy Evening," is not present, others like "An Old Man's Winter Night" make up for it. If you need a small book to stick in a backpack while hiking for moments of inspiration while on the trail, you could do worse than to carry along a little bit of Frost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best example of Robert Frost's poetry., May 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
My favorite is the title poem, "The Road Not Taken." I enjoyed this book and any poetry lover will as well. The reader will meditate and reflect on life as Frost did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lump in the throat..., April 16, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I recommend this book to all those who have wondered at the world in all it's forgotten glory and revelled in the faintest scent of flower and form that God has thrown into our hurried paths, who have stumbled through the woods deliriously yet, meditatively and choked on the overwhelming delicateness of silence that leads voices to whisper and tense jaws to slacken. Here in this volume of poetry you will find a companion whose reverence for life reverberates through verse after verse. This collection exemplifies Mr. Frost's idea that a poem should not be planned but should begin as "a lump in the throat."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No 'Stopping By the Woods on a Snowy Evening', December 16, 2002
By 
Chris Salzer (Gainesville, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I was looking forward to reading 'Stopping By the Woods on a Snowy Evening', but came away disappointed. Of course, 'The Road Not Taken' is worth the price of admission regardless. It is chock-full - as chock-full as 53 pages can possibly be - of other Frost goodies.
Overall, a good book for the price and a great addition to your order, but for serious Frost devotees I would suggest a more comprehensive collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rooted in New England, May 10, 2004
By 
Gary Sprandel (Frankfort, Kentucky) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
These poems seem firmly rooted in New England and seem to be timeless, though decidedly pre-modern feel to them (this was originally published in 1916). Some of these poems may seem familiar ... "The road not taken" is popular at high school graduations. There are poems of nature such as The Oven Bird ("There is a singer everyone has heard,/ Load, a mid-summer and mid-wood bird,") or "Birches ("and they seem not to break; though once they are bowed/ for low for long, they never right themselves") but with wider significance. There are also poems of rural isolation such as "The Hill Wife" and "Snow". His poetry plays by literary and poetic rules, and may not be simple to read, but he does not oversimplify life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best American Poet, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You know poetry is good when it doesn't constantly bring to your attention that you are reading poetry. Frost is just the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the real McCoy, April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I loved this collection. I am a composer and was messing around with several poems. Eventually I found out that the poems are not complete and there's no mention of this when you read. There are also errors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essentially a Reprint of Mountain Interval, April 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Classic Robert Frost - probably the preeminent American "modern" poet. This is a reprint of Mountain Interval in the original format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1c4b33c)

This product

The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions)
The Road Not Taken and Other Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) by Robert Frost (Paperback - April 19, 1993)
$2.50 $2.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.