Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gret way to unwind
Feel free to tell me that I'm using this CD in the wrong way - but I find it particularly good to come home from a tough day and relax with this in the background.
As well as being very easy to do, it is the sort of album where you don't really feel ashamed saying that you fell asleep to it. After all, in traditional ceremonies tablas were meant to inspire trances -...
Published on June 1, 2001 by 3rdeadly3rd

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sounds like one long song...
I love Tabla drumming, but to be honest, this CD is too repetitive. It all sounds like one long, never ending track. Maybe it would be good as background when you're not really paying attention. Nope, no it wouldn't, because you'd be noticing how one track blends into the other into the other into the other. It's just too repetitive. Like this review.
Published on September 22, 2011 by Lyn Pyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gret way to unwind, June 1, 2001
By 
3rdeadly3rd (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
Feel free to tell me that I'm using this CD in the wrong way - but I find it particularly good to come home from a tough day and relax with this in the background.
As well as being very easy to do, it is the sort of album where you don't really feel ashamed saying that you fell asleep to it. After all, in traditional ceremonies tablas were meant to inspire trances - and what is a sleep if not a big trance?
As far as the music here is concerned, it is great. The collective of tabla virtuosi (or Ustads - as far as I can work out) blend together almost seamlessly. I know that there are some tracks on which more than one performer is playing but I can't tell which ones these are without cheating on the liner notes. It is also very interesting to see the use of technology by each player.
This ranges from Talvin Singh's sampled voice saying "Don't Worry Dot Com" on the track of the same name, right through to the strange computerised reverb on "Audiomaze". Along the way we pass vague dub basslines (provided by producer de jour Bill Laswell) and various chants from what sound like whirling dervishes. While none of these uses of technology actually detract from anything (track or album) they do somewhat interrupt the continuity of the album - although this is a minor cosmetic problem.
Apart from this, the album flows beautifully, with each track having various intensity levels throughout which don't seem to change with any great deal of speed - again contributing to the trance factor.
Of particular note is the final performance "Alla". This is an 11 minute solo done without benefit of technology by one of the performers in memory of his late father - also a tabla master. The intricacy with which it is played and the surprising resurfacing of motifs make this a truly awe-inspiring piece of music. In my opinion, "Alla" alone justifies the purchase of the album.
In short, buy this album. As well as appreciating the cultural side of it and the Asian Underground side of it, also experience the sleep-inducing side of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ecstasy., September 10, 2002
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
This is a great CD. Although the music is fusion, percussions dominate. Completely. Tracks 2, 7 and 11 are just superb. The others are great. TBS proves there are no limits.
If you like "live at stern grove", you should like this one too. The difference is that this is a studio album and so the music has been mixed (well) in comparison to "live at stern grove" where you get to listen to the music as is. Also, this one is percussion-dominated.
The tabla sequences are long and amazing. Its a complete delight. Nothing less. Your will see your fingers tapping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tabla Beat is the Science!, September 18, 2000
By 
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
This CD is a MUST! Bill Laswell has done it again. He's rounded up the top Indian based percussionists together to create the best record yet of the whole "Indian Breakbeat" cuture. Zakir Hussain is regarded as one of, if not the best Tabla player or percusionists in the world. He's one of the creators of "East meets West" sound. Here he is featured as the main Scientist along side the other "Who's Who" of the Indian fusion scene; Talvin Singh: The Asian Underground Original, "Tablatronics" pioneer; Trilok Gurtu: another longtime Jazz/Fusion percussionist who's drum set style is totally unique and mind blowing; Karsh Kale: NYC's Tabla Breakbeak Kingpin and special guest Sultan Khan: who's one of the only masters of the Sarangi (a bowed instrument) as well as a beautiful vocalist too. These guys all shine together. Laswell with the help of Singh and Kale over see the production of this futuristic release, so think "Drum and Bhaya"(Bass). Exellent fingerwork and TAPistry woven in with exellent programming. If you liked Talvin's Anounka or OK records this is the next step right here. Think incredible rhythms and filtered Tablas. Organic vs. Electronic. All stand out tracks, but aspecially "Dont Worry", "Big Brother", "Audiomaze" and "Alla" a fitting tribute to Zakir's late father and teacher Alla Rakha, Who was the man who brought the Tabla to new heights and made it a household name with longtime partner Ravi Shankar. Buy this now! I need it on Vinyl too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tabla + Electronica = Awesome Album!!!, May 5, 2001
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
Wow, i was thoroughly impressed with this album. It's a combination of traditional Indian Tabla drumming with an electronic production value. Each track has sick beats and really cool effects and loops. The tabla drumming is excellent on every single track. There are also other really cool asian instruments (like the sitar, etc.), which only add to the greatness of the beats. Many of the tracks are fast paced jungle beats, and others are more down-tempo ambient beats. But they're all really PHAT! I love this cd for parties, or just for chilling out and relaxing. It is simply a great album. Bill Laswell has really thrown together a great collection of artists and songs, with equally great production on each track. Big thumbs up and Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good world music/electronica combination, January 12, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
I am usually not much of a fan of electronica/D&B, whatever it is called, but I listened to this in the store and kept listening, then decided I had to buy it. After listening to it a few times, I think the reason it is so listenable is that the tabla rhythms are not static and the electronica elements and backgrounds are incorporated very tastefully and usually subtly - the music does not grow tiring or repetitious. It comes across as sort of (dare I say) Peter Gabriel-esque, combining world music and modern production surroundings in a good way. The long songs seem to set one's mind adrift. It's excellently recorded too. This was a good find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And the Tabla thumped on!, September 18, 2000
By 
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
Zakir Hussein and Talvin Singh have given us the DnB crazy but tired of typical three layerd cheesy DnB loops a great album. This album is like a peanut butter and jelly sandwich! (For those who love the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches!) Music is the bread, electonica/techno/DnB is jelly and Indian Tabla the peanut butter. Listening to the album is like enjoying peanut butter sandwich with a cold glass of milk! Having disaapointed by Talvin Singhs recent offerings I was not much optimistic about this particular collaboration. However, I was rather pleasantly surprised right from the beginning of the first track (Secret Channel) till the very last track of the album. Surprisingly, I did not feel the urge of skipping a single track. This album can indeed be listened all the way through. No filler tracks what so ever. My current favorites are track #4 titled "Don't Worry.Com", a wicked mix of Tabla along the thumping DnB lines, and track #6 titled "Devotional" a nice mix of traditional Indian and the techno sounds. I was glad to have bought the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of my favorites..., May 7, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
I'd been a fan of Bill Laswell and Talvin Singh before, but this album introduced me to Tabla and the skill of Zakir Hussain. Years later, I own more classical tabla albums from Hussain and others, but I still come back to this one. I love it so much I started playing tabla this year.

Favorite tracks: "Palmistry" and "Alla."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hybrid We Need, December 18, 2000
By 
Dirk Hugo (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
Bill Laswell's collaboration with, amongst others, tabla vituosos Zakir Hussein, Trilok Gurtu and Talvin Singh is a winner. Besides the intense rhythmic energy generated by the players, Laswell has set about integrating the organic and synthetic elements in a truly innovative manner. This is more than just Indian musicians jamming over sequenced backing tracks, as tabla motifs appear to trigger synths by themselves, which respond with textured bleeps that add a new dimension to the rhythmic frenzy. Laswell's long and historic involvement in the development of dub, hip-hop, drum & bass and other electronic genres ensures that they are fused with the tabla playing in an exciting spirit of hybridisation, not in accordance with the market-friendly armchair-travel hell that is World Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, September 24, 2001
By 
Ian Hay (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
i caught these guys at a park in san francisco, in the summer... i'll probably always associate the sound of tabla with the scent of eucalyptus.
bill laswell and talvin singh's electronic-indian fusion music is helping bring tabla into the united states. the attempt to bring an old-world asian sound into the contemporary music scene works--and works very well. this is a simply beautiful recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max beats, October 3, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tala Matrix (Audio CD)
This disc is filled to the brim with super fast and ultra-precise table beats. Add in the sounds of Karsh Kale, Talvin Singh, and Bill Laswell himself and it adds up to one incredible album. If you are into the Asian Underground sound, then pick this one up. You will not be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tala Matrix
Tala Matrix by Tabla Beat Science (Audio CD - 2000)
Click for more info
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.