Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Guide for Freelancers
I've been a freelance designer for many years and have read many books and papers on the business-side of design. I have to say that Perkins' book is the most thorough, easiest-to-understand guide on the ins and outs of freelancing I've read to date. The book is a practical guide on how to meander through the process of running a design organization - whether you're a...
Published on July 27, 2006 by M. E. Lenhart

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time
Was waiting for it to become relevant and it didn't. It actually included suggestions like;

"If you're currently in a design degree program, you have access to your school's computer lab. Once you graduate, however, that access will end. Plan ahead by buying your own computer and printer and establishing you own internet access and e-mail account."...
Published 19 months ago by Mitchell Bellach


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Guide for Freelancers, July 27, 2006
I've been a freelance designer for many years and have read many books and papers on the business-side of design. I have to say that Perkins' book is the most thorough, easiest-to-understand guide on the ins and outs of freelancing I've read to date. The book is a practical guide on how to meander through the process of running a design organization - whether you're a one-person shop or a full-fledged agency. This book is a must-have for the serious design professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Creative professionals!, December 16, 2008
This book was the answer to all my freelance questions!

How to create a freelance rate, trademarking, fixed-fee proposals, business plans, and even terms and conditions?

If you are a creative professional you owe it to yourself to get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talent is Not Enough: Business Secrets for Designers, June 24, 2010
Talent is Not Enough: Business Secrets for Designers
Shel Perkins
ISBN-13 978-0-321-70202-9

It truly isn't enough to graduate from a design school anymore. Knowing for example how to navigate your business plan, devise a proposal, and understand the important legal aspects surrounding intellectual property are equally important in order to be successful in this highly-competitive industry. Shel's book bridges all aspects of the design career into one resource. It's a must-read for those starting out. The overview of what to expect and how to grow from a student intern through to owning your own design company (and building your physical space for maximum creative potential) is all here, taken in chronological order.

I found the sections focusing on design teams and hiring and working with a sales rep a refreshing read. Don't be daunted by the book's smaller-than-usual font size: it won't take long to dig in and get through the book from cover to cover.

Even if you're a seasoned professional, there will undoubtably be chapters in the book that will appeal to you. Some of the more in-depth challenges in running a firm are rarely brought up in design courses. I wish there was a book this comprehensive while I was in school.

Shel Perkins, former AIGA (American Institute of Graphic Designers) National Representative and honorary AIGA Fellow, has taught, consulted, managed, and written numerous books and workshops. He currently teaches at the California College of the Arts, the Academy of Art in San Francisco, and the University of California.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, for those interested in business side of design, June 13, 2009
Good book that goes into plenty of detail and explains why it's important to make these business moves, if you want to have a successful design business. These tips are even important to understand if you work for someone else's design business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talent Is Not Enough: Business Secrets For Designers (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Was waiting for it to become relevant and it didn't. It actually included suggestions like;

"If you're currently in a design degree program, you have access to your school's computer lab. Once you graduate, however, that access will end. Plan ahead by buying your own computer and printer and establishing you own internet access and e-mail account." (p.30)

-This second edition was published in 2010!!! I Ended up skimming all four hundred and thirty pages in two nights. Also very North American centric with it's advice and references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Title says it all, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talent Is Not Enough: Business Secrets For Designers (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Business nuts and bolts for practice. This looks like good advice for a student ready to graduate, and for a designer thinking about a change of venue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must Read for all recent graduates from art schools, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for my gallery assistant who is a recent graduate of an art school with some reputation. They were woefully ill prepared to be a professional making a living from their design talent.

I skimmed it and it seemed to be pretty basic but they were totally surprised with the material outlined and the contents. I still wonder how they could have gone into such serious debt over a degree and received no training in the profession itself. A good book for the business side of making a living as a creative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for design business owners..., September 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talent Is Not Enough: Business Secrets For Designers (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is the closest that I've seen to a proper design business bible. I've made use of other design business books, but none feel as comprehensive, modern and well laid-out as this one. I expect to be referencing it for the rest of my career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A big help!!!, May 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talent Is Not Enough: Business Secrets For Designers (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book gives great tips! Very detailed to what a freelance artist would need. Unfortunately, I can't practice everything the book says, but that's not the book's fault right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent~, January 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talent Is Not Enough: Business Secrets For Designers (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Item has came within a reasonable timely manner. The price I've paid for it was cheaper than the price it was in my school's bookstore, so I'm satisfied. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Talent Is Not Enough: Business Secrets For Designers (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter)
$44.99 $29.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.