Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny and uplifting history of the game of baseball
The short but full snippets of stories are wonderul! This is one of those books that you begin reading and wonder how you got through with it so fast! It is a book that can apply to all ages of fans.
Published on January 1, 1999

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better
Shannon's research is great, and his love of the sport comes through, but simply put the stories included aren't anything special. Anyone who has grown up listening to and loving our national pastime has certainly heard many stories much better than the ones here.
Shannon explains that his intent was not to repeat old anecdotes, but to write a book full of new ones...
Published on April 1, 2004 by Dave B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny and uplifting history of the game of baseball, January 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Tales from the Dugout (Hardcover)
The short but full snippets of stories are wonderul! This is one of those books that you begin reading and wonder how you got through with it so fast! It is a book that can apply to all ages of fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, May 15, 2000
By A Customer
I went to the bookstore looking for a good, humorous baseball book with all true stories. Guess what? I found the right book. Tales from the Dugout was a great book, there are tons of great short little stories that you could tell others about. One that is stuck in my head is the story about the fight between the Philly Phanatic and Tommy Lasorda, I thought that was pretty amusing. I think its a great book for 14 years and up, I plan on buying Tales from the Outfield, his second book anytime soon.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better, April 1, 2004
By 
Dave B. "boenn" (Boulder, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tales from the Dugout: The Greatest True Baseball Stories Ever Told (Audio Cassette)
Shannon's research is great, and his love of the sport comes through, but simply put the stories included aren't anything special. Anyone who has grown up listening to and loving our national pastime has certainly heard many stories much better than the ones here.
Shannon explains that his intent was not to repeat old anecdotes, but to write a book full of new ones. It's a noble goal, but unfortunately it results in a collection of mediocre and mostly uninteresting stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Slam! Amazing Book, January 8, 2006
Tales from the Dugout is a great book. The book has tons of great short stories about the game of baseball. Furthermore, the stories are about former and current players, managers, owners, fans, teams, announcers, and the list could go on. Additionally, the stories range from hilarious to respectful. This makes the book stay exciting throughout its entirety. The variety really adds a lot to the book.

I would really recommend this book if you are a baseball fan or just like a good reading. Tales from the Dugout uses such a great variety of well known people and not well known people. This quality makes sure that you are learning about new people and learning more about players you came to love years ago. Personally, I am devoted baseball fan and love anything about baseball. This book tops all the books I have about baseball. It is truly a great book.

The author, Mike Shannon, displays a great knowledge and understanding of baseball and writing. Shannon writes the stories in a way that pulls you in once you start reading. It is really amazing. When I was reading the book, it felt like I was talking to Shannon in person. Additionally, Shannon picked "The Greatest True Baseball Stories Ever Told." Every single story in Tales from the Dugout leaves with a great last word and makes you want to see what how the next short story will end up.

If you love the game of baseball and like reading about baseball, this book is perfect for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Baseball book delivers as promised, April 9, 2000
By 
When I picked this book up in the bookstore, I was looking for some light reading and humorous anecdotes from the world of baseball, and that's what it looked like this book would be. Guess what? It is. Perfect to read between innings, before bed, or on the ceramic throne. Had a lot of fun reading the stories aloud to my honey, who is also a baseball fan. If you want something grittier or more in-depth, read the classic "Ball Four" by Jim Bouton. If you just want to enjoy yourself, or give a fun gift to a baseball fan, this is great.
P.S. Go Yanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite entertaining, August 16, 2002
By 
This is a kind of book that you would love to take with you for a short trip to the bathroom. Really, I do not mean to be insulting, but the truth is that each story is so short but crisp, and often pretty funny that it makes perfect light reading.
I especially like that Shannon tells stories of not only superstars, but also of players with true character. But I think the title is a bid overblown. Read a story about your favorite player and see if you like the rest. I enjoyed reading the stories for players that I do not even know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, December 3, 2007
Not terribly well written, this is a compilation of baseball anecdotes. Few of them were new to me, and most were verbosely expounded upon. This does a disservice to many of the stories which would be best as shorter, pithier anecdotes. Also, there is nothing to separate the good, funny stories from the mild happenstances that are stretched for a page or two without anything more to gain. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Dula is Wrong!, March 6, 2004
By A Customer
Corey Shneck, although he needs to learn how to spell, is right, MD. "Tales from the Dugout" is a great book and you're obviously not a baseball fan. So quit giving people interested in this book BS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, But Nothing Revolutionary, March 21, 2004
By 
This review is from: Tales from the Dugout (Hardcover)
The easiest way to write a book is to have other people tell the story while you write it down and take credit. This is not meant to discredit the author, Mike Shannon. However, as a lifelong baseball fan, I already heard many of these stories. In many cases, I enjoyed reading these stories from the original source or a witness. Additionally, many of the stories chosen for the book are just not interesting.
If you like the Yankees, you will like the book. There are plenty of Yankee stories in here. If you hate the Yankees, this will make this a less than pleasurable read. I particulary enjoyed reading the Marge Schott stories. The exploits of the late Reds owner are always good for a laugh. Many of the stories seem to be about miserly owners. I particularly enjoyed reading about Bobby Thigpen's attempts at using poetry to get a raise. While many of the stories are informative, they aren't very entertaining. I was hoping to read more "inside the game stories."
To the casual fan or even big baseball fans, many of these stories are old news. I believe that this book is more geared toward younger readers who are learning about the game. This is probably a book most baseball fans can live without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Through the Eyes of Baseball Personalities, June 11, 2014
No! This story is not about baseball chatter in the dugout. I often wonder what all those baseball players that are keeping the bench warm during a game are thinking and talking about. It might be a lot of senseless jargon. Who knows?
Instead, Mike Shannon, the author, does an excellent job sharing ideas about a memorable collection of baseball anecdotes. In this insightful book baseball fanatics can learn about baseball personalities like Roger Maris, Ken Griffey, jr., and Pete Rose, to mention only a few.
Baseball is my favorite sport. I can eat, drink, and sleep all day about baseball. So naturally, Tales From The Dugout...perks my interest. I like to read about this great American sport through the eyes of those who have provided all the play-by-play action, and I give it five stars. Marvin P. Ferguson, author of THE UNKNOWN BASEBALL PLAYER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tales from the Dugout: The Greatest True Baseball Stories Ever Told
Tales from the Dugout: The Greatest True Baseball Stories Ever Told by Mike Shannon (Audio Cassette - August 1, 1999)
Used & New from: $6.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.