Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Fans of the Original, Otherwise...
Pros:

+Good looking game
+Fun battle system
+Returning characters who do more than simply make an appearance
+For the most part, good voice acting

Cons:

-Battling can be a button mashing affair
-A slow story to start
-Too linear
-If you haven't played the first game the plot becomes harder to understand...
Published on November 11, 2008 by S. Rhodes

versus
14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 out of 5
Lets start with the pros:
1. Good graphics. Improve greatly but still kept the original form from its predecessor so fans of the original Tales will be delighted.
2. New concept. Introduction of befriending monsters! (That's right! The very monster you kill you can now befriend and have them join you and level them up like Pokemon!)
3. Very good voice...
Published on January 1, 2009 by Panda


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Fans of the Original, Otherwise..., November 11, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
Pros:

+Good looking game
+Fun battle system
+Returning characters who do more than simply make an appearance
+For the most part, good voice acting

Cons:

-Battling can be a button mashing affair
-A slow story to start
-Too linear
-If you haven't played the first game the plot becomes harder to understand throughout and it is just harder to appreciate

When Tales of Symphonia debuted on the Gamecube, it became an unprecedented cult classic. Since then there have been several Tales games to come about, but none have hit the spark Tales of Symphonia did on the Gamecube. Fans of Tales of Symphonia will probably come to Dawn of the New World with open arms. Newcomers, however, might do best to play the original first.

Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World takes place two years after the original. The story itself can seem a bit complicated at times. Mostly because there are a lot of things thrown in from the first game. In terms of being a sequel it's not bad in the sense that it brings in familiar faces who do more than just present a cameo, and that it also has you revisiting areas, but it also refers to the first game many times down the road. Needless to say, if you haven't played the first Tales of Symphonia, some of the story just might not click right away and you might even find some of it to be a mess. The original game had a lot to swallow and much of it you'll be expected to remember. It also doesn't help that the story isn't all that well paced. It takes a while for it to jump into things. Tales has never been great about jumping into the story, but for some reason it's a bigger problem with Dawn of the New World.

On the other hand, the characters in and of themselves are interesting. You'll learn a lot about them, and familiar faces returning also helps matters along. There are also skits that are optional side conversations that add to the story and characters. It's easy to like the characters, and it's nice that skits are voiced this time around, unlike the original Gamecube title.

Also like many Tales games, get ready for a lot of conversation and exposition. There's some good humor within the game and most of the dialog isn't bad at all. The voice acting is strong, for the most part, but there are some areas where it's laughable.

One of the bigger differences between Dawn of the New World and the original Gamecube title actually comes from the fact that the world map completely restricts exploring. It's now a point and click mechanic. On one hand, considering the amount of running around you'll be doing, it's nice to have that quick and easy access. On the other hand, part of the fun of an RPG is exploring. The new world map system makes the game much more linear than it really has to be.

When you're exploring dungeons, however, the game can be exciting. Mainly because Dawn of the New World doesn't get rid of the battle system the Tales series is known for. Once in battle, Tales plays similar to an action RPG where you can run up to enemies and start clobbering away. You've also got special attacks called Artes you can use provided you have the right amount of TP. There are times when the game can become a button mashing fest, but there are times when some genuine strategy is needed. Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World isn't exactly an easy game. When you're not controlling the other characters they are controlled by AI that, for the most part, does a good job. Luckily you can issue commands and customize things if they aren't to your liking.

Dawn of the New World isn't a bad looking game by any means. It ditches the cell shaded look for something a bit more realistic. It doesn't look quite as artsy as the first game did as a result, but it's not terrible by any means. You'll also visit a lot of locations from the very first game that look almost exactly the same. The same could be said of the music. There are a couple returning tracks that are remixed but there's some new stuff as well. Tales of Symphonia didn't exactly have memorable music to begin and Dawn of the New World isn't different in that regard either. It's not bad music, you just won't find yourself remembering any of it.

Unfortunately, Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World doesn't exactly have a massive appeal. This is a game meant for those who enjoyed their romp through the Gamecube original. If you've never played the original game, it might be a little harder to get a grasp on everything that's mentioned throughout the plot. It's perfectly accessible to newcomers and they'll probably like it if JRPGs are their thing, but its hard to deny that the game is more appealing if you were a big fan of the first one to begin with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, January 25, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
This game is perfect if you are a fan of the first game. The first was better of course, but I still enjoyed this one immensely. I have spent a lot of time playing it with my brother and we both love it. I haven't finished the game yet, but my brother has on his file. So, here I'll go into details about the plot and game play. Then I'll go into some differences from the original.

PLOT:
This game takes place after the original ended. The world is a new place, Tethe'allans and Sylvrantis are now living together in one world. But it's not quite peaceful. Half-elves are hated and feared still and the Tethe'allans look down on the less advanced Sylvrantis.
It follows the story of a Sylvranti boy named Emil. He and Marta join up and go on an adventure to find and hatch the centurion's cores in order to bring balance to the world. Centurions are like the protectors/ stabilizers of the world's mana. You'll learn more about them in the game.
And that's the basic plot, without giving anything away, at least, nothing you don't find out in the first couple minutes of the game anyway.

GAME PLAY:
In some respects it is very similar to the original. In stead of calling moves "techs" though, they are now referred to as "artes." There are the 4 A-moves, and the 4 B-moves. However there are now 8 C-moves. 4 with the control pad on the wii-remote, and 4 that can be used by shaking either the remote or the numchuck.
Sadly, first player can only play as Emil or Marta, but it is possible to switch players during a battle. And only Emil or Marta can be the one shown walking around.
Also, 2nd player can no longer control anything except for during fights.
The characters from the old game come back and some join your team. Usually no more than 2 or 3 at a time. Regal and Sheena are with you for a long time. As I said, you cannot control them as 1st player, but 2nd player can be them and first player can switch to them during a battle. Another down side is that they don't level up from experience. They gain levels and moves as the game progresses and different bosses are beat. But it's still fun to play as your favorite character from the old game! And they are a big help.
You might have noticed that there are not always four humans on your team. In order to fix that problem and give everyone 4 fighters, the makers decided to add "monsters" to your team. Emil can bond with certain monsters that can then fight for you. They cannot be human controlled at all, not even by 2nd player, but are a major asset to your team. Everyone has a special ability that may or may not work. For example, a wolf on my team may or may not automatically revive someone who died. This doesn't happen regularly, but as a healer, it's a big help when it does. Others heal without using a spell. Again, this doesn't mean you won't die, only that you are less likely too die as easily.
To use the sorcerers ring, you have to aim with the wii remote.
You still collect grade and can use it at the end of the game to buy "cheats" for the next game.

DIFFERENCES:
-You jump from place to place; no more flying on reiards. This makes it more linear than necessary, but it's possible to go to more places than just where you have to go next. For example, you can go to Meltokio instead of the earth temple.
-You no longer cook for your teammates. Instead you cook for your monsters by talking to cats to get them to like you/level up. Though recipes are harder to find and I don't think there are as many.
-Your healer (Marta) is also a good fighter.
-Every character (even the old ones) have a special they can use by pressing c and doing a certain move. It's similar to a group attack and often just as damaging. They vary from player to player. For example, Emil's will basically kill one enemy, but may not so much as harms the others. Marta's heals the other players while hurting the enemy, though not doing as much damage as some of the others. I believe it was Zelos's that killed nearly everything in range.
-All the silent side conversations are now voiced making them much more enjoyable to watch. Many of them are hilarious.
-Voice actors were changed, but I was surprised how quickly I got used to them

I hope that was helpful and not too verbose. I wanted to leave a good review with a lot of detail my brother and I were curious about when I bought it. It's a great game and I encourage anyone who liked the first to also try this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan Service?, November 13, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
Although for the most part i agree that this is for those who enjoyed the original, i would disagree that it did its part for fan service. All of the original cast make a long, playable appearance, but Namco decided not to get back most of the original voice cast. Heather Hogan, Collette, remains, but other than that, there's almost no one. These voice actors became more to us than voices; They became the characters themselves. Without these, the characters take some getting used to. Other than that, the game is pretty fun. The point and click map makes exploring impossible, which is a downer, but the nostalgic feeling of many of the cities is amazing. The game could have been much more, and with all the delays on the release date, it should have been. It turns out to be a good but not exceptional rpg for the wii, but the small elements missing culminate into a large empty hole that Namco had a hard time filling, even with all the great character development of their new characters. But, what can you expect? This is a spinoff, not a sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, November 24, 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
I just recently received this game a couple of days ago. I really love the Tales of series the most. Using the Wii remote for it isn't that hard, but my hands get a little tired from holding it for so long.
Anyway, I should talk about the gameplay. You probably already know about the basic plot of the game but nothing of the gameplay or what a person who has played it thinks. I love the plot, even if it is sad to see Emil hating Llyod so much and he will say that constantly to others when he tries to go find him, at least until he meets Raine and realizes why the people of Iselia defend him so ardently. Despite this, I find the conversations funny and entertaining.
What I find disappointing is that it no longer lets you have the characters cook for each other like in previous Tales of games. You also have a system where you can travel quickly to other towns which is a plus to be sure, but sadly you have little to no opportunities to level up and bosses could crush you alive. You have to go to a heavily populated monster area to level up on your own.
I loved the first Tales of Symphonia. And this game has a really interesting plot!
Since I've finished it, I feel that it ended much too quickly and it didn't have that many subplots to suit me. Tales of games are filled with those diverting subplots and I felt disappointed that they took out most of them. And you can't change much about the previous Tales of Symponia characters, only the current ones. Overall, it does have a good plotline and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 out of 5, January 1, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
Lets start with the pros:
1. Good graphics. Improve greatly but still kept the original form from its predecessor so fans of the original Tales will be delighted.
2. New concept. Introduction of befriending monsters! (That's right! The very monster you kill you can now befriend and have them join you and level them up like Pokemon!)
3. Very good voice acting. Usually when you get these japanime (is what I like to call them) based game and you have the dubbed American version, voice acting is terrible. However, this game really hit it on the spot with the voice acting. Awesome job (way better than the predecessor).
4. Interesting plot line. It kept me interested though I have to say these japanime games really need to drop the cliche of memory problems/split personality issues. Really why does every hero has to have a problem with their memory?
5. How you run into monsters actually affects the start of the battle! Yes it does! If you run into them from behind, you start the battle with them being dazed and vice versa.
6. Those mini scenes now have sounds! You can actually hear them speak. And BTW I found many of them hilarious (kept me laughing and entertained).

Now the bad:
1. Not much has change besides the new concept of befriending monsters. Same old hack and slash, building up combos, ect. ect. One thing I dislike about this is the lack of skills they offer. Much less than what the original had.
2. You can only use 2 main people. Yes the game previews are misleading! While old Tales of Symphonia heroes do reappear again and do join your party, you cannot control them. You can only essentially control the two main protagonist of this series. (You can't control the monster that you befriend either).
3. AI is really stupid. Unlike the prequel the sequel setup for AI strategy is really bad in the sense that there is barely anything at all. Most of your option are "Attack Freely", "Block Magic", "Frontiness" and other of the sort. You tactics are really limited to the option that they give you. (So don't expect AI to do all of the work. Oh and I also love how when you're hp is low all the AI starts to heal you instead of just one...).
4. Corniness. O-M-G some parts are really corny. "I realize now your kindness is not really a weakness." "I will always love you forever." ect. ect. If your into that mushy stuff then I guess it won't bother you that much but it bothers me a lot.
5. Marta is extremely annoying sometimes (this is just my personal opinion though).
6. Short. Even with doing sidequests and other things I finished the game in under 25 hours (pretty short for an RPG imo).
7. I wish they had like help journal in the menu because honestly a lot of the concepts were confusing for me so a help option would be really nice idea in the menu.
8. Where are the other Centurions? I mean the prequel actually shows you all the summon spirits but in this game you only get to see two out of 8 centurions...? Did they just get lazy and didn't want to design the other 6?

Neutral stuff that could be good or bad depending on you:
1. As I mentioned, though new concept are introduce most of the battle still hasn't change from the prequel. This means same stuff you've been doing in the last game. Whether this is good or bad depends on you really.
2. While skills were limited in the sense of you can't use between S or T in this version it makes things more simple. (You don't have to be worried about all the skills you'll miss if you choose S instead of T, and likewise). Again, good or bad depends really on you.
3. You no longer have the option of exploring the map. Initially key places appears on the map and you have to select them. You can't walk around the world map like you did in the prequel. This means game time and exploration cuts down dramatically. And also the tediousness of walking around only to find a dead end on a map...
4. Stay loyal to its predecessor. Not much has change. However, you really need to play Tales of Symphonia before playing Dawn of the New World to truly appreciate all the game has to offer (there are more references back to the prequel). But maybe too loyal. I want a little bit of uniqueness too you know?
5. Dungeons are short and easy to solve. Which makes the game easier to play. (Though I haven't tried this on hard mode yet so it may take longer... but that just means stronger monster).

My overall view of this game:
Basically, IMO this game was put together as a fan service for all those who were madly in love with Tales of Symphonia. People who haven't played the original will probably not enjoy this game as much as I can. The plot was stable but I found it... rushed in a sense. The game was cut really short as well. I found myself really disappointed though in the fact that I couldn't control my other heroes (that was a huge bomb shell for me). Though I was mostly impress with the voice acting (definitely hire these voice actors again). So my recommendation is, if you liked the prequel you'll probably like the sequel. If you didn't like it then I suggest not buying it since you'll probably won't like this as well. But hey not bad for a game that only cost 40 instead of the 50 right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was average, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
It isn't one of my favorite games, but I do play it every once in a while. I would probably recommend other games before this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She loves it, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
I got this for my girlfriend and she absolutely loves it. She remembers playing the first one on gamecube so she wanted to try this one since she never did. I'm sure if she was on here she would tell you to buy it lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent game, February 19, 2014
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
while browsing the Wii RPG games, I came across this in the links, so I thought I'd reveiw, this is by far my favorite game for the Wii as it was pretty involved and had enough going on in it to not feel ripped off like those games that aim at keeping people occupied over actually entertained. the battle system was awesome as well as the plot and how it actually made you think as to whether some characters were good, evil, or not all good, but not all bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to the story, but not without its flaws, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
If you have played any of the Tales of games or the Previous Tales of Symphonia Game for the Gamecube, then you will be right at home with this game. It continues after the events of the first game and have reoccurring characters as well as many new characters. The story is a great addition to the story and has many familiar elements from the previous game. Overall its a great game but because its on the Wii it sadly comes with its few flaws.

The controls are a little strange at first, but it is easy to get used to ( in my opinion at least) The voice acting is, ok. You will recognize some famous voices from varied anime but the characters compared to the previous installment, in my opinion, are not the best to what they could have been.

Overall this is a game you will want to play if your a fan of the Tales of games or even if you have just played the First symphonia game. I would always recommend this game to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Game Makes A Great Addition to the "Tales of..." Series., December 12, 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (Video Game)
Correct me if I'm wrong but, I believe that Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World is the only "Tales of..." game that's a direct sequel to another. Surprisingly, they were able to pull off a great game from what one would think is the end. This game doesn't fail to bring about great plot twists and funny dialogue. The voice-acting and dialogue has improved since Tales of Symphonia for the Game Cube and PS2. No more cheesy lines and annoying voices that make you want to rip your ears out. Although, the game does make a lot of references to the first Tales of Symphonia. If you haven't played Tales of Symphonia for the Game Cube or PS2, you may be lost at some points when the characters talk about things like "journey of world regeneration" and the like. I'd suggest you play the first before you play Dawn of The New World. Overall, this game is amazing and once you get past the unnecessarily long "how to battle/play" sections in the beginning, you'll find it hard to stop playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tales Of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
$29.99 $21.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.