Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars42
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Tales of Wells Fargo is an American Western television series that ran from March 18, 1957 to June 2, 1962 on NBC --- Set in the mid-1800s, the series starred Dale Robertson as special agent Jim Hardie, noted at the time as "the left-handed gun". The concept of the Wells Fargo series, a company troubleshooter in the American West --- Produced by Revue Productions, the series aired in a half-hour format until its final season when it expanded to an hour --- For its first two years, the show was also in the top ten Nielsen Ratings. During the 1957-58 season, it was ranked No. 3. --- Check out 46 Classic Episodes on 6 DVD Discs with some of the best character actors in the business.

Dale Robertson, the actor who made his name in television Westerns in the 1950s and '60s, was born on July 14, 1923, in Harrah, Oklahoma. After serving in a tank crew and in the combat engineers in North Africa and Europe during World War II, the twice-wounded Robertson started his acting career while still on active duty in the U.S. Army. While stationed at San Luis Obispo, California, had a photograph taken for his mother. A copy of the photo displayed in the photo shop window attracted movie scouts, and the six foot tall, 180-lb. Roberson soon was on his way to Hollywood. Will Rogers Jr., whose father is the most famous son of Oklahoma, told him to avoid formal training and keep his own persona

"Don't ever take a dramatic lesson," Rogers told him. "They will try to put your voice in a dinner jacket, and people like their hominy and grits in everyday clothes." Robertson took his advice and avoided acting classes.

Robertson was typecast in Western movies and TV shows when the genre was still America's favorite. He headlined two TV series, "Tales of Wells Fargo" (1957), in which he played the roving trouble-shooter Jim Hardie, and "The Iron Horse" (1966), in which he won a railway in a poker game. He also served as one of the hosts, along with Ronald Reagan, of the syndicated series "Death Valley Days" (1952) during the 1960s. Robertson later appeared in the inaugural season of "Dynasty" (1981).

Inducted into the Hall of Great Western Performers of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in 1983 --- Robertson is a recipient of the Golden Boot Award in 1985 --- He is retired on a ranch near Oklahoma City, not far from his birthplace of Harrah. (imd.com)

SPECIAL FEATURES:
1. An interview with Dale Robertson

BIOS:
Dale Robertson (aka: Dayle Lymoine Robertson)
Date of Birth: 14 July 1923 - Harrah, Oklahoma
Date of Death: Still Living

Great job by Timeless Media Group and their staff --- Enjoy the best of the first five seasons of 46 classic episodes on six dvd discs --- Hats off and thanks to Les Adams (collector/guideslines for character identification), Chuck Anderson (Webmaster: The Old Corral/B-Westerns.Com), Boyd Magers (Western Clippings), Buck Rainey (The Life & Films of Buck Jones), Bobby J. Copeland (author of "Trail Talk"), Rhonda Lemons (Empire Publishing Inc) and Bob Nareau (author of "The Real Bob Steele") as they have rekindled my interest once again for B-Westerns and Serials --- If you're into the memories of B-Westerns with high drama, this is the one you've been anxiously waiting for --- please stand up and take a bow for film and TV Western Classics --- all my heroes have been cowboys!

Total Time: 1150 mins on DVD ~ Timeless Media Group 61015 ~ (07/14/2009)
22 comments|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2009
Many of the series that we grew up with as a child have an appeal to see again as an adult. Unfortunately some memories prove to be better than actually seeing the show again. I am pleased to say that this is not the case with Tales of Wells Fargo. Dales acting and the stories tend to be as good as we recall them. Timeless Media group has done a good job of restoring this classic western. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2009
Normally I wait for a few reviews before I buy, but could not wait so I bought this set (I'm not sure the store should have had them out yet). Great prints this time, as good as Restless Gun. Stories are typical westerns and not as mature as Restless Gun. The quality of prints making these very enjoyable to watch. I think one of the best of this age out there. A release this old unfortunately has not the demand to put out a season by season. Being this is about a fourth of the shows a complete series would be about $240. I am a fan of these westerns of the 50's and 60's. The "best of" works great for me as long as there is a least 40 shows. But I would have liked to have all of the Restless Gun shows. Riverboat, 6 would have been enough. I'm glad for these releases from Timeless. Beware of any early color, as Laramie is only so-so.
22 comments|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2009
WE NEED TO HAVE ALL THE SEASONS COMPLETE AND NOT THE BEST OF. THE SECOND CD IN THIS PACKAGE HAS NOISE DISTORTION THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE CD. IT SOUNDS LIKE THE PROJECTOR THAT YOU SEE AND HEAR AT THE BEGINING OF EACH DISC. SOME HOW, THEY KEPT THAT SOUND RUNNING WHEN THEY COPIED THE SHOWS.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2009
At last, the half hour episodes of "Tales of Wells Fargo" on DVD. I was really pleased with this box set. The episodes have been remastered in sharp, pristine black and white and comes in attractive packaging with the six discs in seperate compartments (not stacked on top of each other!)This was a superior western, action in every episode, good stories and Dale Robertson's narration often giving interesting historical facts. Jim Hardie (the fastest left handed gun in the west)is a tough character, but also displays humour and compassion. Dale Robertson was well cast and actually sounds like a genuine cowboy. The one thing that puzzles me is the theme music. All these episodes contain the earlier theme, so when was the theme composed by Stanley Wilson and Mort Green introduced to the series? Also was the song version by the Prairie Chiefs ever used in the series? If someone can help with the theme music query please?? Otherwise, "Tales of Wells Fargo" is well worth purchasing. You will not be disapointed.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2010
I recently purchased the "Tales of Wells Fargo" dvds, the entire show history from the sixties, starring Dale Robertson. Dale Robertson is one of the few Western stars of the era who could actually sit a horse. I loved watching the shows, then and now, to enjoy seeing him on a horse, and moving around horses, becuase it is clear he actually knows something about horses and how to handle them.

One thing I noticed about the series in re-watching it 40 years after the fact, is that the scripts are interjected with morals, and little anecdotes about how truth and justice win out. Even the outlaws were acknowledged for their bonds of keeping their word when it counted. It was interesting to see these shows again, in view of how different television is today.

Dale Robertson is still an all-around good guy in my book. He had great looks and sex appeal, as well as a nice narrating voice, all of which I enjoy just as much today as when the shows were new.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2009
Have now received the new Timeless Video release of 46 episodes from the classic TV Western, "Tales Of Wells Fargo". I am absolutely delighted with this set! This was a personal favourite from when it first appeared on UK TV in 1957 and I have waited a long time to have all these early (the 30-minute) episodes in perfect prints. Thanks to Timeless for making these available at last. Wholeheartedly recommended to fellow Fargo fans and, come to that, any fan of all those classic TV westerns.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
I give this set 5 stars as a stand alone. HOWEVER, if you own Tales of Wells Fargo Seasons 1-2 on DVD and Tales of Wells Fargo - Best of Color Season on DVD, then you own all but 6 of the episodes in THIS set.

So, buy this set as a stand alone product but DO NOT buy it if you already own the other 2 sets. You will be throwing away your money for just a few episodes. All the others are DUPLICATE EPISODES!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2011
I received the "Tales of Wells Fargo" set recently and was overjoyed at the picture and sound quality of each episode. Easily the best overall quality of any Timeless Media boxed set I've yet seen! Since it was obvious that they got them from studio originals, can the second season of "Laramie" be far behind? I hope not, as the first season was looking pretty good, though not quite as sharp as "Wells Fargo"
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2011
Please can we have full seasons of this beautiful little western. this collection has only wetted my appetite for collecting more. The warmth Dale manages to bring to the role is wonderful. A forgotten cowboy? not anymore.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.