Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms. Kelly Ms. Kelly
one word for this cd is Oh my God....excellent Kelly really stepped her game up on this cd this to me is her best cd yet...not one bad song on the cd....the whole cd is mellow and very soulful....good job Ms. Rowland
Published 14 months ago by Anthony Richards

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to love it, but . . .
So far, the songs I like I could hear on the radio EVERY day. Nothing too special for me. But i love Kelly's voice so I will contiue to support her.
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms. Kelly Ms. Kelly, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
one word for this cd is Oh my God....excellent Kelly really stepped her game up on this cd this to me is her best cd yet...not one bad song on the cd....the whole cd is mellow and very soulful....good job Ms. Rowland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, June 18, 2013
This review is from: Talk a Good Game (Audio CD)
Beautifully-penned lyrics, masterful production, and amazing vocals. Broadly themed around sensuality, sexuality, and raw emotions, it is Kelly's most personal and artistically important work to date. This should be a major contender for best R&B album at the Grammy's. Some noteworthy songs from the album are: Gone, You Changed, Kisses Down Low and Freak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, June 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kelly has really come into her own with this album. I liked it the day I got it, by the end of the week I was in love with it!

Freak is the opener, upbeat and oozing with sexuality, dare you ask what has Ms Kelly gotten herself into? Begging to be your freak she invites you to come in and play as she sets the stage for Kisses Down Low.

Kisses Down Low the instant radio hit produced by Mike Will, is a satisfying teaser, but surprisingly it is truly just a taste of what the album has to offer.

Gone gives the classic Joni Mitchell song a 2013 face-lift, enlisting the help of rapper Wiz Khalifa this song gets your fingers snapping out the gate, but oh does it bang when the chorus comes in. All of sudden leaving someone never sounded so good, don't let this song slip through your fingers : )

Talk a Good Game is my favorite (non-sexual) song, had to specify. Kelly gets clever with this song as she walks you through the complex inner workings and scenarios of the dating game. The beat knocks, urging your body to rock with it, as Kelly preaches the do's and don'ts. Kevin Cossom walks you down the aisle and lays down the law, are you all in yet?

Down on Love is so much more than the breakup song. Disappointment, wears on the heart and you can find yourself looking for something to give you that hope for a better love. This song is hoping against all odds that love will overcome, and prove to be something more than it seems.

Dirty Laundry goes behind the scenes and dishes the real deal on Kelly's life post Survivor tour. Raw confessions, emotional confessions, angry confessions, a depth and honesty that most artists will never reach, because they could never even be that real with themselves let alone the whole world. All respect to Ms Rowland.

You Changed features former group members Beyonce and Michelle, each taking turns giving the sad news that growth doesn't just happen to one person at a time, and while he may have changed, so has she. This battle of the voices is clearly all in the family, but it was nice to hear them all together.

I Remember looks back on a love that simply failed to get the attention it needed and fell by the wayside. Like a flower that needs water and sunlight, this relationship was left to wilt unattended. Looking back at the good times is both bitter and sweet.

Red Wine flows soft and sensuously across your lips, inviting you to take a chance on a new love. Confiding, and trusting this song lets go of all inhibitions and says lets just do it and enjoy every minute, no worries . . .

This is Love and she wants everyone to know it, now would be a good time to exhale. So much of our time is spent longing for the moment when you know beyond a shadow of a doubt that you're in love. And for anyone who has never reached that point, this is what it sounds like when love cries. While this song did take me the longest to get into, I can only say it's probably because I'm not in love.

Street Life is a hard hitting club banger, Pusha-T makes an appearance to up the swag, as Kelly gives you the facts of life. Telling stories of the ghetto and the constant hood paper chase mentality, where the things that are worth having are always out of reach.

Stand in Front of Me is a bit sing songy and reminiscent of a 50's doo wop lullaby. Kelly goes back and forth sharing loves little affections as her man enjoys the view. How do you keep your man? Let him have a good long look at all that he has to lose.

Sky Walker puts her man on a mental high, as she shows why she's the one. No fronting Ms Kelly talks more than a good game, letting you know just how good you can have it. No matter what you thought you knew The Dream lays down a no nonsense beat
that simply says you better get on and ride this thang.

Put Your Name On It is my absolute favorite, telling her man that it's all for him. She makes sure there are no questions, his loving is all that she needs. The beat makes your hips rock encouraging you to bump and grind along with the song as Kelly makes love on the track.

#1 makes the declaration that she's not willing to stand for being in anything less than the #1 spot. Sharing is not an option, yes she loves you, but if she can't be your one and only then it just won't do. And on that note she's out.

- A fully comprehensive piece of work, this album takes you on a journey. From the highs to the lows, old love and new, the story is a never ending circle and is best enjoyed on repeat ; )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!!!, June 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been waiting for this CD for a while. It is great! Kelly has definitely grown as an artist. I haven't skipped a track yet. Favorites so far are...Gone, #1, Down on Love, This is Love, Street Life, Sky Walker. Good job Kelly :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Best!, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would say this is her best! I liked Kelly before but wasn't a number one fan but she sold me on this one. It's mature, has great songs you can rock and smooth ones too. She definitely put her stamp on this one. She has great tone on this album. Whoever produced this record deserves an award. You must get the Deluxe Edition...don't get the regular one because you will be sorry...spend the extra dollars. The deluxe has additional songs that you are going to want to have! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knocked it out the park!!!, June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I absolutely love this cd. Kelly really "did her thang" on this one. My favorite is definitely Street Life! Love that beat. This is a great cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woww!, June 23, 2013
Way to go Kelly! That's my girl right here. This album is hot and she gets honest. It's alot different then her other albums but in a very good way. Her stuff just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Job Kelly !!!, June 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always been a fan of Kelly Rowland and i must say she has finally brought her A+ game to her solo work. From the production quality, to lyrical content, and finally to her stellar vocals this album is a home run. Anyone that is a fan of R&B music will and should love this album. i give it an A++, Great Job Kelly!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Could Talk for Days and I'd Still Be Listening, June 19, 2013
It's hard to believe it's been over a decade since Ms. Kelly sought out on her own, launching a solo career that has had many ups and downs both critically, and commercially. Her biggest hit that comes to mind prior to 2011's Here I Am (Deluxe Version) [+Digital Booklet]Here I Am, a stellar production in it's own right, is a song that wasn't even truly a Kelly song, it was David Guetta's "When Love Takes Over" back in 2009. The song sent Kelly to new highs abroad, while Stateside, she was had struggled nearly 7 years to truly crack the top 10 on her own, sans her memorable duet "Dilemma" with Nelly.

Fast forward to 2011, the year Kelly hit big with "Motivation". Launching herself back into the public eye, Here I Am was a release to celebrate, but the only problem it had was inconsistency. She was switching genres from track to track, giving the album a great sound, but not a cohesive one.

Here we are in 2013, and Kelly has released what I consider to be the greatest album of the year. It's completely cohesive and well-structured, and Kelly's vocals have never been better. Beyonce who?

The album opens with a cover of a Jamie Foxx album track, "Freak" produced by Danja of Britney Spears' Blackout Blackoutfame. It's a bit jarring, with its incredibly in-your-face come ons, even Janet Jackson might blush at the delivery of this track from Rowland. However, it not only works in her favor, it completely eclipses Jamie's original version. Next up is lead single "Kisses Down Low", a song that I initially was not a fan of. Not that it wasn't enjoyable, it just wasn't really a high or low for me, just passable. But presented here on the album, the track makes perfect sense, and it has grown on me substantially in the last few months.

Speaking of Jackson, "Gone" features a sample of "Big Yellow Taxi", much in the same vein as Jan's "Got Til It's Gone" back in the 90's. A great breakup anthem, I think this track would suit well on the charts. Title track "Talk a Good Game" is a breezy piece of soul, while follow-up "Down On Love" is easily my favorite track on the album. The production is beautiful, and her vocals are spot-on. This is what contemporary R&B music should be about.

Buzz track/second single "Dirty Laundry" has caught the attention of everybody as of late. Be it breaking down mid-performance live, the rumored 12 takes of the track it took in studio to get a delivery from Kelly without a breakdown, DL is easily going to be one of the biggest nominees in the next round of Grammys. I'm unsure how it will do on the charts, but as an attention getter, it's doing the job.

There are several other standouts on the record, "Street Life", a commentary on the current state of the economy, "I Remember", an intimate reflection on love that has past it's time that rides gently on a slight electro-beat, and then there's "Stand In Front of Me", the closing track of the regular edition of the album. A beautiful mo-town style song that would have the Supremes jealous if it weren't for the expletive use of the word Ass. It's a stirring beauty of a song, that tells a tale of how to keep love alive in the smallest of ways.

The deluxe edition houses three great bonus tracks, Sky Walker, a gentle club-ready anthem that should sit finely alongside a bottle of bubbly. Put Your Name On It, an ode to letting another take control, and closing #1, produced by the same Mike Will that did Kisses Down Low, that has Kelly scolding someone for not making her a priority with great delivery.

If you have a Target nearby, the Deluxe edition there also has two more bonuses, Feet to the Fire featuring Pharrell, and Love Me Til I Die.

With or without bonus tracks, no matter how you listen to this album, I can guarantee if you are a fan of R&B, Kelly or D's Child, or music in general, this is the album to buy. It's beautiful and heartfelt, and can stir up all kinds of emotions. I've already listened to it during a breakup, the makeup, in my car, and getting ready for the clubs. If you are looking for the perfect album of 2013, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you ready for the game Kelly's talkin'?, June 18, 2013
Totally Surprised. I knew Kelly's album would be good, but this album is better than good it is great and a well-prepared delivery. Congrats Kelly, you are finally in your zone and each song shows. Every song is great and you will be able to play the entire album through without skipping a song; unless you don't want to hear the songs that are played in heavy rotation on the radio, which cause you to know every word to the song and every instrument note being played. R&B has returned and Kelly deserves 5 stars for this album. She has grown since Simply Deep, Ms. Kelly, and Here I Am. My favorite songs are Gone, Talk a Good Game, Down on Love, Dirty Laundry, You Changed, Red Wine, and This is Love. I would analyze each song, but this album is just one you have to hear for yourself. This is an album you must get now because it will be talked about every where you go. Get ready, another Houston woman has just changed the R&B game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Talk a Good Game
Talk a Good Game by Kelly Rowland (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.