Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop Thinking of Aging as a Problem. Start Thinking About Spiritual Gifts!
For all the thousands of books about aging--usually regarded as a problem to solved--there are precious few writers exploring the spiritual gifts of aging. One of those rare and important writers is Missy Buchanan and her newest offering, published by Upper Room Books, is well worth buying.

Why dwell on aging? Let's face it: As a nation, we are aging! As much...
Published on March 16, 2010 by David Crumm

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old Age Devotions
This thin booklet contains a first-person account of a nursing home resident, talking to God. Each thought is followed by a selection from Psalms, reassuring of God's unchanging love and presence.

Many of the fears and concerns of the aging are accurately presented, which can make it depressing reading. Only by focusing on the final thoughts of each meditation...
Published on February 13, 2011 by Sally


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the old., January 17, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
My 80 year old Mom had seen Roberts on Good Morning America recommend this book, and that her own Mom had read it. My Mom loved it and wants everyone to read it, and if she had the funds she would buy copies of it for church and friends. Mom really liked it because of the Psalms part and that it touched on how it is to grow old, that she says none of us understand. I thought I did! My bad, and I will be reading her copy. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Critique, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
I am very satisfied with the quality and delivery of this book.
My dissatisfaction comes from the tone of the content so far. I was hoping for more of an uplifting experience.To be fair to the author, I will write again after getting further into the book. We all experience aging differently, so there is no wrong or right way to portray the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attention: Assisted Living and Hospice Volunteers, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
Missy Buchanan writes from her heart, and from experience. This book was first loaned to me by a 105-year-old friend, and I ended up buying it for my library. Just little vignettes of life at the far end of this spectrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent writer, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
Helpful and easy to read. Old age is a good time to spend
more time with the scriptures. I this the writer is right on with
the needs of aging people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book for those people who can't quite do what they used to do., November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
I gave this to my aging aunt and mother in law. They both loved it. In fact we used it at my aunt's funeral. Very short stories that truly hit home and bring a chuckle and a reminder of days gone by, but in a very positive way - not at all heavy, nor sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Find comfort knowing others are experiencing what you are....you are not alone!, November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
The author knows what our elderly are thinking, pondering, worrying and wondering about as they age....The conversations that she writes between God and His "old friend" are spot on and are a tremendous comfort because you or a loved one know you are not alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Loved Ones in Nursing Facilities, August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
My Mother is uplifted daily when I read from this book. The meditations describe her situation, emotions and illness perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the book, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
I originally bought it just for me but after receiving it and reading I share it with my elderly clients as I visit them usually they are in a nursing home or unable to leave their own home and they love the stories beacuse they relate to them and they are short enough for them to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talking with God in Old Age, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
Four dear friends and myself exchange gifts at Christmas, when I saw this and read it, I knew it would be a fun and inspirational gift to include on as my exchange gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, December 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms (Paperback)
i won't admit to old age but this a great book and it helps to understand alot of things we might have thought of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms
Talking with God in Old Age: Meditations and Psalms by Missy Buchanan (Paperback - February 15, 2010)
$12.00 $10.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.