Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal
Reminds me of Cowboy Junkies, but less depressing. Beautiful voices, and that U N Me song is haunting. It was free, but I liked it so much I got the entire album. I'm not sorry I did.
Published on February 12, 2010 by B. Tipling

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Watson Twins - Talking To You, Talking To Me 5/10
Identical sisters Chandra and Leigh Watson have always been more noteworthy for the things they've done behind the spotlight rather in front of it. Members of the Silver Lake, CA scene that has spawned such acts as Rilo Kiley, Sea Wolf, and Eels, the Watson Twins' biggest impact in the music world was as the backing vocalists to Jenny Lewis' superb solo record, Rabbit Fur...
Published on February 16, 2010 by Rudolph Klapper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Watson Twins - Talking To You, Talking To Me 5/10, February 16, 2010
This review is from: Talking to You, Talking to Me (Audio CD)
Identical sisters Chandra and Leigh Watson have always been more noteworthy for the things they've done behind the spotlight rather in front of it. Members of the Silver Lake, CA scene that has spawned such acts as Rilo Kiley, Sea Wolf, and Eels, the Watson Twins' biggest impact in the music world was as the backing vocalists to Jenny Lewis' superb solo record, Rabbit Fur Coat. Their solo work, particularly 2008's Fire Songs, has been marked mainly by a disturbing lack of any definable identity. Enlisting fellow Silver Lake artists Russell Pollard and J. Soda of Everest to help produce their latest might not have been the most refreshing idea in retrospect, as Talking to You, Talking To Me is essentially what the Twins have been doing for over a decade, but for some at first indiscernible reasons it's a much more fully-realized, capable record than its predecessors.

The most readily apparent cause is the Twins' themselves; whereas earlier efforts found each sister sharing the mic on each song, Talking To You, Talking To Me mainly focuses one song on one sister at a time, with the other primarily handing backup duties for the duration of the track. It's a smart move that pays off by not confusing the listener and by allowing each tune to have its own focus, a linear narrative thread not broken up by call-and-response verses. More importantly, however, and something that becomes increasingly obvious as the record continues, is the improved instrumentation and backing music. Too often before in the Twins' discography the vocals were an album's highlights, adorned with only the barest piano and guitar or the occasional woodwind. Chandra and Leigh have smoky, sensual voices to be sure, voices that can more than easily hold and direct a song, but they have always worked best in a supportive framework, like on the multiple textures of Rabbit Fur Coat. The lesson has evidently been learned; the best part about the record is its sonic depth, from the soft, breezy torch ballad "Snow Canyons" to the rippling guitar and organ solos on "Midnight" to the faux trip-hop of the bubbling, syncopated "Harpeth River."

Unfortunately, there's only so many ways one can make a mid-tempo indie folk tune or `60s girl-group ballad sound, and Chandra and Leigh's insistence on maintaining practically the same tone and mood whether they're lamenting a lost lover or proclaiming their undying affection is the album's biggest downfall. To be brutally honest, they have always lacked the charisma (not to mention a particularly arresting voice) of a Jenny Lewis or a Zooey Deschanel, and Pollard and Soda are certainly not the muse that M. Ward or Blake Sennett have been. For all the surprises that a track like "Harpeth River" brings or for all the many ear-pleasing harmonies and foot-stomping melodies that vintage anthems like "Devil In You" and "Savin' You" deliver, there's boring, by-the-numbers alt-country like "Calling Out" or "Give Me A Chance." One can only listen to so many slow, jazz-inflected rhythms and passionless lyrics before getting frustrated with the overall sameness of too many of the performances here.

Then again, the Watson Twins will never have the vocal firepower of a Jenny Lewis or a Beth Hart, but they use what they were born with to often haunting, always charming effect, even when things may drag. Talking To You, Talking To Me is an entirely predictable indie folk record, one that has just as many flaws as it has ethereally precious moments, but it does show a progression for the Twins and an improving knowledge on how to translate their talents onto a whole LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, February 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Reminds me of Cowboy Junkies, but less depressing. Beautiful voices, and that U N Me song is haunting. It was free, but I liked it so much I got the entire album. I'm not sorry I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, March 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking to You, Talking to Me (Audio CD)
The Watson Twins make an amazing artistic leap forward with this new album. The beautiful harmonies are still there, but the sound is less dreamy, and more beat-driven, with classic R&B, soul, and funk influences. It's like Neko Case and Amy Winehouse got together and had twins!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watson Twins hypnotize, October 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love 'Talking to You, Talking to Me'. My earlier experience with the Watson Twins was with their collaboration with Jenny Lewis. The songs on this album were not completely expected at least in a couple of delights like "U N Me" and "Saving You", but the power and beauty of their harmonies is also completely stunning on tracks "Tell Me Why" and "Harpeth River". I also love "Devil in You", in which they sing, '...well the Devil in you tried to tell me what to do...I don't think so'. What a score for Amazon to have this exclusive! Love those angelic voices...well done, gals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and satisfying, June 24, 2011
This review is from: Talking to You, Talking to Me (Audio CD)
Talking to You, Talking to Me is a spectacular album, rich and lovely, full of confidence and aggressive, bold strokes. It's a real rocker too, strong guitar-based and hooky melodies. "Modern Man," the opening song, starts with a melodic bass line that brings to mind Scottish postpunkers Josef K: if so, they're listening to some good stuff. The full, womanly vocals - not breathy or girlish - remind me somewhat of Bjork at her personal best, and Tracey Thorn of Anything But the Girl, serious and forthright. But this is original, fully-formed Watsons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 6 Foot Plus Female SIngers Ever!, July 22, 2010
This review is from: Talking to You, Talking to Me (Audio CD)
Well, hope the title got your attention!haha I've seen them perform 3 times & their wonderful! Beautiful voices & Yes, they are 6 foot plus! Gorgeous too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop listening!!!!, March 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beautiful songs, beautiful music and lyrics. It's their BEST CD yet. This CD is stuck in my Cd player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars can I get a little more clarity in the vocal mix?, February 15, 2010
Great tunes. Great singing. Why is it so hard to decipher the lyrics? The vocal mix is dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fantastic, March 10, 2010
i love their music and always have. This album is almost as good as seeing them live... almost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did I listen to the same CD, August 17, 2012
By 
Mark Hagner (Pasadena, Md United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Talking to You, Talking to Me (Audio CD)
I see all these 5 star ratings and wonder if these people listened to the same CD. The songs were badly written and the production values poor. I seldom trash an album but this was really bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Talking to You, Talking to Me
Talking to You, Talking to Me by The Watson Twins (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.