Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS ADDITION TO THE PYTE/SENTINEL SERIES
For those of us who have been waiting patiently for this addition to the series, I can only say that it has been worth it. Here we meet Caine the hero, a Pyte who has been in existence for almost a thousand years. Caine works for the sentinel council, going on patrols with the sentinels killing rogue vampires and demons.
Due to the unstable situation between the...
Published on April 14, 2012 by L. Sims

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tall, Dark & Heartless
This book is a bit different than the first two books in the series. This one revolves around a newly introduced Pyte, Caine. I was beyond unsure of this book once I found out that the two main characters met when she was a small child. I was afraid it would be creepy. It really was not and I am glad. This book has a nice balance between old and new characters. There...
Published on June 22, 2012 by Delphina


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS ADDITION TO THE PYTE/SENTINEL SERIES, April 14, 2012
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
For those of us who have been waiting patiently for this addition to the series, I can only say that it has been worth it. Here we meet Caine the hero, a Pyte who has been in existence for almost a thousand years. Caine works for the sentinel council, going on patrols with the sentinels killing rogue vampires and demons.
Due to the unstable situation between the sentinels and their enemies, Caine has been assigned to babysit a group of humans who have been sent to destroy a nest of vampires. These humans are the children of sentinel couples, unlike their parents who are part human and part angel, they are completely human. Amongst their number is a woman Danni, she once had a close relationship with Caine. When she was a small child and her parents were frequently absent on missions she latched on to Caine demanding he look after her and be her friend. At the time Caine found he was unable to resist Danni when she was a child, unlike everyone else she was never afraid of him. But as she grew older he cut her out of his life, deciding it was for her own good. He had not spoken to her for years. He knew this had hurt her, but that's just the way things were going to be.
Unfortunately the human leading this mission is a complete idiot, which culminated in Danni and Caine being captured by a group of vampires.
this is an excellent read, loved the two leading characters, their relationship was at times hot and passionate, and at others was tense and full of trepidation. Caine is a loner he cares for no one except número uno. whereas Danni is keen to prove to the council that she is able to do the same job as the sentinels, even though she is human with no special abilities.
Characters from the previous book are also featured. It was lovely to read about Chris, Izzy, Madison Ephraim and the rest of the family. There are also a cast of new characters introduced, in particular a werewolf shifter named Jax. He definitely needs his own story, (hope you're taking note RL). This is a great read with a lot of passion and emotion. There is also plenty of action elsewhere in the book.
This is not strictly speaking a stand alone novel, it would be better to read the two preceding books Tall, Dark & Lonely (Pyte/Sentinel Series) and Without Regret (Pyte/Sentinel Series) both excellent reads as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another great addition to a great series!, June 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
I love the neighbor from hell series and love the pyre sentinel series as well! This is the third book in the outs sentinel series and it did not disappoint! I like how the "regular" characters we are used to tied into the story. It is definitely a romance and yes I would call it steamy. However don't let the new cover sway your decision....there is a ton of action and adventure in this story too! Highly recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love this series!!!, May 4, 2012
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
R.L Mathewson is just AMAZING...this has to be the best in the series so far! I've loved them all but Tall, Dark & Heartless had *sigh* Caine!! (Am not going to spoil what made him so... uhmmmm...special...LOL..!!)

The story was great, so much passion, emotions and action that it was at times impossible to put down! The relationship between Caine and Danni was beautiful and it was fab to have all the characters back from the previous books! Hate the fact that there was a cliffhanger though...I really don't like those ;0)

Oh and I would recommend reading this series in order....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tall, Dark & Heartless, June 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
This book is a bit different than the first two books in the series. This one revolves around a newly introduced Pyte, Caine. I was beyond unsure of this book once I found out that the two main characters met when she was a small child. I was afraid it would be creepy. It really was not and I am glad. This book has a nice balance between old and new characters. There is a scene that is/could be rather disturbing and has a rape. It is not at all graphic and the person assaulted is a very bad guy, but I did want to mention it. That being said, this is most definitely not a book for the under 18 crowd. I am looking forward to the next book in this series. I really want to see how Joshua and Jill's stories continue to unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series just keeps getting better!!, April 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
I have been waiting for this book since finishing "Without Regret" in March, and I must say it DOES NOT disappoint!! I loved the romance between Caine and Danni! The only "problem" with this book was the Epilogue......Now I have to wait, who knows how long, to find out what happens between Logan and Jill "Angel" and Joshua.... Oh and please, please write a book about Jax and his Pack! Can't wait for what comes next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
This is a great series. It keeps you wanting more. I couldn't put the book down. R.L. Mathewson is a great writer. I love all her book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, January 4, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Whittier, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
R.L. Mathewson writes such great and funny characters. I really loved this book and the whole series. R.L. Mathewson is one of my fav authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Going Strong, September 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
This is the third book in the Pyte/Sentinel Series, and it did not disappoint. This series gives great comedy, romance, and suspense to a certain exact. Read and enjoy...but read the first two books first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, December 28, 2012
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
I started this book last night after reading the previous books in this series I haven't quiet finished it yet but it and the rest of the series deserves 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tall, Dark & Heartless: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel (Kindle Edition)
Pretty close to perfect, R.L. Mathewson book. Love to see how all the characters come together. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.