Customer Reviews


455 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (80)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


160 of 168 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Theatrical PG-13 cut is great. So called unrated/uncut version is a bust.
Talladega Nights is a very, very funny movie that spoofs Nascar without actually making fun of it and its fans. In fact, this movie can actually appeal to people who don't even care for Nascar.

Will Ferrel teamed back up with Adam McKay (the duo who produced/made the great Anchorman) to make this story that plays a lot like if Days of Thunder had been...
Published on December 13, 2006 by Kevin H. Dudley

versus
50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not the movie you saw in the theatre.
Before you buy this DVD you must know this is not the movie you saw in the theatre. The cover art says uncut, that is a boldface lie. One of the funniest scenes in the movie, when young Ricky drives his mother's car has been deleted. It is not in the deleted scenes, it has been removed as if it never existed.

Other scenes have been altered to add material that...
Published on December 15, 2006 by J. Furlong


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

160 of 168 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Theatrical PG-13 cut is great. So called unrated/uncut version is a bust., December 13, 2006
By 
Kevin H. Dudley (Roanoke, VA (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Talladega Nights - The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Talladega Nights is a very, very funny movie that spoofs Nascar without actually making fun of it and its fans. In fact, this movie can actually appeal to people who don't even care for Nascar.

Will Ferrel teamed back up with Adam McKay (the duo who produced/made the great Anchorman) to make this story that plays a lot like if Days of Thunder had been approached as a comedy instead of a dead serious (and unintentionally funny) film.

While other people are focusing on the film itself, I would like to focus on the this whole mess of the PG-13 theatrical cut being released in wide and full screen along with (what is unfortunately a common practice) a "UNRATED/UNCUT" versions that boasts "13 additional minutes of footage".

Now, for one thing, the theatrical cut was 108 minutes and actually could have used some more tightening. This is a 100 minute movie at most. I don't have a problem with people putting footage back into a DVD version of a movie if it's stuff that belongs and actually makes the movie better.

This is a case, in which it doesn't. The additional 13 minutes cause some scenes that were funny in the theatrical cut to drag on until they're at an interminable length in some cases. The added footage actually dilutes the humor in places.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

But the alarming thing about this so called "UNCUT" version is that the movie actually ELIMINATES A FEW MEMORABLE SCENES THAT WERE PRESENT IN THE THEATRICAL CUT. The scene in which a young Ricky steals his mom's car while she's in a convenience store is gone, which totally destroys the whole part in which Ricky volunteers to drive his team's car by saying "I wanna to go fast".

Also, the scene in which Ricky calls Lucious at Lucios' car wash to tell him he's racing again at Talladega is gone as well. This scene showed just what Lucious and his pit crew had been up to during Ricky's hiatus from racing.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

If they had left everything in the theatrical cut and just added footage, I maybe could have lived with it. But the fact that they cut footage out is a travesty and false advertising to people who loved the movie in theaters.

Most of the added footage just grinds the movie to a halt and like I mentioned before, as funny as the movie is, it was still about 8 minutes too long even in the theatrical cut.

There are very few cases in which I feel that an extended version of a movie was superior (lord of the rings trilogy, 40 year old virgin) and in most cases it's just a case of DVD producers putting out an early cut or something of a movie that was tweaked after the fact during test screenings. This is how the unrated cut of Talladega Nights comes across.

So, if you loved the movie in theaters, just stick with the PG-13 theatrical widescreen cut. If you haven't seen the movie before, I would see this cut first before testing out the unrated cut. Many will share the same opinion that I have about this.

I'm really sick of pointless "unrated" cuts coming out that just shoe horn back in footage that was taken out for a good reason to begin with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not the movie you saw in the theatre., December 15, 2006
By 
J. Furlong (Pacific Palisades, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights - The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Before you buy this DVD you must know this is not the movie you saw in the theatre. The cover art says uncut, that is a boldface lie. One of the funniest scenes in the movie, when young Ricky drives his mother's car has been deleted. It is not in the deleted scenes, it has been removed as if it never existed.

Other scenes have been altered to add material that was rightfully let out of the theatrical release. The new material is not funny, and ruins the pace of the original. I was very disappointed that Sony would offer this mishappen DVD as the original movie. A great cry of protest should ring out to the studios letting them know that alteration of a product for DVD release is not acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Loved This Movie and I Don't Watch Nascar!, August 4, 2006
By 
Monkdude (Hampton, Virginia) - See all my reviews
Everybody in my theater was cracking up throughout the entire movie. This is my favorite Will Ferrell movie by far. He really nails the part and doesn't abuse his comic gifts. John C. Reilly as his best bud, Gary Cole as his wacky father, and the french rival, played by Sacha Baron Cohen, are great as well. I really haven't had this much fun watching a comedy at the theater in a long time, there are just so many lines that are destined to become classic. I will be adding this one to my DVD collection for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slapstick-Funny, and Some Wicked Satire, Too, February 11, 2007
This review is from: Talladega Nights - The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I can see why this film did not do particularly well in America's megaplexes. While it's no "Team America: World Police" in its slams on America's society and sense of itself (or the profanity), there's more than enough pointed observation and mockery of our American lives in here to turn off all the American moviegoers who loved "Anchorman" so much. Me, I thought it was hilarious.

What better guy to be a racing bad guy than a Frenchman? These days the French are almost a default enemy, a generic sort of oppositional bad guy, not nearly as bad as, you know, The Terrorists, but still someone Fox News and Rush and O'Reilly and all of us can easily get behind and hate together, as Americans. Yeah, in their first meeting and his very first scene Sacha Baron Cohen's brilliant Jean Gerard breaks Ricky's arm, but it comes down to a matter of manly pride and promise, and not out of malice; and Ricky started the fight (America, get it?). Gerard comes off as fey and ridiculous (Cohen is so damn good), but he's also portrayed as worldly, sophisticated, learned, introspective, even noble. His ultimate secret is that he's been looking for a champion for years, for someone to beat him so he can be free of racing and move on to his true life's pursuits. Does anyone else see the legendary Lancelot in this portrayal? Hell, we've even got one of the film's characters talking of King Arthur and his betrayal by Guinevere, right around the time of Ricky's fall.

And those wonderfully funny shots at Middle America, right from the start. I mean, the wonderful Bobby family mealtime is Domino's, KFC and Taco Bell and 2-liter bottles of Coke on the table. And that's what they eat every night, with a ridiculous grace involving alternate visual incarnations of Jesus and thanks for the wife's wonderful hoo-hahs, and culminates with a nice family fight. And the two boys are foul-mouthed, attitude-barking little hellions who need a slap in the face (thankfully they get it, but they're still mighty funny). The big family celebrations take place at Applebee's. Ricky and Cal bond over the phone watching inane cable television. Yeah, that's America today, buddy. it's all over this film.

The product placement, of course, is mind-blowing, absolutely numbing. But what do you expect, given the subject?

Loved Andy Richter as Gerard's husband, Gregory. He should've had more screen time, but I can see where the homosexual marriage bit didn't test too well for Amercian release. Also loved the cameos of Elvis Costello and Mos Def, really very strange and funny.

This "unrated" edition doesn't really give you that much extra. There is only one instance of R-rated language in the entire film, and there's no nudity. The only violence is Gerard's breaking of Bobby's arm, which could be considered to be relatively graphic, but at the same time it's pretty hokey. Even the special features and extras don't deliver on what most will want out of "unrated" content--it's all PG-13 clean.

The special features aren't really that great. As in the greatest of Southern-fried Burt Reynolds car films, the end titles roll over some pretty good gags. But, hey, there's a gag reel, too, but it's over in about six minutes, pitifully short given the huge amount of improvisation that obviously went into a number of scenes. The extended and deleted scenes were plentiful enough, and I could see why they were deleted; most of them weren't that funny.

Bottom line: This film is the simple, trite tale of the rapid rise and rapid fall, with the expected redemption and happily ever after resolution, set in Modern NASCAR. There's plenty comedy to keep most folks laughin'. This film is no indictment of NASCAR; if anything, it's an extended commercial. But if you're smarter than the average bear and look beyond the mere slapstick, then you'll see some relatively well-developed satire about Our America, what makes us tick, how we think, and how we view The Other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny movie with some very special performances, July 7, 2007
This review is from: Talladega Nights - The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
This is a very funny movie. At points, its crudity goes beyond my taste, but I can live through them to enjoy the rest of the jokes. Will Ferrell as Ricky Bobby is certainly the point of the film, but his performance is only one of the thrill rides in this amusement park. Let's start with Gary Cole and Jane Lynch as Ricky's parents, Reese and Lucy Bobby. They set the perfect tone for the film in the opening scene racing towards (and past) the hospital when she is just about to give birth to our hero. Reese has some wonderful moments in the film, such as the career day appearance when Ricky is in grade school, or the family dinner at Applebee's that is going so well that it makes him uncomfortable. Or what about the time that he finally goes to pick up the pair of tickets that Ricky has been leaving for him at every race for years (that the ticket sellers resell and pocket the cash)?

When Ricky is down so low that he has to go live with his mom, Lucy is masterful with his ratbag kids and provides some of the great fun in the film. She is a terrific character. John C. Reilly is perfect as Ricky's best friend, Cal Naughton, Jr. and is the anchor that provides a foundation that allows Ferrell to soar as Ricky. Cal is the one that came up with their "Shake and Bake" slogan and is willing to always come in second to Ricky's first. Until he can't anymore. His finding out that being on top isn't exactly what he was looking for in life is even a bit touching.

Leslie Bibb provides the right amount of babeness and avaricious romance to the film as she claims Ricky and then Cal when Ricky can't get her what she wants anymore (and in neither case is it the man). Carley is a tough role to get just right because we have to like her, maybe even attracted to her, and yet she has to be a bit creepy.

Greg German and Molly Shannon as the team owners (the Denits) also get their roles just right. Larry Denit is a hateful, and we gather impotent, owner who got the racing team from Daddy and resents everyone on the team who is able to do things he can't do except for the money he got from his pa. Mrs. Dennit is fully aware of the ridiculous situation and takes her comfort from booze, from flirting with Denit's big ticket customers, and the vibrations of the track as the cars zoom by.

Sacha Baron Cohen as Jean Girard is most everyone's delight in the film. And while it is a whacky character that helps Ricky Bobby to get even weirder, I thought the accent was so awkward and the emphasis on his being gay so over done that I found the role to be a net negative. However, that is just me and I recognize that others think this guy is a comedy genius. And I know that taking risks means at times doing things that don't work. I am not saying the Girard role doesn't work, but I didn't find it wonderful. Weird isn't wonderful or brilliant. It is just weird.

While Will Ferrell gets a lot of attention for running around in his underwear or less, for me the perfect moments in the film were his first interview with the ESPN guy, the scene at the bar with Susan (Amy Adams), and learning to drive again with his dad. That and the knife in the leg scene at the hospital with Lucius (Michael Clark Duncan) and Cal.

A pretty funny movie that people will laugh with for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uncut yet still rated PG-13, February 26, 2007
This review is from: Talladega Nights - The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I like the movie, don't get me wrong- rented the uncut. Actually scenes were cut out of the version i remember seeing in the theater. Example.. When rickey is a small child and drives his mothers car. Not in the uncut.

I noticed 2 scenes which were possibly additional. Rickey bobby delivering pizzas on a bus and talking to another passanger. Secondly before his nascar says "ME" on it, its advertising for male thongs. Thats it- Just buy the regular version. The deleted/extended scenes are 60% of the outtakes during the credits (various spinoffs of when Rickey was in the hospital) and an extended scene of when Rickey comes home and Cal married his wife.

Just don't expect anything great on the uncut version... i do not think the uncut-ness would even make the movie approach an R rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 100% Accurate to the South, December 30, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Talladega Nights - The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
When I saw the trailers for this movie, I thought it was going to be another one of those throw away Will Ferrell movies. When my dad bought it (the unrated edition to top it off) I was very doubtful about it. I was really surprised that it was so funny. If it wasn't for Stranger Than Fiction, I would say that this is Will Ferrell's best movie.

I guess the reason I found it so funny was that I lived in South Carolina for a year and the characters in this movie were exactly like people in the South. It is the most historically accurate movie of all time. It could be used as a historical document.

The performances in this movie were great. Will Ferrell, of course, was very good. John C. Reilly was great. The way he said Cal Naughton, Jr. got me every time. Sacha Baron Cohen was probably the weakest. The movie may have benefitted from cutting his character out completely. But I suppose you need a villain for- well, I don't want to give away the ending. The absolute best performance in the movie was Grayson Russell as Ricky Bobby's son Texas Ranger. That kid deserves an Oscar. Every line he spoke made me laugh. He was exactly like a kid I knew in South Carolina.

This movie was unbelievably funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny all the way through, December 28, 2007
By 
Chess Buddhist (Long Beach, California) - See all my reviews
First, this is not an elongated Saturday Night Live sketch like so many Will Ferrell movies. It is also in no way offensive to NASCAR fans, though judging by some of the reviews it seems fans want to get offended anyway. There isn't a single joke in this movie that makes fun of NASCAR racing. Pretty much all the jokes are about Ricky Bobby and his flawed character.

I thought I would get one or two laughs from this movie, but I found a good dozen or so belly laughs here. Some of the physical humor will just make you bawl with laughter. Good script with great jokes and funny performances combine for a perfect comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the funniest movie, February 5, 2010
A Kid's Review
I have seen many movies in my day and some have been good then some were just straight out horrible, but Talladega nights the ballad of Ricky Bobby is probably one of the best movies I have ever seen.
This is mainly about this guy who grew up wanting to be a racecar driver. He basically lives by one phrase `If your not first your last', that is what his dad said one day at career day at his school. Eventually later on in his racing days he gets in a bad wreck and is in the hospital for a while, and closer to the end he drives again.
The whole thing could have been made just a comedy film, but unfortunately they made it more than that.
The best part was when they get the car to flip and roll to make it look like a actual nascar wreck. The way that they made the stuff look real was truly amazing. Any movie could have just made a car flip, but they did more with it. Added with sparks and other special effect features like the guy who went on the grass and kept spinning and after he gets done with it there was a picture or portrait of him.
The funniest part has to be when he gets out of his car and thought that he had caught on fire. So, he gets out of his racing suit and all he has on is his helmet, shoes, and underwear. So, after he gets out of his suit he runs to the fence on the turn of the raceway as he gets there he is saying all kinds of random things, but once he gets to the top he lays down and rolls to the bottom saying `Stop drop and roll!' Finally, they convinced him that he was alright, but to know more you will have to watch the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Chip! I am gonna come at you like a spider monkey! ", September 10, 2006
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Talladega Nights - The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Will Ferrell co-wrote and stars as NASCAR racer Ricky Bobby in TALLADEGA NIGHTS, the second part of Ferrell's planned everyman comedy trilogy. Driven by the absence of fatherly love and the last words his father said to him,"If you ain't first, you're last", Ricky Bobby is the #1 NASCAR driver in the country. Racing alongside Ricky is his best friend, Cal Naughton, Jr. (John C. Reilly) who always finishes #2. Together they are "Shake N' Bake". The owner of Bobby's racing team Mr. Dennit (Pat Hingle) dies and his son, Larry, Jr. (Greg Germann) takes over. Larry Jr. has always disliked Ricky Bobby and decides to bring a French Formula One driver, Jean Girard (Sacha Baron Cohen) into the NASCAR circuit as part of the Dennit racing team. After a serious accident, Ricky is left emotionally scarred and unable to race. His wife kicks Ricky out of the house, divorces him, and marries Cal. Jr. A few traffic accidents later, Ricky finds himself as a bicycle pizza delivery guy desperately needing a kick in the pants and some inspiration which his long-lost father provides.

TALLADEGA NIGHTS is full of humor, both crass and otherwise. Much of the humor skewers NASCAR and racing fans. Despite this, the movie is not vicious in its comedy and attitude towards the sport. Instead, the film seems to carry with it a slight amount of affection towards racing. Having been raised in a rural area around racing fans, I picked up on many of the over-the-top stereotypes right away, yet was not offended.

The movie has a lot of great quotes and contains some brilliant comic acting. John C. Reilly is one of the best actors in the business, but I would never have pictured him as the sidekick in a Will Ferrell comedy. Reilly nails the role of Cal Naughton, Jr. and in doing so raised my esteem for him as an actor. Also worthy of mention is Sacha Baron Cohen as Jean Girard. Until this film, I had never heard of Cohen, but I've been told that he is an up and coming comical actor to watch. His performance in TALLADEGA NIGHTS is impressive and has made me want to watch some of his other work, e.g. Ali G. Michael Clarke Duncan (who is made to look normal-sized through various camera techniques) is also a joy to watch in this film as Ricky's pit manager, Lucius Washington. The movie also has a simple message that it attempts to deliver (something about not taking the important things in your life for granted), but make no mistake this is a comedy and most of that message is lost through the hilarious quotes and hysterical actions.

TALLADEGA NIGHTS is one of the best Will Ferrell films to have been made in the last few years. Actually, I enjoyed it even better than ANCHORMAN and other movies he has made and consider it my favorite Ferrell film. It's a hilarious look at NASCAR that tries illustrates a need for speed in life isn't as important as taking time to slow down and enjoy the finer and simpler things in life, such as family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Talladega Nights - The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (Unrated Widescreen Edition)
$9.99 $5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.