Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love food and Alton Brown...
...you will love this movie for it explores (with hysterical results) why food becomes such an important touchstone in life.

Truck driver Goro and Gun are in search of some good eats and run into a widow who is trying to run a ramen shop. Unfortunately, she's not doing too well so Goro and some unlikely guides offer her some sage advice and help her on her way...
Published on August 13, 2006 by C. Matsusaka

versus
19 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced bootleg
This is an overpriced bootleg copy of the Geneon Japanese Region 2 release, which has English subtitles. If I was looking for a bootleg, I would not pay the exorbitant $18 they're asking for. At this point, one may as well download it from torrents for free and avoid this pirated dvd.
Published on December 4, 2009 by L'Etranger


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love food and Alton Brown..., August 13, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
...you will love this movie for it explores (with hysterical results) why food becomes such an important touchstone in life.

Truck driver Goro and Gun are in search of some good eats and run into a widow who is trying to run a ramen shop. Unfortunately, she's not doing too well so Goro and some unlikely guides offer her some sage advice and help her on her way to becoming a true ramenista. The story is punctuated with some vignettes about the "social aspects" of eating and our behavior with food.

THIS EDITION NOTES: This is a "no-frills" deal with the bear minimum of subtitle options and the movie's original trailer. Although Amazon is listing the zone playability as "unknown" the jacket lists it as ALL ZONES. It played on our ancient Zenith DVD player which can only handle zone 1 DVDs and nothing else. Picture is good, but sound quality is poor. However, its definitely worth the price to see this wonderful movie once again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely concerned with food. Oh, & sex & life too., August 2, 2007
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
This is on my top ten list of the funniest, most delightful movies of all time. The main plot line is a loving satire of the "adult" western of the fifties - "Shane" in particular - where the hero drifts into town, helps the poor widow get her life together and beat the bad guys, then drifts out again. Tampopo, the heroine, must make the best noodle soup in town to overcome the villainous other noodle houses.

But what makes this movie extraordinary are the vignettes, both within the plot-line and outside it, that mingle food, sex, cultural hangups, life and death in hilarious and sometimes very touching combinations.

The movie succeeds not only because of its marvellous material and fine actors but also through excellent direction and cinematography. For example, the scene toward the end where Tampopo & Goro are eating companionably in a restaurant: notice the camera movement from the food to the people; the positions of the actors conveying clearly the ambiguity of the relationship and their attitudes to each other; how at times Goro actually has his back to the camera; the cut to the symbolic passing train, nicely understated; the whole scene is an example of effective simplicity in movie-making.

This movie is ultimately unclassifiable; it is itself, funny, sad (sometimes both at once), shocking, absorbing; but above all funny. I have never seen another film quite like it, and it stays in the memory like the best of Fellini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food, sex and history, February 17, 2007
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
This is a Japanese cult film and one which has had serious traction in the West. It contains the roots of the modern Iron Chef series and is a jewel in which is reflected many of the common-or-garden mores that make Japan such a rich and wonderful place. It is a must-see and will not be easily forgotten.

It is a journey to mastery of ramen making and in this, a journey toward mastery itself. Tampopo, a 'noob' noodle chef, enlists the help of expert advisers one-by-one as she assembles the skills necessary to make a compelling ramen noodle soup in the competitive environment of Japanese ramen-ya (ramen noodle shops). Along the way she steals, bribes and cheats with the support of her advisers but, as the goal is honuorable, in good Japanese (and indeed in other nations') style, the ends justify the means.

Apart from yielding the best ramen imaginable, the film is interspersed with a myriad of vignettes - all food related but otherwise unrelated apart from being elements of Japanese idiosyncrasy. These vary from an old lady who sneaks into delis to squeeze the food with a naughty abandon and then to be chased out by the bemused/confused staff to fabulous sequences with the young Iron Chef chairman as a food obsessed gangster exchanging the yolk of an egg in a kiss with his equally food obsessed lover (the roots of the Iron Chef series are clearly present in this film so if you love food ....).

This is a wonderful film. It holds people for years after viewing with each remembering a different element of beauty. It drew me back after 20 years and I had to find it and see it again. Having just done this (and I cooked ramen to go with the viewing!), it lives up the memory!

Alexander Roche
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best introduction to Japanese sensibility ever, January 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
I first saw this film in college, in a theatre, back in 1987, I think, and in spite of knowing only a little Japanese then, and only a little of Japanese culture, I fell in love with Japan even more deeply after seeing this. If your idea of Japanese movies is Akira Kurosawa and/or anime, then you have to see Itami's movies, and you have to start with this one.
I actually fell onto the floor laughing when I saw this, and it makes me laugh even now. And this is the film (together, now, with Water Boys, Shall We Dance, anything else with Takenaka Naoto, and After Life) I show friends when I want to share Japan (where I lived for ten years) with them.
The wonderful aspect of this movie is the way Itami intercuts the main story, of a woman named Tampopo (Japanese for dandelion, by the way), trying to run a ramen shop and raise a boy on her own, and the two truck drivers who end up helping her recreate that business and teach her son to stand up to bullies, with many of the different ways that Japanese obsess about food. From shopping, to macrobiotic mothers, to ordering in restaurants, to learning how to eat Western food... And Itami's cast, a group of actors he works with time and again, rise to the challenge brilliantly.
If you decide you need to see only one Japanese film, make it this one. And if you're a fan of Japanese film, but have never seen this, then do so immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best movie comedies ever, January 15, 2007
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
Nothing translates across cultural boundaries as well as food and sex. Fortunately so does the humor in this film, where everything is equally as savoury as it is sweet and sensual. This Japanese import is an excellent transfer and a Region 0 disc, so it's much better than the overpriced unfortunate Fox Lorber edition, which is fortunately out of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tampopo, November 27, 2006
By 
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
This is one of the best food films ever. Ken Watanabe as a Japanese John Wayne and noodle expert is hilarious. The director also has some great moves. I have enjoyed watching it several times to make sure that I haven't missed anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Must See movie for everyone who loves food!!!, January 3, 2007
By 
Rixtstra (Groningen - Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
This is one of my favorites ever. I had seen the movie several times some 15 years ago (I loved it then) but seeing it again: it was still good, funny, inspiring, mouth watering, moving, heart warming, good feeling. It simply is a Must See movie for everyone who loves food!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny!, September 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
Saw this years ago on a satellite movie channel but didn't get a chance to tape it then. Finally, hooray -- here it is from Amazon. It's not just a cult movie for foodies but fits in with zany movies from Australia (Strictly Ballroom, Pricilla Queen of the Desert, etc.) or Bagdad Cafe.... Good subtitles. The DVD is a good recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food, food, food!, August 3, 2007
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
This is a total classic... a must-see for all food-lovers: and who doesn't like food? Food prep, food enjoyment, food and sensuality, food and business, food as a martial art/budo... It's all here. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Sexy, Delicious, June 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tampopo (DVD)
This is a delightful punning play on the theme of a spaghetti western. The main story revolves around the tale of a threatened noodle shop and its widowed owner. A very broadly drawn cowboy rides into town in this pickup truck (complete with horns on the hood) and saves the day. Side plots include a society of homeless gastronomes, an example of mother-love gone way too far and the best use of a shrimp by a gangster in any movie ever.

The serious underside is that this is a mouth-watering depiction of the love of food and it would be a rare gourmet who didn't have to stop the dvd at least once to grab a snack.

Lynn Hoffman, author of bang BANG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tampopo
Tampopo by Juzu Itami (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: $14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.