Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tango & Cash [Blu-ray]
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon December 20, 2007
If you ask me, Tango & Cash is one of the best and most enjoyable action movies there is. It may be a big budget Hollywood production, but it's a B flick all the way. There's nothing very original or unique about the plot(two rival cops have to work together to bring down the crime boss that framed them), and it's full of every bad action cliche to date, but that's all part of the fun. The movie is packed with cornball manliness and macheezmo, almost to the point of parody. But what really makes it work is the two leads. Both Stallone and Russell are two of the best action stars of all time, and I can't think of any other two that could have done this better. No, it's not Oscar worthy acting, but these two have a fantastic onscreen chemistry. Neither one is trying to push the other out of the spotlight or out-tough the other. Their tough guy one liners and banter is so funny, even when the jokes are total groaners. You can tell they really enjoyed working together, and it makes me wonder why these guys never starred in another film together. Special mention must also be made to the supporting cast which is a B action/horror movie lover's dream. You got Michael J. Pollard as a goofy inventor in the mold of James Bond's "Q", Brion James as an evil henchman, Clint Howard as Stallone's crazy cellmate who plays with a Slinky, James Hong(Lo Pan from Big Trouble in Little China) as one of the crime bosses, Geoffrey Lewis(Orville from Every Which Way But Loose among countless others) as Stallone's captain, and Robert Z'Dar(the Maniac Cop!) as a vicious inmate with a grudge against Stallone. Plus an early role for Teri Hatcher as Stallone's sister. Not to mention that the villain is played by the coolest man to ever slap on aftershave, Jack Palance. Now, even if the movie was pure sludge, how can you go wrong not only with two top notch stars, but also a supporting cast like that? You can't, that's how!! I have a special place in my heart for action films of the 80s, and an even more secluded and special spot for this one in particular. This kind of macho, no brainer action film is not everyone's bag, baby. But if it does happens to be your bag and you've somehow missed this movie, slap yourself a few times for being a schmuck and see it, pronto!!
77 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2009
Before I picked this up on Blu Ray, I searched for reviews but couldn't find any. I decided to blind buy it from Amazon, because of the great deal offered. Well, sure enough, it doesn't disappoint: the picture quality is very, very good - in direct comparison to the DVD, it blows it out of the park! Contours are sharp and precise, colors are rich and vivid; it is as big an improvement over the DVD as the DVD was over VHS! I couldn't believe how bad the DVD looks (I guess it's been a while since I watched it...), with colors all washed out and the screen flattened. I'm no pro at this, but trust me: it does look great on Blu Ray! The only downside is there are no extras except the trailer. Since we didn't even get a Special Edition on DVD, chances for one on Blu ray are slim at best. I didn't see this movie in the theater, but thanks to the Blu Ray it looks like it's unfolding right before me.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
Sylvester Stallone has made a career of breaking out of prison in movies. He's busted out of jail/confinement in First Blood, Rambo II, Lock-Up, Demolition Man, Judge Dredd, and this 1989 "classic".

This time around Sly is wealthy Beverly Hills Cop (er...) Ray Tango, the second best cop in LA. Kurt Russell is Gabe Cash, a grubby, shaggy haired renegade who is also the second best cop in LA (depending on your perspective). Both of them are lured into a trap by evil criminal mastermind Yves Perret (Jack Palance, who is entertaining, but has nothing to do) a man who...um...runs a criminal empire? From a warehouse? In a quarry? On an old Air Force base?

Perret and his business partners (exactly what this means and who these guys are is never properly explained - they're bad guys because they're bad guys) are fed up with Tango and Cash/Cash and Tango spoiling their evil schemes and plot to have them framed and thrown into the worst prison imaginable. Any logical mastermind would just kill them but then we would not have a movie.

As a child I never understood this film. I was a smart kid and I was into complex movies well beyond my years. Yeah, I rented a lot of PG-rated stuff but I also consumed lots of grown-up movies. It was only when I was an adult that I realized the reason I didn't understand Tango & Cash was not that it was above me, but that it was BENEATH me. I wanted a serious adult's movie and instead I got a childish shoot-em-up.

That's not to say that it's all bad, Tango & Cash DOES have a strong set-up and a great middle act with the two of them breaking out of prison, but by the time the third act comes around it falls apart completely with a confusing monster truck demolition derby, driven by bad guys that come out of nowhere, while Jack Palance sits around watching it on a bank of CCTV monitors (operated by who, exactly?) despite the fact that he's obviously just looking at b-roll 35mm footage.

Director Andrei Konchalovskiy brings whatever coherence he can to the film under the insanity of producer/hairdresser Jon Peters. The film was in danger of never seeing the light of day after he was fired but editor Stuart Baird stepped in and stripped the film down the bare essentials, leaving a lot of plot excised. Maybe it's for the best, maybe it's for the worst.

All that remains is a promising, yet ultimately disappointing, 80s cheeseburger buddy cop movie with a snappy Harold Faltermeyer score, anamorphic photography with some frequently striking shots, brainless action, and a young Terri Hatcher as a stripper who shows neither her breasts nor her vagina.

The Blu-ray looks quite above average but not amazing in 2.35:1 1080p with a Dolby TrueHD sound design which feels weak and limited by the dated 80s fidelity and sound design. The only extra is a trailer.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TANGO & CASH, originally entitled "The Set-Up," had more that its share of production problems, including running $20 million over budget.

A star dropped out early on and his role had to to be recast. Russian-born theater and film director Andrey Konchalovskiy was replaced by Albert Magnoli very near completion because of artistic differences with producer Jon Peters. Andrey, who previously directed RUNAWAY TRAIN (1985), DUET FOR ONE [VHS] (1986) and SHY PEOPLE [VHS] (1987), wanted a "dark" film.

Director of photography Barry Sonnenfeld got sacked for not lighting Sly Stallone to the actor's satisfaction. Stuart Baird was called on for re-cuts when Warner's was displeased with the finished movie. For all these adjustments, "Tango & Cash" is still a buddy cop comedy of only middling quality.

Here, Stallone's sophisticated Raymond Tango competes with grungy Gabriel Cash (Russell) for drug busts and news copy. Baddie Palance (in his best "Believe It Or Not" persona) finds a way to get both cops thrown into the jail from perdition, but not before Kurt goes "drag," and Sly frets neurotically over falling stock values and some rising heat between his sister (Hatcher) and Lt. Cash. Pollard is the nerd who supplies T&C with an armed-to-the-roof tank-skinned monster SUV.

Some tepid humor arises from Tango's confusion over Cash's sexuality and with their running gag of macho "I'm a better cop than you" banter.

Originally slated for Kurt Russell's role, Patrick Swayze got his chance to wear high heels in TO WONG FOO THANKS FOR EVERYTHING, JULIE NEWMAR (1995). Patti Davis, Ron and Nancy Reagan's daughter, cameos here as a reporter. Ron Howard's kid brother Clint plays an obnoxious cellmate who quickly gets squelched.

Parenthetical number preceding title is a 1 to 10 IMDb viewer poll rating.

(6.1) Tango & Cash (1989) - Sylvester Stallone/Kurt Russell/Teri Hatcher/Jack Palance/Brion James/James Hong/Michael J. Pollard/Lewis Arquette/Michael Jeter/Clint Howard/Patti Davis
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
Russell....Stallone...80's action...no brainer. I used to adore this movie when I was younger and I found out recently that I still do. It's insane in a way but a good meshing of buddy cop and action with a bit of humor here and there. Soldier and Rocky come together well and are a good pair. The best part, though, is Jack Palance as the quintessential bad guy who can't just put a bullet in their heads but needs to make things overly elaborate to try and exact some sort of revenge for having broken up his cartel of whatever it is he is cartelling. Good times ensue with the whole "clear your names in 24 hours" routine and...watch to find out! Spoiler alert: spoilers.

Great action, great 80's-ness, why not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
This is one of those movies you can tell clearly was a product of the 80s. Something about it just has that 80s vibe about it. Which is no bad thing for me though.

Tango and Cash is a 1989 action/buddy-cop movie that deals with two police officers, Ray Tango and Gabe Cash (Sylvester Stallone and Kurt Russell, respectively), who are great at what they do. Unfortunately for one drug lord, TOO great as the two separately have cost him millions each. To protect his empire and those who have interests in it, Tango and Cash are both (all the while unknown to the other) lured to the same location where they are then framed for the murder of an FBI agent. Found guilty by several corrupt officials, the two are sentenced to 18 months and are instead of sent to a far rougher prison than they were expecting. The two then escape and must find out who has framed them and prove their innocence.

Watching it, it's immediate it was never going to be an Oscar contender for best screenplay. But is it a fun and enjoyable watch? For me, the answer is yes. It's the kind of movie I could see just grabbing some popcorn on a quiet Friday night and popping in my blu-ray player. I enjoyed and I expect repeat viewings in the future.

Both Sylvester Stallone and Kurt Russell played their parts great. Teri Hatcher is also in this in one of her earliest roles (five years later, she would go on to play Lois Lane in the TV series "Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman" for four years) and she did good in her scenes as well.

Funny enough, there's several in-jokes in the movies to past roles. One example that made me laugh was at the beginning after Tango (Stallone) has stopped these two criminals. A sheriff's deputy is angry over his handling of it and is screaming "Who do you think you are!?" to which another officer jokingly replies, "He thinks he's Rambo!" Everyone else, Tango included, quietly look at him.

Bottom line is, it's an 80s action movie. You almost know what to expect. Should you give it a watch? I would definitely say yes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
Great action movie, can't beat Sly and Kurt from back in the day. Best thing is the movie doesn't have all the social and political agenda that most of the garbage movies made today, just a great action movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
What more do you need to know then it's Stallone and Russell? Well who can resist an action film about L.A.s top two cops framed for a crime they didn't commit and have to go the lengths to prove their innocence. It's not a complicated story at all. Is that what anyone who's looking here expecting that anyway? It's just a fun action film packed with a ton of adventure and overflowing testosterone. Stallone and Russell stick right with each other in toughness and good bad jokes. Clearly Kurt Russell is the better actor, but they compliment each other well. If you're looking for a good time with a good plot and a mystery to keep you guessing at a fair rate, you can't go wrong with Tango & Cash.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2015
Tango and Cash or Stallone and Russell. Two cops, two action stars. This isn't an original movie but damn, it's fun. Both Russell and Stallone are known for their action movies. Stallone's two dimensional persona and Russell's often over the top character make this movie worth hanging in to see.

Framed for things they didn't do by crime boss Yves Perret (Jack Palance) who wants them out of the way, Lieutenants Tango and Cash have to work together in order to take care of business and clear up their names and reputations. Palance, long known for his in your face acting, takes his character and runs with is. All business is Perret and Tango & Cash must GO!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
I bought this for my 80s action film collection. Im a huge fan of the cheesyness and over-the-topness of 80s movies in general, but this was a little bad. It has moments, but i was hoping for either a better movie or a worse one. With these 2 stars, they shouldve hit this one out of the park, but they fell way short. I was secretly hoping for more memorable awful lines, and there were many, but some were actually more embarrassing. Rent it, dont buy it- unless youre a collector- in which case the quality of the disc is superb and worth the $6-7 it cost to buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse