Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tank Girl 3 (Remastered Edition)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
27
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 8, 2005
Tank Girl was more than some British indie comic book creation. She was a proverbial slap in the face to virtually everything mainstream. That is, of course, until she herself became a sellout (ahh Hollywood). This book represents the beginning of her golden age with Martin and Hewlett (now of Gorillaz fame) at the helm. She's raunchy, she's violent, she's strangely sexy and she gives new meaning to "girl power." While you may need urbandictionary.com to find out the meaning of all the British slang the authors use, and some gags relate to events of the early 90's - and are thus outdated, Tank Girl still holds up incredibly well after nearly fifteen years. This is a must read for anyone who loves indie comics and/or period peices with an insight into a particularly rebellious subculture of the last decade.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2003
This book is the best... Tank Girl is my hero. The characters are fabulous, and the dialouge is terrific. There are a thousand little one liners that had me in stitches. There isn't any well developed plot to speak of, but I think a having a plot would totally kill the joy of Tank Girl. It's really low brow humor at it's finest. Everything from the opening story to the Tank Girl monolouges -- it's wonderful.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2003
... Tank Girl rules!!! I can imagine that some people would not be into it, but nonetheless, the drawings are so awesome, the layout of the comic itself is totally original, and the stories are beyond insane. Maybe it's not a good comic for the very straight-forward narrow minded individual... But if you enjoy Bloody senseless death to random people, hot chicks(with huge guns), bizarre sex jokes, and well, possibly drugs, you will love the Tank Girl series. I recommend books 1-3, after that, Alan Martin is no longer the writer, and I feel that him and Jamie Hewlett (The artist) are a great combo. Tank Girl rules, I got the first book, now I am obsessed and I own them all. Long live Tank Girl! (But not long live the movie!)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2009
This was the concluding volume for the "Remastered Tank Girl Series." Once again, as I have said in the reviews for the previous editions, this book is a wonderful TPB compilation of the comic with extras and an introduction to set the scene. A side note about that introduction: In spite of what Alan Martin wrote about him and Jamie wanting to take Tank Girl as far away from the movie as possible, this compilation seems more like the first volume, i.e. the prefilm years that the movie tried to mimic. Anyway, the content used in this volume is black and white and in color, while the art is constantly shifting to a new style, either due to Jamie Hewlett being a chameleon, or because new talent was brought in. The plot, although makes a psychadelic/homage turn every now and then like in the second volume, mostly sticks to the usual randomness that you see in Volume 1. Overall, I thought it was trying to match the material of the earlier years. Nevertheless, my only serious complaint about it is that they seemed to barely have enough material to fill this volume up with. It felt like this volume was way shorter than the others.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2014
This is a must-read comic, definitely worth having in your library, would recommend to all, although it can be a bit cheeky at times. This trilogy is at least the minimum amount of tank girl one should have read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2012
I love Tank Girl! She has a crazy attitude but does show some very tiny soft spots in her personality. Funny, witty, stylish!! Anyway, i ordered some of the books that arrived in great condition. They arrived in the timeframe specified and i thoroughly enjoy them. I plan on continuing to add to the collection here and there when possible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2007
tank girl is the chronicles of a post apocalyptic beer-swilling punk-chic tank commander and the crew of misfits shes friends with. the motley crew includes, jet girl and sub girl, booga (tank girl's mutant kangaroo boyfriend), and stevie the surfer aborigonee. the art is really wild and imaginative but somewhat uneven, sometimes its really good and sometimes the characters look extremely crudely drawn. the plot is nonexistant and the comic relies heavily on slapstick, swearing, booze and extreme violence coupled with silliness, but it works. its a genre piece aimed at hipsters and punk kids but i like it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
I ordered this book because it said it was used but acceptable. I don't think two whole pages being cut out is acceptable considering its a comic and you need the dialogue to know whats happening. VERY disappointing. The comic Tank Girl itself is amazing but the fact that it arrived like this is not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2009
The only real issue I had with this book was that some of the font in the text bubbles were hard to read, a better script could have been used here and there, but overall Tank Girl is a solid and entertaining graphic novel with quirky humor - it's not for everyone - and a worthy part of any graphic novel fan's collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
Loved it, the product was in a very good state although second hand, it arrived to me real quick and, well.. I was expecting a demential, over-the-top, sassy, sexy graphic novel and that's exactly what I got
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse