Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy alternate version to an awesome album!
Another reviewer criticized that the remixes paid too much respect to the originals. If you are considering purchasing this set of remixes from Bebel's wonderful TANTO TEMPO album, this is a key point to consider. If you are looking for radical revisions of the tunes--to or beyond the point where the original versions remain recognizable--then you may be disappointed by...
Published on December 8, 2001 by J. Lund

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 and 1/2 stars...
I stumbled across this compilation at my local Goodwill. Familiar with the name Bebel Gilberto, if not her music, I picked it up having recognized Peter Kruder as one of the remix artists. So I come to this not as one who knows her music but as a techno geek who loves such artists as Thievery Corporation and Kruder & Dorfmeister (half the duo being the Peter Kruder...
Published on September 21, 2006 by A. Ort


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy alternate version to an awesome album!, December 8, 2001
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
Another reviewer criticized that the remixes paid too much respect to the originals. If you are considering purchasing this set of remixes from Bebel's wonderful TANTO TEMPO album, this is a key point to consider. If you are looking for radical revisions of the tunes--to or beyond the point where the original versions remain recognizable--then you may be disappointed by what you hear here.
I respect that opinion, but for me I am elated that these remixes retain the flavor of the originals. Bebel's original vocal tracks mostly remain in the foreground..it is just her accompiament that gets more aggressive grooves. If you think you will enjoy the contrast of Bebel's smooth, emotive vocals over a more rhythmic (but still compatible) backdrop, then I highly recommend this album. It's like having a second look at an excellent album that is as focused on Bebel's musical strengths as the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, February 9, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
I actually heard these remixes BEFORE hearing the originals, inspired to buy the CD after hearing it play in the music store. Now it's a favorite, along with the original. Both are outstanding, in my "Top 5, play anytime" list. Heartily recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tropical Downtempo Delight!!!, October 19, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
I can't say enough about this album, really! If you're a bossa nova, downtempo, tropical-loungey music type of fan, you'll absolutely love TANTO TEMPO REMIXES. For this project, some of the best in the bizz were commisioned to remix Bebel's gourgeous, sultry bossa Brazilian voice, each with their own personal flavour and style, remarkably adding (without detracting) a special touch to the already near-perfect debut album TANTO TEMPO. Standout tracks for me are the groovey, funky Rae & Christian remix of Bananeira, Truby Trio's jazzy, tropical rerub of Sem Contencao, the electro-luscious Chateau Flight take on August Day Song, Ananda Projects soulfully-housey Alguem, and last, but certainly not least, the deep, moody, intrigue of Peter Kruder's digital-esque reconstruction of the title track Tanto Tempo. As always, six degrees has proven itself to be a forward-thinking, modern music label, adding yet another release of class and quality to it's ever-expanding roster of wonderful electronic and world music! So what else are you waiting for, go get it already!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Lounge Music, December 24, 2007
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
As a DJ, I acquired this album after viewing the list of remixers and knowing of Bebel Gilberto. I did not listen to the original album, but don't really think it's a matter of one album being "better" than the other. I regularly use tracks from this album in my sets - particularly for late in a cocktail hour when people are settled in and feeling good, and things can get kicked up a notch in tempo and volume. My favorite remixes on this album are Chateau Flight's "August Day Song", Chari Chari's "Tanto Tempo" and "Bananeria" by Rae & Christian. The lush arrangements and beautiful voice of Bebel Gilberto transport the listener to an afternoon at the beach in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANYTHING FROM BEBEL I'LL BUY!!, November 7, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
I'm a Bebel Gilberto fan. Her voice & style is truly awesome!! I bought this album on pre-sale, knowing that at least it'd be good...and it's very good indeed, although the original Tanto Tempo album is the "masterpiece", no doubt (it deserves more than five stars). The remixes are lively, most of them electronic-techno-oriented (of course), but do not surpass the original versions, with one exception: "Bananeira", which in my opinion improves on the original. Other remixes that stand appart from the lot are Mario Caldato's "So Nice" (I love this song)and Faze Action's "Close your Eyes", because they tend to "capture" the brazilian flavor and do not differ too much from the originals. In the totally electronic-techno-oriented trend, Peter Kruder's "Tanto Tempo" is the best. If you are a Bebel fan, this one must be in your collection. We're waiting for the follow-up to "Tanto Tempo"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth, January 31, 2002
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
After being released over a year ago, Bebel Gilberto's original album "Tuto Tempo" remains
tightly lodged at the very top of Billboards World Music charts. In what amounts to a worldwide Bossa Nova phenomenon, Brazilian music in the last 5 years has inspired a vast number of talented producers from Europe all the way to Asia. This collection of
reconstructions and remixes by Peter Kruder(Kruder and Dorfmeister), Rae and Christian, King Britt, Reiner Truby Trio, Da Lata, 4hero, and others, is not only impressive for the talent it gathers on one record, but also for transcending the original versions and elevating them to new grounds, while retaining all of Bebel's smooth tropical sensuality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disagree with the Criticism, September 18, 2008
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
I disagree strongly with the criticism here. Those who say that it lacks originality should note that the title clearly says REMIXES. You're not going to hear brand new songs - that's really not the point of a remix album! And I don't think it takes away from the original at all. It's very refreshing! It's really neat how Bebel's buttery smooth voice washes over you to create a tranquil calm setting in the original, but in the remixes, it's exciting and upbeat but still has the same character. Same great music for 2 very different atmospheres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 and 1/2 stars..., September 21, 2006
By 
A. Ort "aorto" (Youngstown, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
I stumbled across this compilation at my local Goodwill. Familiar with the name Bebel Gilberto, if not her music, I picked it up having recognized Peter Kruder as one of the remix artists. So I come to this not as one who knows her music but as a techno geek who loves such artists as Thievery Corporation and Kruder & Dorfmeister (half the duo being the Peter Kruder noted above) who have introduced me to a collection of artists I'd never otherwise hear.

Compilations such as this remix album are a great way to listen to something new. It's obvious that the backbone of these mixes is Bebel Gilberto's music and it is quite lovely, though I will have to venture forth and obtain the original of this album.

But to compare it to the original is to miss the point. Of course it isn't the original and of course one should have the original. But remixes, in my opinion, are a great way to introduce people to the often inspired alternative versions one can make, even from a great original. Such is the case here.

There are some clunkers on here but many of them are quite stunning the highlights being Peter Kruder's version of "Tanto Tempo" and Rae & Christian's take on "Bananeira". Others are mere background music, though nice background music at that. All in all this is a good mix to put on for some downtempo mood music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, March 1, 2006
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for one track - Tanto Tempo, remixed by Peter Kruder, which combines the best of Kruder's work and Bebel's work. It is sublime! TThe other tracks vary from average to good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is SEXY and TRIPPY... New Brazil is here, and it's good, REAL GOOD !, June 19, 2005
By 
Amazodonte (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tanto Tempo Remixes (Audio CD)
These remixes make of this album an incredible accomplishment. It is a remarkable combination of electronic music and sexy bossa nova. If you like downtempo/midtempo lounge music, please give this one a try. It will amaze you. This CD is sooo good, it can actually be the beginning of a new music genre all on its own: SEXELECTROBOSSA.

A very talented crew of master DJ's/Producers like Rae & Christian, Trüby Trio, and Peter Kruder, to name a few, have made of this album a true masterpiece. But beware, these are not your traditional "Nu Brazil" remixes. This is a very diffirent album, with a very distinctive sound. It is definitely sexy, somewhat futuristic, and very very trippy. Quite unique.

Sexy bossa nova has never sounded so good and contemporary. Pour a glass of your favorite drink, light up a candle and let the music take you on this amazing trip...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa91ce7b0)

This product

Tanto Tempo Remixes
Tanto Tempo Remixes by Bebel Gilberto (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.