Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold movie that states the price of glory.
An overlooked, gripping drama that is notable for its young rising stars (Timothy Hutton, Sean Penn, Tom Cruise) and also its prescience, as noted by another commentator here, although I think that none of the Amazon reviewers to date has hit the nail on the head with "Taps" and its overarching theme.

The movie begins fairly conventionally, with the teenage...
Published on February 9, 2005 by R.L. Holly

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray is a bad case of edge enhancement
I'm only reviewing the Blu-ray, not the movie which I guess everybody is familiar with.

This is one of the worst disks I've seen when it comes to edge enhancement (meaning halos around every person and object). The picture looks completely artificial. I don't understand this. The picture was obviously soft to begin with but we're talking here about a movie from...
Published on May 25, 2011 by schmidtc


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie and service, May 25, 2009
By 
Tommy V (Beachwood, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taps (Special Edition) (DVD)
First off, recieved movie in a just a few days after ordering. Nicely shippped. Movie is still a great one. Kind of neat seeing Sean Penn and Tom Cruise so young and in the same movie. Overall, just a great all around expierence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must -see for young leaders!, March 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Taps [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Taps is a powerful reminder of how youthful passions can lead to disastrous results if misguided or led out of context. Very good acting by Tim Hutton and George C. Scott. Also a glimse of young Tom Cruise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TAPS, October 28, 2009
This review is from: Taps (DVD)
I thought this was a pretty good movie. I was on the edge of my seat to see if they were going to live, who was going to die, and what would cause their breaking point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "When they ask why they died . . . ", March 16, 2006
By 
Larry Scantlebury (Ypsilanti, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taps (DVD)
This movie is 25 years old now and to say it was prescient of anything, including the extraordinary careers to be enjoyed by Penn and Cruise, requires a heady dose of disbelief suspension.

When Alfred Lord Tennyson's son was killed at the Battle of the Somme, the greatest slaughter of humankind in any one day in the history of the world, he wrote, "When they ask you why they died, tell them because their fathers lied."

And I think that's the key to the movie. Penn's 'surrender with honor' and Cruise's 'death before dishonor' and Hutton's Hamlet-like indecisiveness, are the troika of what war embraces. Should we be at war, ever? Certainly not. Will we continue to be at war? Of course. And the battle within the mind is that there is no finish line of resolution. Certainly it is not decided by who euphemistically "won."

And here is the tougher question. Of the three roles portrayed by Hutton, Cruise and Penn, who was right? Well I submit to you that as long as we are going to pursue this folly, war, they all were right. And, they all were wrong.

And to add to the confusion, again picking on Hutton, Cruise and Penn, what if we don't have the Academy representing a kind of a medieval Honor Code, but we call it a church in San Antonio. Or a hotel in Ruwanda. What do you do then? It's kind of like drugs. Good drugs? Bad drugs? Who decides?

And you can even take it into the future and say what if unstable nations, some sworn to destroy the Great Satan, America, arm themselves with nuclear rockets?

See I don't think Cadet Shawn (Cruise) is wrong any more than I think Cadet Dwyer (Penn) is right. They are regrettably both right and wrong.

I gave it 4 stars because there are other movies, Paths of Glory for example, who don't fool you with child stars. They don't give you the easy way out. Do you build a bridge because you are in a Japanese prison camp in Burma or do you build the best bridge anyone built, better than the Japanese could build themselves? But it is a good movie and it is thought provoking. 4 stars. Larry Scantlebury
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, March 8, 2007
By 
Bernard P. Finn Jr. (Bridgeport, Ct. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taps (Special Edition) (DVD)
I have always loved the movie and the DVD with all of the extras is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taps, June 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taps [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Classic. Very young Tom Cruise ,Sean Penn and Timothy Hutton. Already can see how good they are. Excellent character portrayed. Vivid story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie and DVD, July 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taps (Special Edition) (DVD)
I got this dvd as a present for my husband who likes military topics. It is an excellent movie and the quality of the video is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray is a bad case of edge enhancement, May 25, 2011
This review is from: Taps [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm only reviewing the Blu-ray, not the movie which I guess everybody is familiar with.

This is one of the worst disks I've seen when it comes to edge enhancement (meaning halos around every person and object). The picture looks completely artificial. I don't understand this. The picture was obviously soft to begin with but we're talking here about a movie from 1981. What can you expect? So the proper thing would have been to leave it soft instead of all this terrible contrast boosting. Bottom line: Stay with the DVD. This disk is a clear case of improvement for the worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Cruise IS crazy!, December 28, 2007
This review is from: Taps (Special Edition) (DVD)
I loved this movie when it first came out. Tim Hutton and Sean Penn are brilliant. Watching all these years later, though, I find myself wondering why there are no faculty at this school. No staff, no maintenance crew, only the General and a bunch of boys. Odd. Even more odd is that I didn't even notice 20 years ago. Still, a good watch on a rainy day, even it's just to see Tom Cruise firing a machine gun out the window like a maniac and screaming, "It's beautiful, Man!!! Beautiful!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tap into a little Star power!, December 21, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Taps (Special Edition) (DVD)
Astonishing cast in hindsight. Timothy Hutton holds his own, despite other reviewer's opinions - - - to which they are entitled - - - but Penn and Cruise do strut their stuff and foreshadow their star power. George C. Scott had begun his long and storied decline by this film and it is touching to see him herding these young Hollywood stallions along toward their careers. The movie has deep meaning for any and all who went to a military academy while seeming much more shallow to those who attended public or private schools without the martial mindset. Highly recommended to one and all, if only to see today's stars in their career infancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Taps [Blu-ray]
Taps [Blu-ray] by Hutton (Blu-ray - 2011)
$16.99 $8.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.