Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino XX Blu-Ray Review & Titles Included Clarity
To start, I own each of these already on dvd previously before picking up the Blu-Ray. I felt obligated to do so because of some of the additional special features, as well as, seeing each of them look gorgeous on Blu-Ray together. Was I right by picking this up. Absolutely love it all.
I've read quite a few reviewers trying to understand why True Romance is included...
Published on November 25, 2012 by Philip Luckasavage

versus
29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, cheap packaging.
This is an amazing set of movies from an amazing filmmaker, and on Blu Ray non the less! I was, however, VERY unimpressed with the quality and design of the packaging. The box that holds all of the disks is quite flimsy. It is easy to bend, and could also rip without too much effort. The disk insert itself is also quite flimsy, and comes out from the BOTTOM of the box,...
Published 23 months ago by Kyle Gorman


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino XX Blu-Ray Review & Titles Included Clarity, November 25, 2012
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
To start, I own each of these already on dvd previously before picking up the Blu-Ray. I felt obligated to do so because of some of the additional special features, as well as, seeing each of them look gorgeous on Blu-Ray together. Was I right by picking this up. Absolutely love it all.
I've read quite a few reviewers trying to understand why True Romance is included when Mr. Tarantino only wrote this. Then why not include From Dusk Till Dawn or Natural Born Killers because he wrote those as well. If you read up on a lot of his movies are within the same universe. "John Travolta's Vincent Vega in Pulp Fiction is the brother of Michael Madsen's Vic Vega in Reservoir Dogs, Harvey Keitel's Mr. White worked with Alabama from True Romance, the plot basis for Kill Bill is described as the synopsis for a TV series (basically Fox Force Five, right on down to Mia Wallace playing the title role) in Pulp Fiction, etc. Now the epiphany that Eli Roth's character of Donny Donowitz aka "The Bear Jew" in Inglourious Basterds is the father of the movie producer Lee Donowitz in True Romance has inspired a truly mind-blowing theory that the rest of the films (chronologically speaking) in Tarantino's filmography..." The other movies he has written do not truly fit within the "universe" Mr. Tarantino has created.
All in all, this is an amazing, must have collection to pick up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, cheap packaging., December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an amazing set of movies from an amazing filmmaker, and on Blu Ray non the less! I was, however, VERY unimpressed with the quality and design of the packaging. The box that holds all of the disks is quite flimsy. It is easy to bend, and could also rip without too much effort. The disk insert itself is also quite flimsy, and comes out from the BOTTOM of the box, not the side like most other collections. This may be an issue if you plan on keeping this on a shelf. Someone may take this off the shelf and the entire collections of disks will come out from the bottom if you aren't ready to catch them. The inner sleeve comes out with no effort at all. The artwork and graphic design included on the packaging is very awesome which is a plus. Perhaps they had to use such cheap materials to keep the cost low on a 10 disk Blu Ray set? I don't see an excuse for the opening to be on the bottom, though. That is just poor design. I have made a strap to go around the outside of the box to keep the inner sleeve from coming right out any time this collection is picked up. If you can get past the materials used and poor design of the packaging, this is a MUST HAVE collection for any Tarantino fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, yes, yes!!!, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Who doesn't love Tarantino? This is a great collection and it also looks great on the shelf! Buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has Quentin Really Been Around XX yrs?, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Even though I've seen the movies in this collection I wanted to have them all in one box as a special edition. I love the look of the box. And of course, with Amazon- I ordered it and had it two days later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great films, but not a lot of extra features to set it apart from the individual DVD/Blu-ray releases, October 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First off, Tarantino's films are excellent and should be watched by any lover of film. However, If you already own a few of his movies on DVD or Blu-ray then I would not necessarily recommend buying this set. The only film with a commentary track seems to be True Romance, and I was disappointed to see that Reservoir Dogs from this set has significantly less special features than my 10th anniversary edition DVD of it. The two bonus disks in this set do have hours of features, but it's mostly critics or people vaguely associated with a film talking. Rarely is Tarantino or any member of the films shown giving their input. The artwork on the box and dvds is quite excellent, and I can probably say that it's one of the contributing reasons of my decision to purchase this box set. The box itself, however, is pretty flimsy, and mine came delivered in a pre-beaten up condition. There were plenty of scratches, dents, and one of the disk holders was cracked pretty bad.

Final verdict: If you don't own any of his films, and/or you mainly want this for collection reasons then go for it, but if you are looking for extra features and commentaries to set it apart from the previous DVD releases, then you are out of luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have collection for all Tarantino fans., August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love tarantino so for me this is great a collection . I mean all my favorite movies in one box it couldn't get any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Tarantino Fan, May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm a big fan of QT, so this was a no brainer purchase. Comes with a look back at all of Tarantino's classic films and a good amount of special features. Not sure why True Romance was included as he was only the writer, but it's a must have for a QT fan. I already own most of the movies on DVD, but the upgrade to Blu-Ray was a necessity. Would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice, But Delicate, June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Everything described is included, and it looks great. However, the cardboard slip cover is rather flimsy, as is the spindle casing holding the discs. This must be handled with tender care if it's going to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yes & no, June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great product but disappointed when I walked into best buy a few days after receiving it and found it for almost 15 dollars less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love my box set!, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarantino XX: 8-Film Collection (Reservoir Dogs / True Romance / Pulp Fiction / Jackie Brown / Kill Bill: Vol. 1 / Kill Bill: Vol. 2 / Death Proof / Inglourious Basterds) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Has the best of his movies and a TON of extra stuff. Totally worth the buy. The art inside is awesome, it's a very good looking case. Though I'm not sure why they designed the cover so that the case that holds the discs goes in from the bottom (which means when you hold the box set, it tends to slip out) but that's my only concern. I don't want someone to pick it up to look at it and have the case slip from the sleeve and break. Cuz then I might go all Tarantino on them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.