Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Django - Unchained and off the hook
"Django Unchained" is the soundtrack to the Quentin Tarantino movie of the same name and much like soundtracks to his other movies, contains snippets of film dialogue, a few Ennio Morricone instrumentals, and some songs written especially for the movie - the latter a first for a Tarantino movie.

A trio of sweeping cinematic sixties/seventies ballads by...
Published 19 months ago by Nse Ette

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty great movie tracks, missing the last track
First, this is a bit different than Q's first couple soundtracks (Pulp, Reservoir) which contained lots of great seldom-heard super-cool 70s tunes. This collection is closer to what you get with Kill Bill. It has more 70s cinema music than radio hits. There is some original and resampled hip hop that's not bad, and this is coming from a guy who doesn't own any hip hop...
Published 19 months ago by Jeffrey Stanley


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Django - Unchained and off the hook, December 18, 2012
By 
"Django Unchained" is the soundtrack to the Quentin Tarantino movie of the same name and much like soundtracks to his other movies, contains snippets of film dialogue, a few Ennio Morricone instrumentals, and some songs written especially for the movie - the latter a first for a Tarantino movie.

A trio of sweeping cinematic sixties/seventies ballads by Argentine/Italian composer Luis Bacalov feature; the Tom Jones-style "Django", the groovy Soul of "Lo Chiamavano King (His Name Is King)" and the dramatic instrumental "La Corsa (2nd Version)". Three beautiful Morricone instrumentals also feature; the guitar-driven pair of "The Braying Mule" and "Sister Sara's Theme" and the theatrical "Un Monumento". Anthony Hamilton and Elayna Boynton (who sounds like a cross between Leela James and Norah Jones) perform the lovely acoustic soulful "Freedom" singing the chorus "I'm looking for freedom, looking for freedom, and to find it, cost me everything I have, well I'm looking for freedom, I'm looking for freedom, and to find it, may take everything I have" against clanking chains in the background.

The folky "I Got A Name" is by Jim Croce, while "I Giorni Dell'ira" is a beautiful spaghetti western-style instrumental by Riz Ortolani. Rapper Rick Ross performs the Jamie Foxx-produced "100 Black Coffins". "I need 100 black coffins for 100 bad men / dig 100 black graves so I can lay they a** in" he raps against pseudo-martial beats and ominous harmonies. "Nicaragua" is a spare instrumental by Jerry Goldsmith", while the haunting acoustic "Ancora Qui" is by Elisa Toffoli and Morricone, recorded specially for the movie. The retro Funk "Unchained (The Payback / Untouchable)" is by James Brown and 2Pac. The midtempo "Who Did that To You" is by John Legend and is the brilliance one would expect from him. "Too Old to Die Young" is Delta Blues by Brother Edge, and closing cut "Trinity (Titoli)" features a distinctive whistle and is by Annibale E i Cantori Moderni.

The older songs came from Tarantino's vinyl collection, complete with all the pops and cracks to add to the atmosphere. The new fits in with the old like a glove, even Rick Ross' Hip Hop. A winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty great movie tracks, missing the last track, December 25, 2012
By 
Jeffrey Stanley (Wichita, KS United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First, this is a bit different than Q's first couple soundtracks (Pulp, Reservoir) which contained lots of great seldom-heard super-cool 70s tunes. This collection is closer to what you get with Kill Bill. It has more 70s cinema music than radio hits. There is some original and resampled hip hop that's not bad, and this is coming from a guy who doesn't own any hip hop albums made after the mid 90s and usually isn't a hip hop fan. There are a handful of "classic" western tracks which are more novelty for film nerds, than fun to listen to, but overall the music is enjoyable. I haven't watched the film yet, but I'm sure all of these will grow on me after I've actually seen the flick.

Amazon is selling this for less than half of the cost of the same album on iTunes. Five Dollars versus fourteen dollars (prices on Christmas 2012). It's a pretty great value.

Keep in mind when you buy from Amazon, you don't get the final "credits" track from RZA. This track is essential to the soundtrack and will set you back a dollar and thirty cents on iTunes. It's an original track written to re-tell the movie while the credits roll.

If amazon included the RZA track "Ode to Django," I would rate this album four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Soundtrack Serving As A Sound Companion To It's Parent Film, January 7, 2013
The soundtrack to Quentin Tarantino's most recent film Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (starring Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio, Christoph Waltz, Samuel L. Jackson, etc.) complements the film superbly. Listening to a soundtrack out of context gives a different spin as opposed if you are critiquing the soundtrack within the confines of the film itself. While this compilation works well either way (I listened before seeing the film), it connects BEST to the listener within the film or having seen the film. Within the soundtrack, not only is music included, but so are memorable spoken word dialogues from the script.

Amongst spoken dialogue included are "Winged", an :08 snippet performed by James Russo (plays Dicky Speck), which appears within the first few moments of the film and initiates the soundtrack. "Django", composed by famed Argentine composer Luis Bacalov, reappears from the composer's original Django soundtrack. The perfect music for a western, "Django" serves as a perfect theme within Quentin Tarantino's context as well. "The Braying Mule" ("Il Mulo Regliante"), a product of Italian film composer Ennio Morricone, continues to lift the soundscape with brilliant, classic, and eclectic sounds that complement the film and are equally pleasant to listen to outside of the film. Featuring guitar, flute, percussion, and sitar, "The Braying Mule" is one of many Ennio Morricone features from Django Unchained.

"In The Case of Django, After You..." is a spoken dialogue between Christoph Waltz (Dr. Schultz) and Jamie Foxx (Django) lasting every bit of :38. Luis Bacalov is the featured famed film composer once more on "Lo Chiamavano King (My Name Is King)", originating from Lo Chiamavano King . Roots-soul cut "Freedom" is a standout, performed by a raspy Elayna Boynton and a gritty Anthony Hamilton. "I'm looking for freedom / looking for freedom / and to find it / cost me everything I have..." fits perfect within the concept of slavery and doing anything to attain freedom. Both vocalists seem a sound fit for this number in particular.

"Five-Thousand Dollar [...] and Gummy Mouth [...]" is a spoken portion of the film in which Dr. Schultz and Django go to `Big Daddy's' plantation, etc. "La Corsa (2nd Version)" (Luis Bacalov) continues a series of exceptional film music classics (Django), followed by :34 spoken word dialogue "Sneaky Schultz and the Demise of Sharp". Jim Croce's 1973 classic "I Got A Name" (no. 10 on the Billboard Hot 100), fits perfectly on both the soundtrack and within the scope of the film, given its themes/lyrics of having a `dream' and of course definitive title lyric "I got a Name".

Riziero Ortolani contrasts the prominence of Luis Bacalov and Ennio Morricone with his past "I Giorni Dell'Ira" laying well with its jazz sensibilities, most notably blaring brass and gargantuan sounds. Rick Ross infuses a modern edge on the excellent "100 Black Coffins" in which he raps: "I need a hundred black coffins for a hundred bad men / a hundred black graves so I can lay they [...] in..." Ross even manages to throw in his distinguishing vocal cues ("Oh lord!"). No film soundtrack lifting classic film music seems right without the exceptional Jerry Goldsmith, whose "Nicaragua" makes a re-appearance from 1983's Academy Award Nominated soundtrack Under Fire: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. Nothing short of excellence from Goldsmith, who has provided a musical lift to so many notable films.

Samuel L. Jackson (who plays Stephen) delivers one of the film's more memorable moments on "Hildi's Hot Box", a spoken word segment in which Stephen informs plantation owner Leonardo Di Caprio (Calvin Candie) that Django's wife Brumhilda (Kerry Washington) is in the punishing `hot box'. Ennio Morricone returns with "Sister Sara's Theme", a slow, mysterious piece from his past film work. Ennio collaborates with Italian singer Elisa on the Italian original cut "Ancora Qui", a sure-fire frontrunner for an Oscar original song nod.

"Unchained (The Payback / Untouchable)" is a brilliant mashup of James Brown's 1973 classic ("The Payback" from the album of the same title) and 2Pac's "Untouchable" (2006's Pac's Life). John Legend keeps up the lofty momentum with his own gritty soul cut, "Who Did That To You", which only confirms how much Legend's constituency is ready for a new studio album from the soul star. Characterized by a thudding beat, soulful vocals, and a roots-driven sound, "Too Old To Die Young" is another exceptional cut courtesy of Brother Dege (AKA Dege Legg). This cut appears near the conclusion of the film when Django (Foxx) amps up his `bounty hunting' spree.

Samuel Jackson appears in two more spoken word portions ("Stephen The Poker Player" and the incredibly memorable "Six Shots Two Guns"). Similarly, Ennio Morricone ushers in two final cuts including "Un Monumento" and concluding cut "Trinity: Titolli".

Overall, Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is a well pieced together soundtrack. The mix of classics and originals bode well, with little complaints. Context aids in understanding the spoken word tracks obviously, but even for the person who has not seen the film, it is still an enjoyable addition to any soundtrack collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancora Qui, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have just bought the soundtrack and really like it. Can't wait to see "Django Unchained" (I have been waiting for this movie for years). Recently, I have been listening to a number of Morricone's tunes from his previous works and "Ancora Qui" (featuring vocals by Italian songwriter Elisa) is my favorite on this album. As I can speak and understand Italian, these lyrics telling about the loss of a loved one leave me breathless. No doubt composer Ennio Morricone is a genius, a living legend. A++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I wrong 'cause I wanna get it on til I die?, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained Original Motion Picture Soundtrack [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
Another masterful soundtrack from the mastermind of modern cinema. A distinct blend of classic old school western tracks, soul, rap and the quintessential Tarantino dialogue will make you feel like your starring in your own Spaghetti Western.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ON REPEAT, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained Original Motion Picture Soundtrack [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
This soundtrack is phenomenal in its compilation and emotional evocations. Illustrated with track 16, "Ancora Qui", I haven't any idea she's saying or what the song's about, but it doesn't matter. I still love it for how it makes me feel. The whole album is like this. I can't stop listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., November 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was haunted in the movie by the music as it kind of tells it own story and it's even better when you have the whole thing uncut and uninterrupted. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DJango SPlatter Vinyl purchsed from this listing, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Solid 2xLP on killer Splatter (red/white) vinyl. The product descrition doesn't state so, but I took a gamble and received it last Friday. Quinton always steps it up for all his movie Merch. Buy this and you'll thank me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, December 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained Original Motion Picture Soundtrack [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
Love it, just love it. It went great with the movie so getting the album just added to my happiness. Woot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Django Uncahined - "The D is Silent", December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Quentin Tarantino is the master when it comes to using music in movies. No matter what the situation, the music always perfectly captures the emotion that you are seeing on screen. "Django Unchained" is one of the most interesting and diverse movie soundtracks to be released in a long time. I highly recommend it (along with all of Tarantino's other soundtracks - check out "Jackie Brown" and "Inglourious Basterds" if you haven't done so already).

There are a lot of great songs on this album - a few newly produced for the film, but most are older songs. My two personal favorites are "Who Did That to You?" by John Legend and "100 Black Coffins" by Rick Ross. But every song on this album is memorable.

Instead of using an original score, Tarantino uses existing music from classic films. Therefore, on this album you will find tracks from the great film composers Ennio Morricone and Jerry Goldsmith. Among them, "Sister Sara's Theme" and "Un Monumento" are the best. These cues have been taken from other westerns and have been re-purposed for use in Tarantino's film.

Another unqiue touch is that this album includes some dialogue from the film... normally this would be useless on a soundtrack, but the writing in this film is so great and the actors deliver the lines in a way that almost make it sound musical. So while listening to this album, every once in a while you'll hear a memorable quote from Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz, and Samuel L. Jackson, among others.

**Note: iTunes seems to have an exclusive 24th track - "Ode to Django" by RZA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.