Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for extras
These were purchased for extra batteries for my camera, since I tend to run into dead batteries in the middle of the most inopportune times. They have perfomed exactly like I expected, and it is nice to have the spares on hand, when you are miles from a electrical plug.
Published on January 28, 2008 by Cheryl Barnes

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time
I received those Targus AA NiMH 2700 mAh Capacity Batteries together with the TG-LC2700 Charger. Right out of the package, those batteries were completely discharged. This is not surprising for high-capacity NiMH cells, because they suffer from rapid self-discharge problem. What is surprising is that: I placed those dead cells into the Targus '2-hour' charger, and the...
Published on October 11, 2009 by NLee the Engineer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time, October 11, 2009
This review is from: Targus Digital 4 pack AA NiMH 2700 mAh Capacity Batteries (Electronics)
I received those Targus AA NiMH 2700 mAh Capacity Batteries together with the TG-LC2700 Charger. Right out of the package, those batteries were completely discharged. This is not surprising for high-capacity NiMH cells, because they suffer from rapid self-discharge problem. What is surprising is that: I placed those dead cells into the Targus '2-hour' charger, and the charging was done in less than 15 minutes. Something doesn't add up here.

I proceeded to analyze those cells using my La Crosse BC-900 Charger. I was shocked to find out that: the initial capacity of those cells were only 100-240mAh - less than 10% of the rated capacity. I can only imagine how a typical user would feel, when he/she uses those cells in a digital camera.

Lucky for me, the BC-900 has a Discharge/Refresh operation exactly for this situation. The capacity improved gradually with subsequent recharge cycles. After more than 12 cycles (which took several days), three of those cells reached 1740mAh and cannot be improved any further. The fourth one is slightly better at 1900mAh. Still, the average is only 2/3 that of the rated capacity of '2700mAh'.

So... I have wasted enough time on those poor-quality batteries with exaggerated capacity. But hopefully, you who read this don't have to go through the same trouble. Stay with low-self-discharge cells such as SANYO eneloop instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Battery Life, March 22, 2009
By 
La Catrina (Wheaton, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Targus Digital 4 pack AA NiMH 2700 mAh Capacity Batteries (Electronics)
We also tried to use these batteries in our Canon 590IS and found that they lasted only a short time (maybe 10 pictures). We had purchased the batteries along with a Targus charger. We tried the batteries in a AA powered lint remover as well and had the same experience. They weren't strong enough to power the lint remover when pressed against the clothing. I'd love to find out why they're not working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't last 8 hours, January 15, 2009
By 
This review is from: Targus Digital 4 pack AA NiMH 2700 mAh Capacity Batteries (Electronics)
I got these batteries 3 days ago. Put them on the charger and today put 2 of them in my Kodak PowerShot A590IS. I took 33 pictures. Then I went shopping and left the camera home. While I was cooking dinner I thought I would review the pictures. Turned the camera on and it flashed the change battery light at me.

So I changed over to the two others, and immediately the screen told me to change batteries. Those were dead too.

Tomorrow they are going back to the store. They are JUNK batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for extras, January 28, 2008
By 
Cheryl Barnes (Bushnell, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Targus Digital 4 pack AA NiMH 2700 mAh Capacity Batteries (Electronics)
These were purchased for extra batteries for my camera, since I tend to run into dead batteries in the middle of the most inopportune times. They have perfomed exactly like I expected, and it is nice to have the spares on hand, when you are miles from a electrical plug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent rechargeable NiMH 2700 mAh batteries, September 12, 2009
By 
This review is from: Targus Digital 4 pack AA NiMH 2700 mAh Capacity Batteries (Electronics)
these batteries are excellent for applications that require high output, they do keep their charge when used with a nickel metal hydride battery charger, please charge the battery on slow level for about 8 to 10 hours when a recharge is needed and you will be pleased with the results
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merkury batteries and charger, February 25, 2008
By 
T. Berger (Oakland, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Targus Digital 4 pack AA NiMH 2700 mAh Capacity Batteries (Electronics)
I first got a four-pack and charger in 2001 for my Canon A-85.

I also got a four-pack of Evereadys. Though the same capacity, those
never lasted as long and gave out long ago.

I've got two more 4-packs of Merkurys a couple years ago and all
12 batteries are still chugging. The oldest are 2500mah and the
two new packs are 2600mah.

The Merkury charger plugs into
110v or 220v or the car. It works in all of them. It charges
two or 4 batteries. The charger and batteries have been around
the world a couple times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Targus Digital 4 pack AA NiMH 2700 mAh Capacity Batteries
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.