Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent interpretation.....not for beginners..
In THE TAROT OF THE GREEN WITCH, Ann Moura uses the paradigm known as "The Wheel of the Year' to organize and explain her interpretation of the cards of the major and minor arcana. If you are not familiar with the `Wheel of the Year' or basic Tarot concepts, you may find this book less than helpful. Even if you are familiar, you may note that here is yet another...
Published on April 28, 2005 by Dianne Foster

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a good venue for reference
This book is chock full of great information but I would not purchase it in an e-book format again. This would be great reference material to be able to thumb through. It's really hard to do that on a kindle.
Published on August 29, 2012 by Liz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent interpretation.....not for beginners.., April 28, 2005
This review is from: Tarot for the Green Witch (Paperback)
In THE TAROT OF THE GREEN WITCH, Ann Moura uses the paradigm known as "The Wheel of the Year' to organize and explain her interpretation of the cards of the major and minor arcana. If you are not familiar with the `Wheel of the Year' or basic Tarot concepts, you may find this book less than helpful. Even if you are familiar, you may note that here is yet another explanation of an ancient set of cards with an origin shrouded in the mist of time. These days, authors seldom provide citations and Moura is no exception, so I was only able to follow her comments about the various interpretations because I have assembled and read a library on this topic, as well as having various occult experiences.

Whether you accept Margaret Starbird's exposition linking the Tarot with an archaic Gnostic catechism, or Isabel Kliegman's interpretation which ties the Minor Arcana to the Kabbalah, or you accept a Jungian explanation, you will probably enjoy reading Moura's book.

Moura says she is not interested in the "Fire versus Air' argument for Swords and Wands or the reversal of the `Strength' and `Justice' cards in the Waite-Ryder deck produced by the Order of the New Dawn. Nor is she interested in which interpretation of the `Wheel of the Year' is "correct". She provides compelling reasons as to why she believes most experts agree the Tarot is not of European origin, and may in fact have originated in India, traveling west via Romania (Which in my mind makes no difference as the origin is "Indo-European" and thus the argument put forward by Rachel Pollock and Joseph Campbell regarding an association between the Tarot and the ancient near East is not disproved) .

Moura does not view Tarot cards as useful for "fortune telling", but rather she says they are for divination, which is a different matter. Fortune telling implies predestination, and if we have free will, which she believes we do, then events are not immutable or fixed. Divination implies future outcomes which can be affected.

I found this book both informative and helpful, and while I may not agree with every last aspect, I recommend it to anyone who has moved beyond the basic interpretations and wants to explore further. If you want a basic volume, check out Rachel Pollack's book SEVENTY-EIGHT DEGREES OF WISDOM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Way to Look at Tarot the Green Way, February 26, 2005
This review is from: Tarot for the Green Witch (Paperback)
This book has helped me so much in learning and understanding the Tarot.

The way Ann Moura explains the cards in the way of the Green Witch makes more sense, and works with any deck.

I chose to use my Herbal Tarot, and looking at the Fool as the Greenman, etc. makes reading Tarot cards so much easier.

The book has card from one of three different decks that are the author's favorites. Ann Moura suggests as you read about each card, to use place the card from your deck on top of the printed card in the book....it's like hands on, and really gets you familiar with your deck.

I highly suggest this book especially for beginners and those in the Craft of the Green Witch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT TAROT GUIDE, March 19, 2007
This review is from: Tarot for the Green Witch (Paperback)
This book is great instruction for "beginner" and "advanced" tarot readers. One of the best features of the book is the "major" and "minor" arcana card combinations and the Wiccan holidays linked the the Major Arcana. Each description of the cards in the book, enhances a the basic tarot "definitions" provided for any tarot deck or set. It has easy to follow instructions and I keep referring back to it years after I purchased it. I go back to it so much that the book binding is coming apart. I have over 25 tarot books and it is by far one of the best tarot books in the market. Other great books that can enhance a tarot reader's knowledge is Kala Trobe's,
Invoke the Gods: Exploring the Power of Male Archetypes and Invoke the Goddess: Exploring the Power of Female Archetypes. At the end of each of the meditations for the Gods and Goddesses there is a section called "Mundane Archetypes," Trobe includes personality types and descriptions that are linked to the tarot court cards...they are very detailed. I have added this knowledge to my tarot readings and it has given me more accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good tarot book, January 2, 2009
By 
Ayca Gurelman (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tarot for the Green Witch (Paperback)
I've already had a couple of Tarot books but this one is a real treasure. Not only Ann Moura mixes the tarot decks but also quite eclectic about her interpretations. If you already have some traditional tarot books in hand, this book may help you to broaden your perspective to understand how to read tarot cards, if that is going to be your first tarot book, you will not need a second one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Detailed, February 25, 2004
By 
"ivan00" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tarot for the Green Witch (Paperback)
I learned to read the Tarot with this book and my intuition. I amaze myself at what the cards help me see in others and myself.. I encourage anyone who is begining and learning the Tarot to read this book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tarot, July 1, 2014
This review is from: Tarot for the Green Witch (Paperback)
Anything written by Ann Moura is awesome, especially this book in the way she teaches tarot to her new students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting approach to Tarot., March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarot for the Green Witch (Paperback)
An excellently written study of Tarot from the perspective of "Green Witchcraft". Ann Maura has succeeded in getting us to take a slightly different view of Tarot that what we usually read.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarot for the Green Witch (Paperback)
Ann Moura writes fascinating, informative and very educational books. With this book, she does not use a single deck to illustrate and guide, but several different decks, using particular cards from each. This is very helpful as many tarot books deal with just one particular deck; and if that is not the deck you use, the information can sometimes be difficult to "translate".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarot for the Green Witch (Paperback)
This little book gives the novice a great amount of useful information. Anyone in the learning process will enjoy this new, but old information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The thing I like about this book is It covers some of the cards in the wheel of the year. It makes it easier to calculate time and when something can occur. it has some information that is very accurate and use full even to non witches like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tarot for the Green Witch
Tarot for the Green Witch by Aoumiel (Paperback - June 8, 2003)
$14.95 $12.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.