Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon David Bowie egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Shop Now Tikes

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by hippo_books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some light highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Tarzan Alive Mass Market Paperback – July, 1981

29 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$23.53 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more


Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback
  • Publisher: Playboy Press (July 1981)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 087216876X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0872168763
  • Product Dimensions: 6.9 x 3.7 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (29 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #851,781 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Christopher Paul Carey on March 23, 2006
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Far too long out of print, TARZAN ALIVE: THE DEFINITIVE BIOGRAPHY OF LORD GREYSTOKE is a postmodern classic that will appeal to readers of Edgar Rice Burroughs and Philip José Farmer, as well as those interested in parascholarship, fictional biographies, and literature in general. This is the book that launched the concept of the Wold Newton family, the genetic lineage exposed to a radioactive meteorite in 1795, thus spawning a number of great detectives, scientists, explorers, and adventurers, some of whom border on the superhuman. Farmer's addenda, expanding this concept to include a multitude of literary characters (such as those from Jane Austen's PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and Jack London's THE SEA WOLF, to name only a couple), alone make the cost of this book worth it.

This is truly the definitive edition of TARZAN ALIVE, and Bison Books has wisely added a number of extras that will make this edition worth owning even if one already has a Doubleday, Popular Library, or Playboy Paperbacks copy of the book. Collected here, but missing from the older versions of the book, are two gems: 1) "Extracts from the Memoirs of 'Lord Greystoke' (previously only available in the hard-to-find anthology MOTHER WAS A LOVELY BEAST); and 2) "Tarzan Lives: An Exclusive Interview with the Eighth Duke of Greystoke" (in which Farmer himself interviews the Jungle Lord). Further, the Bison Books edition includes an insightful new foreword by Win Scott Eckert (editor of MYTHS FOR THE MODERN AGE: PHILIP JOSÉ FARMER'S WOLD NEWTON UNIVERSE), which places TARZAN ALIVE in the context of "Sherlockian biographical scholarship," showing how Farmer's book is truly exemplary (and also transcendent) in the field of fictional biography.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Stephen A. Kallis, Jr. on May 29, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The author once indicated that the title was imposed upon him, but outside of the title, the book is thoroughly enjoyable. As with "Sherlock Holmes of Baker Street," this book is a biography of the title character.
In Farmer's case, he had to explain, among other things, how the young Tarzan learned how to speak, when the known great apes don't. Reconciling the history of Tarzan with what was known then, and at the time of the book's writing, was an exercise that took a lot of time and effort, and Mr. Farmer was up to the task.
A family tree, linking Tarzan to other famous literary figures, is included.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful By Kendal B. Hunter on April 20, 2006
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Bison Books has become one of my favorite publishing houses. They have taken upon themselves the almost thankless task of republishing the out of print classics-and I might add, the out of print essentials-of science fiction.

This new edition of "Tarzan Alive" is already a treasured possession. In addition to having the original text, they have included some of Philip Jose Farmer's extras, such as the text of his interview with Lord Greystoke and his worship's memories. We can, therefore, call this the "Director's Cut" edition.

By the way, the cover art takes the cake! I has to be my favorite image of Lord Greystoke!

For the uninitiated, "Tarzan Alive" is a faux-biography of Burroughs's famous ape man. What makes this book interesting is Farmer's extensive research: take a look at the Greystoke coat of arms-you get a feel for Farmer's desire to make Tarzan as real as possible. Another gem is Farmer's assertion that the apes were really a form of Australopitheci. This makes more sense, in as much as the apes have their on language, Mangani.

Although the book asserts that it is reprint "in its entirety" (p. vii), there is one omission. In the hardback editions, Farmer had included a genealogical table of Tarzan, and his many famous relatives, such as Sherlock Holmes, James Bond, and Doc Savage. Admittedly, in many of the later paperback editions this family tree was also omitted; however, I would have preferred it to be included.

For the curious, any good "World Newton Family" web page will have a copy of this key chart.

With that one let-down, I recommend this book for fans of the Ape Man, or anyone into the Victorian Classics or the retro Steam Punk novels. Hopefully with the success of this book, Bison will publish its companion volume "Doc Savage: His Apocalyptic Life," and include the revised family tree.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Dennis Power on June 24, 2006
Format: Paperback
This book is probably Philip Jose Farmer's magnum opus and is the culmination of Farmer's lifelong fascination with the character of Tarzan of the Apes. The ape man has appeared in many various guises in many works of his literature. This volume is a work of love to the character of Tarzan and a tribute to one of Farmer's favorite authors.

There have been biographies of fictional character prior to the appearance of Tarzan Alive, most noticably perhaps C. Northcote Parkinson's biography of Horatio Hornblower and William S. Baring-Gould's biography of Sherlock Holmes. In terms of research I would rate Tarzan Alive as equal to either of those two volumes. In presentation of material I would have to rate Tarzan Alive above the other two books, for not only does Farmer give up a biographical presentation of Tarzan's life he also gives us a chronology and as an additional bonus he delves into Tarzan's genealogy demonstrating that Tarzan's lineage not only includes other characters from Burroughs' writings but also some very famous figures from world literature such as the aforementioned Sherlock Homes.

Tarzan Alive is a fascinating, wonderful read that truly makes you wonder if Tarzan was indeed a living person. He did his job well. At the age of thirteen when I first read it I was convinced that he was a real, living person... and quite truthfully, I have not totally shaken that belief.

I am glad that this new edition came out my original Bantam paperback has been read so many times that it is held together by prayers and many layers of scotch tape.

If you are a fan of Tarzan, Burroughs, Philip Jose Farmer,pulp fiction, fictional biographies or just a fan of well written and entertaining literature, I cannot recommend Tarzan Alive highly enough.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews