Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tarzan history we've all been waiting for
Scott Tracy Griffin's centennial celebration of Edgar Rice Burroughs' Tarzan of the Apes is a book Tarzan fans MUST buy (unless someone is nice enough to give it to them as a Christmas or birthday present). As the cover proclaims, this attractive, lavishly illustrated, sturdily constructed coffee-table edition covers the stories (original and pastiche), movies (television...
Published on November 20, 2012 by Frank Grainger

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't anyone do quality control anymore?
Yes, the editorial content is wonderful and yes, the choice of images is excellent. But for a few odd omissions (Jeffrey (Catherine) Jones, one of the premiere fantasy artists of the 2nd half of the 20th century, did a lot of Burroughs illustrations during his career, and FPG published his ERB calendar for 1998, so why no art from this great artist?) the book seems to...
Published on January 6, 2013 by R. Martin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tarzan history we've all been waiting for, November 20, 2012
By 
Frank Grainger (Longview, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
Scott Tracy Griffin's centennial celebration of Edgar Rice Burroughs' Tarzan of the Apes is a book Tarzan fans MUST buy (unless someone is nice enough to give it to them as a Christmas or birthday present). As the cover proclaims, this attractive, lavishly illustrated, sturdily constructed coffee-table edition covers the stories (original and pastiche), movies (television and radio, too), and art (including comics). Further, it covers toys, games, and other collectibles relating to Tarzan. Naturally, Griffin includes information and photos of Tarzan's creator, Edgar Rice Burroughs as well. This is the most comprehensive single volume on the subject of Tarzan of the Apes ever produced to my knowledge and absolutely worthy of the character's 100th birthday.
I will admit to being somewhat perplexed at a few of the unauthorised items that didn't make it into the book such as Charlton Comics' adaptation of Jungle Tales of Tarzan and the thoroughly plagiarised series of Barton Werper's (pseudonym) Tarzan novels published by Gold Star (1964). I can only assume that their shady legal status kept them from mention. Similarly, the Tarzan the Ape Man film (1981) receives little attention due, I must again presume, to the legal wrangling between ERB, Inc. and the Dereks over its salacious content. However, I don't wish to dwell so much on what isn't in the book that I detract from the treasures that ARE in it. It doesn't say it's a history, but a celebration of Tarzan's centennial. And what a magnificent celebration it is!
As I said earlier, the volume is lavishly illustrated (some previously unpublished) and meticulously researched. Scott Tracy Griffin has outdone himself in creating a beautiful book that I honestly cannot imagine NOT owning. In fact, I think I'll buy a second copy lest I wear this one out from looking at it daily for the next 30 years. A note to already-confirmed fans of Tarzan: This book would make a splendid present to any middle school/high school/college relatives or friends you might have or know. I can't think of a better way to plant the seeds for Tarzan fandom as we move into his second 100 years. BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration of Tarzan, November 25, 2012
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
Tarzan The Cen­ten­nial Cel­e­bra­tion by Scott Tracy Grif­fin is a cof­fee table book (13" x 10 1/4") cel­e­brat­ing 100 years of the famous lord of the jun­gle. Mr. Grif­fin is the lead­ing author­ity on Edgar Rice Bur­roughs and on his 1912 cre­ation of which this book is about.

The book is, in one word, amaz­ing. The book is a feast to the eyes, I spent hours sit­ting down look­ing at it explain to my son (5) whose who and look­ing at the great visu­als and ani­mals (he just did the let­ter "E" in kinder­garten so we were look­ing for elephants).

The book is full of great art, pic­tures, illus­tra­tions and even sketches by Edgar Rice Bur­roughs. The text asso­ci­ated with the pic­tures is very inter­est­ing and enlight­en­ing about every sub­ject Tarzan fans would like to delve into, from his ani­mals to syn­op­sis of each of the sto­ries by Bur­roughs and others.

A fas­ci­nat­ing intro­duc­tion by actor Ron Ely starts the jour­ney into Tarzan and other writ­ings by Bur­roughs. Fol­lowed by a short biog­ra­phy of Bur­roughs and a short syn­op­sis of every Tarzan book he pub­lished with high qual­ity images of gor­geous cov­ers. A short chap­ter about Tarzan for chil­dren, fol­lowed by a "How to Speak Ape" sec­tion and maps of Africa drawn by Mr. Bur­roughs himself.

A fan­tas­tic sec­tion about the comics fol­lowed by those who played Tarzan on radio, stage, the sil­ver screen and tele­vi­sion -- even Disney's Tarzan gets a men­tion. The book closes out telling the fans about Tarzana, Ca, col­lectibles, autho­rized sequels, for­eign edi­tions, the web and more.

This is a won­der­ful book with a "WOW' fac­tor for the inner geek in all of us. The book will grace the cof­fee table in our house and is a great present for the geek who has everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
A fantastic resource - filled with gorgeous artwork from Tarzan's illustrated past, as well as rich and meticulously researched insights from the ape-man's vast and varied history. As fascinating for a die-hard Tarzan fan as it is an excellent introduction for newcomers to Burroughs' Africa, it's a great read and a beautifully put together tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Abbett and Adams book I have been waiting for..., December 5, 2012
By 
korak (Pal-ul-don, Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
One thing that I really like (but which may dismay some others) is the art focus of this book-- primarily the sixties and seventies, and some newer stuff from the past 30 years. That makes this volume kind of an unofficial 4th volume of the ERB Library of Illustration, which left off with Frazetta and Krenkel.

This volume has a very spartan, lightweight coverage of artists previous to Krenkel and Frazetta, but heavily emphasizes some really great artists who have remained largely uncollected-- namely virtually every single Robert Abbett Tarzan (and then some), all the Neal Adams and the Boris paintings (for those who don't have his calendar, here they all are!), and mostly in large, often full page, full color presentations. These guys, especially Abbett, who is the great unsung hero of ERB art, are as essential to me personally as anybody. Now that we are moving into a new day when the old paperbacks are being phased out on the shelves and relegated to storage, it is very handy to have all this immortal art.

In addition to that, a huge selection of Gold Key Wilson comic book covers (especially most of the adaptations) are gloriously presented, along with innumerable other comic book covers. And too many cool features to name them all, like the Ballantine Africa map and the Ape language dictionary. In addition to all that, a gorgeous massive selection of movie photos to top it all off. And if that's not enough, plenty of ERB biographical photos!

This volume is going permanently along side my ERB Library of Illustration, and my Frazetta, Krenkel and Hogarth volumes. Absolutely essential. Thank you Mr. Griffin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Tarzan and Edgar Rice Burroughs Collection, December 6, 2012
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
Featuring a fantastic introduction by Ron Ely, Scott Tracy Griffen presents a touching (and humorous) author's note as the ultimate review begins. Griffin is considered to be one of the foremost Burroughs experts in the world, with 30 years of articles appearing in magazines, journals, academia, and fanzines. It's hard to believe that Tarzan leapt from the pages of a magazine back in 1912 by creator, Edgar Rice Burroughs. Tarzan Centennial is a lavishly illustrated collection celebrating one hundred years of Tarzan. Exploring the 24 original novels and the many varied appearances on stage, screen, and in print, this book features extensive commentary on all aspects of the Tarzan franchise, alongside rare comic strips, cover art, and movie stills.

Out of the gate, you can tell a lot of time and research was put into revealing Burroughs' early years and how Tarzan came to be the icon he is today. I was fascinated, but not surprised, to read that Burroughs hid his writing under the pen name, "Normal Bean", as he was somewhat ashamed of it and feared what others might think if they knew the writing was his. Myself, as well as many I'm sure, can relate to that. I have had countless reservations about being public on social media and blogging for example, so it's reassuring to hear that even back in 1912, similar challenges still existed for aspiring writers.

As you begin to page through the book you'll learn more about how Tarzan grew and eventually ended up on radio, film, stage, and television. Because this book is filled with art and imagery, you will also notice how cover art and depiction greatly boosted this character's longevity. Even with Tarzan's first appearance in All-Story magazine, it's easy to understand why people quickly began reading, as Clinton Pettee's cover screams `read me'. Ballantine Books also produced some insane cover art in the 1970′s that you'll be able to sample in this collection. As I continue through page by page, I read about the son of Tarzan, and a bit about the television shows, actors, and radio time Tarzan got, but overall, the best thing about this book is the art. Griffen not only writes great content for anyone who has ever been a fan and is curious about the history, but he also builds a timeless collection and presents the material in chronological order for the most part.

Happy 100th birthday Tarzan and thank you, Edgar Rice Burroughs, for creating this timeless character that is sure to be enjoyed by many future generations. The quality of this book as a collector's item is unmatched. It's a brilliant hard cover that totals 320 pages, and although I've seen it referenced as a `coffee table book' online, I simply cannot label it as such. It's a very large book, it's heavy and uses top notch paper, fonts, and design. Looking for something really unique? Turn to page 194 and learn how to speak ape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarzan The Centennial Celebration is a fitting tribute to the most beloved hero of adventure fiction in 20th century literature, December 5, 2012
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
Scott Tracy Griffin's Tarzan: The Centennial Celebration consists of 320 pages of tribute to the life and legacy of Edgar Rice Burroughs' enduring jungle lord, Tarzan of the Apes. Griffin takes an interesting approach to the organization of the material. The first 50 chapters or so alternate between chapters devoted to each of the two dozen Tarzan novels written by Burroughs in his lifetime, presented in chronological order, and chapters devoted to characters, groups, places, or concepts that are central to the Tarzan mythology. Later in the book, Griffin moves on to the other media and manifestations of Tarzan in comic books, comic strips, radio programs, films, television series, the Internet, etc. Each chapter has thoughtful short essays on the topic at hand complimented by lavish art program, paintings, drawings, illustrations, and photographs that bring each topic to life. As a second generation and life long Burroughs and Tarzan fan, I can say with confidence that this is one of the finest volumes ever devoted to Tarzan and his adventures as an international cultural phenomenon. Griffin also introduces the reader to the man behind the character, author Edgar Rice Burroughs, the Grand Father of American Science Fiction. Any reader with even the slightest interest in Tarzan will enjoy this magnificent book and even the most sophisticated Tarzan fan will appreciate the depth of coverage provided by Scott Tracy Griffin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, December 6, 2012
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
This is an outstanding book on the Edgar Rice Burroughs' creation Tarzan. Well worth the money alone on the outstanding printing of selected artwork, some of it previously unpublished. The text is all gravy. I hope this book'a success justifies a sequel on Burroughs other works. Great job by Scott Tracy Giffin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is A Beautiful Book!, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
First, congratulations to the author, Scott Tracy Griffin, for writing a wonderful book! I first saw a friend's copy at his house a couple of weeks ago, and I was impressed by the quality. It is really a beautiful book. Then, I was further impressed by the quality of the photos and the information in the book. It has so many really well reproduced illustrations and also abundant information, stories, and facts. I was very happy to see that the book was more than just a coffee table book of great illustrations. And I also enjoyed the organization of the information and chapters.
The author and the great folks at Edgar Rice Burroughs Inc. have made a book that is worthy of the 100 year anniversary of the publication of Burroughs' first books!
I recommend this book to any and all fans of ERB's works, and also to anyone who enjoys beautiful and interesting books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Celebration of One of Literature's Great Characters, June 20, 2014
By 
E. David Swan (Denver, Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
I’m a big fan of the Tarzan character having read most of the novels, all the DC comic adaptations and a good portion of the newspaper comics. To me, Tarzan is one of the most inspirational fictional characters around particularly for someone like myself who works out diligently and tries to test the limits of physicality. The Centennial Celebration: Tarzan seems like a natural addition to any fan of Tarzan and it’s a pretty neat book particularly given the price on Amazon. It’s a large size book with glossy pages and tons of images like a book you might buy in a museum showing famous artwork. About half of the book consists of full page images so if you’re not into artwork this may not be the book for you.

The book can be broken down into three parts. There are uncritical summaries of each of the 25 Tarzan novels, there are essays on all sorts of topics like Jane, the Waziri, Tarzan’s immortality etc. Then we have all the wonderful images from artists like Neil Adams (whose art graces the cover), Frank Frazetta, Boris Vallejo and lots of lesser known artists. In the analysis of the novel ‘Tarzan, Lord of the Jungle’ this book shows three distinct takes on Tarzan rescuing a gorilla from a python by three different artists and it’s fascinating to me to see how different people perceive Tarzan. Sometimes he looks like he stepped out of the show Mad Men with perfectly blow dried hair, sometimes he has long unkempt hair. Some artists give him a lean physique and others give him a massive muscular bulk. Whatever the look these paintings and drawings are almost without exception beautiful and the glossy pages of the book really make them pop.

I learned a lot about Tarzan and Edgar Rice Burroughs that I had not already known. For me one of the great flaws of the novels was the addition of a wife and child and apparently these were not something Burroughs wanted so I give him credit. In fact Burroughs wanted to kill off Jane early on but his publisher nixed the idea and was also the one who pushed for adding a son. It didn’t help that the films were establishing Tarzan as more of a family man. In the end Burroughs was a businessman first and a writer second. I was also glad to read that Burroughs was fully aware that Tarzan was a fantasy character and a true feral child would be stunted and cowardly. In fact behind these sometimes silly stories lies a rather intelligent man.

What struck me as I was reading this book was how dignified and reverent the book was to the character. As I wrote earlier this feels like a book you might find in a museum for instance a book on Renoir except the subject here is Tarzan.If you’re a fan of Tarzan or just great artwork I can’t see why you wouldn’t want to own this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any Tarzan fan, December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarzan The Centennial Celebration (Hardcover)
What a bargain at this price!!!! The author and Titan books deserve a high five on this lavish tabletop book !!!! What an undertaking that could easily be made in several volumes that it is all things Tarzan !!!!! Highly recommended!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tarzan The Centennial Celebration
Tarzan The Centennial Celebration by Scott Tracy Griffin (Hardcover - November 20, 2012)
$39.95 $29.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.