Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adventure the way you like it with Tarzan at the Earth's Cor
The difficulty in writing a good Tarzan story is in finding a foe worthy of the Ape Man. The alien Predators and the mind-bending Mahars of Pellucidar are definitely up to the job. This is a tale of superheroics and Tarzan has never been more savage. Highly recommended.
Published on June 16, 1998 by korak@primenet.com

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Channeling Burroughs a little too well
Dark Horse Comics usually does fairly well with crossovers between companies or properties, and a crossover between Edgar Rice Burroughs' Tarzan and 20th Century Fox's Predator sounds like a natural combo, especially when written by Walt Simonson. Unfortunately, TARZAN VS. PREDATOR AT THE EARTH'S CORE doesn't quite hit the mark. Taking advantage of not only the Predator...
Published on October 24, 2008 by Babytoxie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adventure the way you like it with Tarzan at the Earth's Cor, June 16, 1998
By 
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
The difficulty in writing a good Tarzan story is in finding a foe worthy of the Ape Man. The alien Predators and the mind-bending Mahars of Pellucidar are definitely up to the job. This is a tale of superheroics and Tarzan has never been more savage. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kreegah!! The Predators are just an afterthought., November 19, 2001
By 
Daniel V. Reilly (Upstate New York, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
I'm not too familiar with Burroughs' Tarzan work outside of the Movies and Comics, so the first half of this book had my mind swimming. There isn't enough recap for a Tarzan newbie like me; I bought it for the Predators, and, (sadly) they seem to be an afterthought in the plot. On the plus side, the book really picks up steam in the second half, and by the end I was totally engrossed.
Walt Simonson's story is pretty decent, as is Lee Weeks' art. Predator fans might be disappointed, but it's still entertaining.
Fans who enjoy this should check out Batman/Tarzan: Claws of the Catwoman. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TARZAN'S GREATEST CHALLENGE - PREDATOR!, August 27, 2004
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
I own all of these comics, and thought this was definately one of the best franchise fits that I've just about ever seen.

Great storyline, along with awesome artwork made this a major hit out of a huge fan of both franchises. A movie and/or animae would do this proud - and I'll bet - sell millions.

Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Channeling Burroughs a little too well, October 24, 2008
By 
Babytoxie (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
Dark Horse Comics usually does fairly well with crossovers between companies or properties, and a crossover between Edgar Rice Burroughs' Tarzan and 20th Century Fox's Predator sounds like a natural combo, especially when written by Walt Simonson. Unfortunately, TARZAN VS. PREDATOR AT THE EARTH'S CORE doesn't quite hit the mark. Taking advantage of not only the Predator and Tarzan franchises, but also Burroughs' amazing subterranean land of Pellucidar, Simonson constructs a story that is full of references for hard-core fans. It works in the context of both properties, with Simonson immersing himself into Burroughs' writing style; however, I actually found this to be the biggest weakness of the book. Burroughs' works, while very creative, consist of formulaic plots and one-dimensional characters, and this is unfortunately carried over into Simonson's writing. As a result, the story was extremely predictable and read like a typical Tarzan adventure. It wouldn't take much effort for a writer to replace the predators with any other antagonist and have the story proceed in a similar fashion.

The art is another matter. Lee Weeks has been a favorite illustrator of mine since his early days on Marvel Comics' G.I. Joe, albeit as a clone of Joe Kubert. A long time has passed since then, and Weeks has come into his own; however, in TARZAN VS. PREDATOR, he flexes his Kubert muscles again - wholly appropriate, really, as Kubert illustrated DC's Tarzan series in the `70s. Overall, I can't recommend this book, but it may prove to be an interesting diversion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tarzan fits in any age., April 2, 2014
By 
David Ullery (Payson, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
Nice little story about my favorite Apeman. The art is often good and then sometimes simplistic. Good to see Tarzan dealing with modern elements and characters. Also love the cross over of ERB's Pellucidar with Tarzan again and the unique twist of Predators at the Earth's Core. Own the original comics, but this is handier in graphic novel format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A reader, December 29, 2013
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
The story and the art definitely remind me of Joe Kubert's Tarzan work at DC. So, if you like those, you will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough to Buy - Not as Good as It Could Have Been, January 23, 2013
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
Walt Simonson is an excellent writer and he does a good job in this story. And if this was just a Tarzan story as a sequel to At the Earth's Core, it would be very good. He truly captured Tarzan. The problem is the Predator part of the story. It is intermingled with the Earth's Core part of the story and that did not need to be done. I think a very good story could have been written without the Earth's Core part. Because of the space needed for the Earth's Core, the Predators came out on the short end of the stick.

Tarzan's fight with the Predators was too short. The Predators on a whole were too easy to defeat. I think a much better story would have taken place in the jungle that Tarzan calls home. With Tarzan being hunted and in turn hunting a single Predator. The earth's Core part was not needed.

A better example of this is the first Batman/Predator story. One hero, one Predator, one long story.

As for the art work, it was excellent. Weeks draws great and his Tarzan is dead on.

I gave the story 4 stars because overall it was a good story, the art work was good and the fight between Tarzan and Predator (though short) was done well.

If you are a Tarzan fan, it is a good book. If you are a Predator fan, you may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great artwork- what would it be like to enter Tarzan's world, directly, I wonder?, June 17, 2012
By 
David "DS" (Eastern Seaboard) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
More of the adventures of Tarzan. Nice artwork. ERB's stories are a lot of fun for me. Having said that, ERB never visited Africa before writing these. He was, however, in the 7th Cav, in Arizona, which is Apache country. Tarzan is an Apache Scout, through the lens of a Victorian writer. This is great armchair adventure. If you want to go a little further, allow me to suggest Journey to the Ancestral Self: The Native Lifeway Guide to Living in Harmony with the Earth Mother (Bk.1), The Tracker, Path Notes of an American Ninja Master, The Art of Chi Kung: Making the Most of Your Vital Energy, Chi Kung: Way of Power, and House of Shattering Light: Life as an American Indian Mystic. These will all get you started on understanding more of what Tarzan would have had to be, had he existed in the flesh. I note related books because that is the most useful part of a review for me. I have found gems that way. I encourage others to do likewise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its ok, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
terrible story and mediocre illustrations. great storytelling by the artist. its missing one important thing when you have a predator crossover story...you need to see at least one predator face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic book stuff, in this case, a good thing., July 12, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) (Paperback)
Congratulations to Dark Horse! Perhaps, just perhaps, the inclusion of alien Preditors is the right touch to entice modern readers to Burroughs' jungle man. Here is an excellent effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection)
Tarzan vs. Predator at the Earth's Core (Dark Horse Collection) by Edgar Rice Burroughs (Paperback - October 21, 1997)
$12.95 $10.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.