Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Bang Bangs!
I have been a long time fan of Nina Bangs' writing, so I am always surprised by the few who don't "get" her. She has a style that is all her own. A sexy, campy, cheeky, irreverent style (might be the cause of those few naysayers) that delights in taking the vampire genre and redefining it, making it all her own. Many vampire fans want utter reverence of the night...
Published on April 10, 2006 by Deborah MacGillivray

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tast of the Same
I've loved Nina Bangs Mckenzie vampire series. That said however, reading A Taste of Darkness gave me a sense of deja vu...possibly because it is incredibly simillar to Bang's Night Bite's.

Reinn, who was appeared in Night Bite's when he was made Gaurdian of the Blood by the council, is our hero of this book. He seemed uber powerful & masculine in that last...
Published on May 4, 2006 by Anna Hope


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Bang Bangs!, April 10, 2006
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have been a long time fan of Nina Bangs' writing, so I am always surprised by the few who don't "get" her. She has a style that is all her own. A sexy, campy, cheeky, irreverent style (might be the cause of those few naysayers) that delights in taking the vampire genre and redefining it, making it all her own. Many vampire fans want utter reverence of the night creature. Bangs goes beyond the accepted level to drag in humor, and I think maybe a few resent that. Their loss.

She is an imaginative, incisive author who skillfully weaves sensuality, hot sex and belly laughs, which leaves me howling and wanting more. I have enjoyed all her works, but I think Taste of Darkness is Dead Bang Bangs - her best novel yet. From the opening lines, she had me laughing out loud - not an easy task, but how can you not with an opening so wonderfully brilliant, so Naughty Nina as this:

"Werewolves - furry pains in the butt.

Werecats - sneaky whisker-twitching manipulators.

Werejerks - every freakin' loser with a "were" in front of his name."

What a delightful opening! She grabs the reader from that point and takes them into the mind of one of her most brilliantly conceived heroes - Reinn Mackenzie. He is the oldest vamp in the Mackenzie Clan, over a thousand years old and that age has made him one grumpy vamp. He bought a home in the Colorado Rockies and shunned everyone. So what did Clan Mackenzie do to reward their elder? They made him Guardian of the Blood. Reinn has a few choice opinions on that job as well as his outlook on the Woo Woo Inn, where he finds himself at the opener the book. He thinks being protector of the blood, keeping the lines pure, a total crock. How does a vampire keep the blood "pure" when by nature they are running around having "suckfests" as the Woo Woo Inn?

Our delight Reinn, Harley-loving, sword-toting avenger of the Mackenzie clan, evokes a touch of Ash from Army of Darkness. I could just hear some of these lines Bangs penned being uttered by the droll Bruce Campbell! It would be a perfect vehicle for the talented actor.

Only our sourpuss lad is about to run into one sexy puss, Kisa Evans, one of those aggravating werefelines. She is one of the werecats the vamps feel pollute their pure bloodline and they want her removed. Only grouchy Reinn finds this particular werekitty is driving him wild with desire.

This has to be Bangs' best. The book is just so dead on target. I absolutely laughed from start to finish from the witty writing that just shows why Bangs keeps hitting the bestsellers list time-after-time. This is one gem of a tale. I don't reread my books these days because I just don't have the time. This one I will reread; it's one of those books that nests in the imagination and won't let you go. Kudos for the writer having the vision and craft to deliver this knock out book.

Keep 'em coming, lass.

Very highly recommended for the non-humor impaired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better, May 4, 2006
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Reinn MacKensie hates his job as Guardian of the Blood, almost as much as he hates were-wolves, cats, ducks, you name it. So it figures that the only woman to light his fire in about forever is a were-kitty who turns into something even Reinn has trouble controlling. Vampires, cosmic troublemakers and assorted other creatures people this hilarious revisit to the Woo Woo Inn. I picked this up after reading the review in Romantic Times Magazine--a four and half star top pick paranormal for the month. I sure wasn't disappointed. Bangs has a wicked imagination as well as a talent for coming up with creatures that actually come from mythology-- I mean what is a harpy anyway? But as usual with Bangs, the harpy is just another madcap creature that makes me laugh. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Nina Bangs!, May 24, 2006
By 
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Vampire Reinn Mackenzie has the ultimate bad job- he's the Guardian of the Blood and responsible for lopping off the head of any Mackenzie caught tainting the family bloodline with a shapeshifter. Unfortunately for Reinn, he now finds himself back at the Woo Woo Inn with the task of preventing Alan Mackenzie from marrying werecat Julie. His intentions are derailed, however, when he meets sexy werecat, Kisa, and finds he wants to taint those Mackenzie bloodlines as well!

Kisa is highly attracted to Reinn but there are a few obstacles in her way (other than his job, of which she knows nothing about!). Werecat law forbids her from having sex with any man who is not stronger than her- and Kisa's werecat is a saber tooth tiger! Meanwhile, someone is trying to keep her trapped in cat form by planting catnip all over the place. And of course, cosmic troublemakers, Ganymede, Sparkle Stardust, and Trouble are around to keep things lively!

A TASTE OF DARKNESS has perhaps the funniest introduction to a story this reviewer has ever read. Nina Bangs sucks the reader right into Reinn's sarcastic but humorous worldview from the very first sentence. Reinn is decidedly disenchanted with his job, the Council, his peers, and all were-animals until Kisa turns his world upside down. Bangs has done a fabulous job at creating a believable world-weary character and teaching him how to appreciate life again.

Nina Bangs has once again written another fantastic book in her ongoing Mackenzie vampire series. Fans of the series will enjoy seeing what chaos reoccurring characters Sparkle Stardust, Ganymede, and Trouble will create while uncovering the secret identity of the vampire Mason. In fact, Bangs does such an excellent job at depicting Trouble's thoughts and actions that he almost steals the show, particularly when he meets up with Mel at the conclusion! Newcomers to the series will not be lost, however, as each Nina Bangs book is written as a stand alone novel. A TASTE OF DARKNESS is one book that readers will not want to miss!

COURTESY OF CK2S KWIPS AND KRITIQUES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining star-crossed supernatural romance, May 6, 2006
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Vampire Reinn Mackenzie wants nothing to do with his peers or for that matter any creature, supernatural or human. However, the Clan Council informs him he has no choice as he the Guardian of the Blood. Instead of peaceful solitude, Reinn must hunt down vampires who mate with shapeshifters, a major taboo forbidden by the clan.

Reinn knows he must kill Alan Mackenzie who is engaged to marry a were-cat Woo Woo Inn. However, going undercover, Reinn learns that the trio of Sparkle, Stardust, and Ganymede are stirring up their usual cosmic relational troubles. He also finds himself attracted to were-cat Krisa, but wonders if the three troublemakers are behind his desire. However, when Reinn realizes that someone is trying to force Krisa to change into her alter ego, a saber tooth tiger, he becomes too involved as he falls in love, but killing himself for breaking the taboo seems extreme.

This entertaining star-crossed supernatural romance grips the audience from the moment a disgruntled Reinn goes undercover and never slows down through a series of capers until the final confrontation. Readers will believe in vampires and were-creatures as the Nina Bangs' mythos seem genuine. Sub-genre fans will appreciate the WICKED NIGHTS of this fun humorous and sexy paranormal romantic suspense thriller.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nina Does it Again!, August 25, 2006
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to agree with Deborah MacGillivary when she said in her review that Nina Bangs was..."an imaginative, incisive author who skillfully weaves sensuality, hot sex and belly laughs, which leaves me howling and wanting more. I have enjoyed all her works, but I think Taste of Darkness is Dead Bang Bangs - her best novel yet." I have recently started reading Nina Bangs novels and was partially disappointed in my first one, the Pleasure Master. I liked the book up until the ending, but liked it enough for me buy another one to see if it was just me or the story. A Taste of Darkness is the exact opposite. It's well written, humorous, and exciting. Reinn is sexy to the max and I hated when the book ended. You are kept on edge wondering when Kisa would transform into her unusual cat shape (don't want to spoil the story for you). Loved the character Sparkle and her obsession with sex. Loved how Nina solved the conflict in the end with the vampires...great job. Liked how she brought in characters from her other stories. You felt like you in were in on secret. If you want a great romantic adventure with an unusual twist, then buy this book. Watch out for the wereduck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the Rocky Horror Picture Show..., June 24, 2006
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was much better than I expected it to be.

The author managed to sucessfully combine humor with a believable hero and heroine.

However, the ending felt rather hurried, almost an afterthought.

Was the author rushing to make a deadline?

If you were / are a RHPS fan, then you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tast of the Same, May 4, 2006
By 
Anna Hope (PA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've loved Nina Bangs Mckenzie vampire series. That said however, reading A Taste of Darkness gave me a sense of deja vu...possibly because it is incredibly simillar to Bang's Night Bite's.

Reinn, who was appeared in Night Bite's when he was made Gaurdian of the Blood by the council, is our hero of this book. He seemed uber powerful & masculine in that last tale but is a little less so when you get to read his thoughts in his own story. He seem, in fact, very similarly written to Thrain from Nite Bite's.

The setting is back at the Woo Woo Inn, New Jersey. This is the Inn owned by Cindy in Nite Bite's. Only this time she & new Hubby Thrain are on vacation visiting dad at his castle in Scottland, So our cosmic trouble maker freinds from the other books in the series are back to the inn again, this time to manage it for Cindy while she's gone. Sparkle Stardust has brought a large amount of her wardrobe. Ganymede is still in fat cat form, eating everything. And Sparkle's young pal Trouble also tags along in his new favorite form of a brown dog.

Reinn shows up at the inn to kill Alan McKenzie. He doesn't want to but it's either obey the rules of being Gaurdian of the blood or get killed by the Council himself. Alan is marrying a werecat and the whole wedding party is staying at the inn. This includes the brides sister, Kisa, who happens to be the worlds only weresabertooth tiger. Ofcourse the impossible happens, aided by a little cosmic help, and Reinn & Kisa fall for each other. Plus they join together to solve who is after Kisa in a plot to trap her in her were form. In the end Reinn must choose between Kisa (ie. not killing her brother in law, Alan) and being hunted by the council.

The were's added a fun dimension to this book but overall it just felt like a rehashing of Thrain & Cindy's Story at the Woo Woo Inn. If you need a lazy beach read then go for it. If you've been waiting for a new blockbuster paranormal novel...sorry to be the bearer of bad news. This isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and entertaining!, June 27, 2006
By 
Lark Howard (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read "Wicked Nights," I was actually waiting for "Wicked Pleasures" when I picked this book up at a book signing. Generally I'm not much for were-creatures, or vampires either for that matter, but within a few pages, I was drawn into the fun. From the premise of a romance between a werecat who turns into a saber-toothed tiger and the all-time alpha vampire to the reappearance of the cosmic trouble makers, Nina Bangs' story is full of crazy twists not to mention outrageous characters--a combination that proves very entertaining.

If you're looking for a literary masterpiece, read something else. If you want a fun, humorous paranormal romance--this book fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN AWESOME LITTLE TALE!!!, July 6, 2006
By 
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
THIS WAS A TRULY A CUTE READ.. I AM A NINA BANGS FAN AND HAVE MOST OF YOUR BOOKS MS. LADY !!!LOL

IM WHAT YOU WOULD CALL A VAMPIRE -BUFF..

WHAT MAKES MS. BANGS BOOKS SOME-WHAT DIFFERENT FROM THE REST..

IS SHE ADDS COMEDY TO THEM..

GANYMEDE AND SPARKLE THE COSMIC TROUBLE MAKERS ... KEEPS ME IN STITCHES...

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK MS. BANGS.. I'VE NOW STARTED ON WICKED PLEASURE... I WILL KEEP YOU POSTED...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bangs does it again!!, November 18, 2006
By 
Anne Raven "Annie Raven" (Colchester, England UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Some people seem to not get Bangs' Woo Woo Inn. Sorry they miss the boat. I howled at this book from opening par graph, quite unladylike snorts and sniggers.

She gives you dark and sexy vamps, but this time a bit more. It sexy, sizzling, edgy, erotic and down right funny! I am ready to check in at the Woo Woo in for a sweet vacation from reality anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3)
A Taste of Darkness (Mackenzie Vampires, Book 3) by Nina Bangs (Mass Market Paperback - May 1, 2006)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.