Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to see if The Pearl Series is your cup of tea. It is certainly mine!
If you haven't read this five-part series, you're in for a treat.

A TASTE OF PEARL IS A GREAT WAY TO TEST if this is your cup of tea. This is the first 170 pages or so of the series. I LOVED THE PEARL SERIES!

This is an excellent introduction to the protagonists Pearl and Alexandre, an unlikely couple as she is 15 years older than him.

But...
Published 12 months ago by Donscalos

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting twist on common premise
The idea of the sexy and cultured billionaire providing a sexual awakening for a woman is a fairly common one, but the twist here is that the billionaire is 25 and the woman is 40. This is the first few chapters of a longer work -- long enough to get into the story and decide if you like it.

Richmonde writes a lot better than some of her peers. The sex scenes...
Published 12 months ago by morehumanthanhuman


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to see if The Pearl Series is your cup of tea. It is certainly mine!, January 9, 2014
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
If you haven't read this five-part series, you're in for a treat.

A TASTE OF PEARL IS A GREAT WAY TO TEST if this is your cup of tea. This is the first 170 pages or so of the series. I LOVED THE PEARL SERIES!

This is an excellent introduction to the protagonists Pearl and Alexandre, an unlikely couple as she is 15 years older than him.

But Pearl is not your typical 40-year-old...she is very youthful, stunning, although riddled with insecurities. I liked that, it made her more three dimensional than most romance heroines. If you are looking for a very 'mature' protagonist, a 'middle-aged' woman who is sassy and has all the answers then you might not like this series. Pearl is quirky and even has a touch of Bridget Jones in her, crossed between Charlize Theron/Cameron Diaz/Jennifer Aniston...you get the picture? There are comic elements here.

This is as sexy as Bared To you and very steamy but the characters don't take themselves so seriously.THERE IS A LOT OF DRAMA and a roller coaster ride in books 2 and 3 so strap up your seatbelt if you continue the read!

Alexandre is French, and although a billionaire, there is a good reason for him being one...he's a social media sensation (like Mark Zukerberg but sexy and sophisticated). Good to have believability for once for a billionaire in his twenties.

Book 2, Shadows of Pearl is a roller coaster ride and book 3, Shadows of Pearl, continues that ride, keeping you on the edge of your seat. Pearl and Belle Pearl are MUST READS, as we are introduced to new characters not known about in the trilogy (told from Alexandre's POV) and the ending of Belle Pearl will knock your socks off. You will feel every emotion.

For anyone wondering if this a 50 Shades rip-off because of the Shades in the title, NO it isn't. There are plenty out there with 23-year-old virgins/over-possessive jealous males and this is NOT one of them. There is no BDSM theme, either, and the writing style is light years away from 50. SO MUCH BETTER WRITTEN. No repetition of words and phrases...if you appreciate good writing you will really notice the difference. The only thing the books share in common is great sex and a fun sense of humor and an emotional love story.

Really loved this series, you won't be disappointed if you are looking for something original and very well written with suspense.

Arianne Richmonde is my favorite author...she really delivers every time. I love her writing style which is more literary than other romance authors and in a league of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting twist on common premise, January 19, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
The idea of the sexy and cultured billionaire providing a sexual awakening for a woman is a fairly common one, but the twist here is that the billionaire is 25 and the woman is 40. This is the first few chapters of a longer work -- long enough to get into the story and decide if you like it.

Richmonde writes a lot better than some of her peers. The sex scenes are vivid, but realistic. The world of a billionaire is a fantastical one (for the vast majority of us, anyway) and she does a great job of bringing Alexandre's lush world to life (although the book is set in New York, she does a great job imparting a European "feel" when appropriate). The dialogue is generally good (although several of the conversations feel more like official interviews than two people getting to know each other). What held me at a distance in the end was that, despite Pearl being older, there is still the issue that is at the heart of so many "sexy billionaire" novels -- why is this beautiful, intelligent, and pleasant woman needing to wait around for a magical sexual savior? Are beautiful women in Manhattan really that hard up for good sex?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars holy hotness, January 11, 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
So I just happened to pick this up after seeing someone post a free book on their timeline. I read the synopsis and it sounded scorching Hawt so I bought it. I'm an avid blogger soooo...... what usually happens is I never get to read books I buy right away. (Or even in the same year!) I was having a hard time sleeping so I opened this up and started reading it. Holy shiznit I flew through the first 9 chapters in no time and jumped on Amazon to buy the whole book! Many have made comments that it is better than FSOG and the Bared to you series and I have to say I am as hooked on this as I was with those! This is a 5 part series and while my book budget, who am I kidding my budget in general is non-existent, is null I will be getting all the rest of the books !!! Alexander Chevalier is a 25 year old to be weakened by and reckoned with. Holy. Freaking. Shhh. When I say this is HOT, I mean you will have to relieve the anxiety that builds over and over and over! Have your B.O.B or booty call on hand! At your beck and call. I find Pearl a bit too insecure, but I have a feeling her skeletons will be revealed soon.
Do not sleep on this panty wetting story filled with drama, humor and passion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUBSTANCE, January 18, 2014
By 
Mel (EL PASO, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
Loved the book. Not only about hot and steamy sex but a beautiful story. A lot of substance touching on many aspects of real life. The fact that the heroine is a mature woman really pulled me into this series (because I just bought the trilogy). Alexandre is young yet the writing is so good that the fact that he is 15 years younger than Pearl doesn't really come to kind until she reflects on it. Empathizing for Alexandre at the end of this book feeling used by Pesrl...

Excellent writing and character development. Highly recommended. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

WARNING: this book is only the first nine chapters of the first book in the trilogy. Not a stand alone. I typically hate cliffhangers but I am really glad I read Pearl the 5 book series is awesome!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How about a scrumptious "Taste of Pearl"...💕💕💕, January 11, 2014
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
As with many of us women who read what is affectionately called "Lady Porn", it all starts with a particular book & gets us hooked. Like most women I've come across the book that hooked me to this genre was FSoG. So when I was searching for more books of the like, I came across one called "Forty Shades of Pearl". The title intrigued me so I read the synopsis & liked it so much I immediately began reading it. It pulled me in & I read it within a 24 hour period. The story involves a forty year old woman, Pearl, instead of one half her age. It was a romance between Pearl & a younger man, Alexandre, who falls for her. He was not hung up on the age issue, only looking at Pearl as a person. Even though she had been married previously, he opens up a whole new world as a sexual being she never experienced before. This is a beautiful love story of strength, determination & passion that is a rare find.

If you are reading this review, you evidently have an interest in this type of love story. Here is your opportunity to get a free "taste" of this series, not just a small sample. That is how confident author Arianne Richmonde is that you will love her series & so am I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richmond is Amazing, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting book - erotic, romantic and surprising. An unlikely developing relationship between a middle-aged woman and a wealthy, successful well-traveled man. What is especially unique about this book is the level of worldliness displayed by author Adrianne Richmonde. She obviously is well-educated on different cultures, cuisine, art, history and languages. I was fascinated by her description of things and also caught up in her eroticism. A Good Read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a TEASER and very well done!, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoy the plot.. don't bother with this go straight for the Pearl Trilogy (and follow it up with the last 2 books). This is part of the 1st book of the Pearl Trilogy. I loved it SO MUCH, I bought all 5 books! A HOT and romantic series. With so many twists and turns. I felt it was unpredictable and beautifully written! (And I write myself... so that's saying something!) A MUST READ!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written story. Intense and oh so sensual. Romance and then boom he finds out what she didn't tell him. So yes I will buy this series and enjoy every word. Arianne Richmonde you write so beautifully that I could picture every bit of this series in my mind. You have a new fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
Very good book. The story line was awesome and kept you coming back for more. I can't wait to read the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta read this series, December 24, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book! I was engrossed with the characters Pearl and Alexandre. The sexy scenes were really steamy and intense and the whole love story was really touching that you couldn't get enough of the couple. This story is beautifully written and the chemistry between the two lead characters - a mature, strong-willed woman and a charismatic, genuine young man - leaves a great impact to the readers. I am so excited to read the rest of the series. Kudos to Ms. Arianne!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Taste of Pearl: The Pearl Series
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.