Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 12, 2000
This is a great book on the food of Russia and the culture also. All to many times we seem to channel Russian cuisine into a few simple dishes. Granted the few simple dishes we view as "Russian" are grand and quite tasty, we tend to shove aside the rich culinary history this country has and the peoples grand capacity to share and truly enjoy food and life. Many times it has been written of the sharing and emphasis of food and being together to enjoy it in other european cuisines, however Russia tends to be overlooked in the cloud of past paranoia of the political state of the land. Ms. Goldstein gets beyond that and makes it clear that food is the binding stuff of a country and of people just as it is in this country and all around this globe.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2001
Having spent a lot of time working in the former Soviet Union, and trying to reconstruct many of the wonderful and interesting dishes from various republics, I was delighted to find a book that "translated", "a pinch of this and a gram of that" into something I could understand and make with products available to me here in the US. I recommend this cookbook to anyone who has tried food from Eastern Europe, enjoyed it and wants to bring it up to our standards. The book is so popular with my friends that I keep giving it as a gift. However, I do feel the title "A Taste of Russia" is not "politically correct", since the dishes are from many of the 17 former republics of the Soviet Union, Russia being only one of them.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2002
This is a great cookbook. A lot of time & work was put into it. However, some of my favorite Russian recipies are missing from this book. I would recommend "The Art of Russian Cuisine" for those of you who are interested in food that Russians cook daily or for holidays.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
This is a book that has a lot of promise, masses of information yet sadly might only "preach to the converted" due to its somewhat reduced accessibility.

Here is a veritable bible of Russian cuisine, featuring a very comprehensive introduction to a relatively unknown, pre-judged subject and over 200 recipes that you can make at home using locally-acquired ingredients. This is a new "30th Anniversary edition" of this classic book yet, sadly, things have not been brought up to typical production standards for 2013.

There are no photographs of the finished recipes to encourage you to try something possibly unknown or unfamiliar. So you need to be either very open to try new things based on a textual description alone or do some additional research to first learn about a given dish, possibly see a picture elsewhere and then look the recipe up in this book. This is such a let down as this book is more than capable of being the "go to" book, a central part of your reference library, a thing to look through to get inspiration. One feels rather let down by this rather unforgivable omission.

Other than that, everything just goes swimmingly. It is one of those books that you really should read, at least once, sequentially to get the most out it as well as any dipping in and out you may do to get a certain recipe. You really do get a fairly comprehensive education about Russian cuisine by the end and you will want to start cooking. You might even learn a little Russian along the way (or get help should you ever travel to Russia) as the recipes also feature their name in cyrillic.

The recipes are fairly clear to understand and sufficiently detailed but the measures are only given in U.S. units (a strange oversight). With a little more spit and polish to the book's design and the presence of photographs showing the finished dishes this would have been a clear five YUM (star) book, a clear example of a "go to" book for a given cuisine, a great surprise gift for a foodie friend or family member who likes to try something new. As it stands, sadly it is still a very good book but you need to be a bit more determined, more adventurous and open to a bit of external research to really get the most out of it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
I bought if for my son who cooks on board a supply ship, in the Gulf of Mexico, with a small complement of Russian Sailors.
They thought the recipes he prepared for them from the book was excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2011
Hooray for Russian food! If you haven't tried it, you should. And while no effort to duplicate the fresh, tasty, and attractive cuisine of Russia quite measures up (no pun intended)to having it in country, these recipes come as close as you will get on this side of the world. I bought this years ago when my ache for pelmini, borsch, plov, and many other favorites became overwhelming. It's definitely my go-to cookbook when I need a Taste of Russia in between trips.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2010
I spent a month visiting Russia. I tried to sample as many Russian dishes as possible. I eat in homes, small town cafes, etc. On my return, I was looking for a cookbook that had the foods I tasted. This cookbook brings true Russian cooking to the USA table. If you want to enjoy tasty Russian meals without going to visit Russia, this is the cookbook for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
Not merely a collection of recipes, a Taste of Russia gives the reader a picture of daily life. And this updated edition highlights the contrast from soviet era to now. It's one of those cookbook you read like a novel. There are no illustrations, but the prose alone does an outstanding job of showing the reader Russian hospitality.
Recipes are clear and easy to follow, too. More than sufficient accommodation is made for the North American cook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2011
My brother is a Chief Cook in a ship and his Captain is Russian. I gave this to him as a present. He said the cook book is really easy to follow and it will definitely make the Capt happy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
Wonderful recipes that are not difficult to prepare. Very readible text that helps the cook know what they need to be doing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse