Prime Music

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture, Scriabin: Poeme de l'extase [Original recording remastered]

Tchaikovsky , Scriabin , Borodin , Stokowski Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Conductor: Stokowski
  • Composer: Tchaikovsky, Scriabin, Borodin
  • Audio CD (August 14, 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: BBC Legends
  • ASIN: B00005LW1I
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #669,864 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Night On Bare Mountain
2. Kamarinskaya
3. Prld in E-flat, Op.34 No.14
4. Pastorale
5. Ov Solemnelle '1812', Op.49 - Band Of The Grenadier Guards
6. Le Poeme De L'extase, Op.54
7. Eight Russian Folk Songs, Op.58: III. Plaintive Song
8. Eight Russian Folk Songs, Op.58: IV. Humorous Song
9. Eight Russian Folk Songs, Op.58: VI. Cradle Song
10. Eight Russian Folk Songs, Op.58: VIII. Village Dance Song
11. Polovtsian Dance With Chor - John Alldis Chor/Welsh National Opr Chor

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Stokowski tells of music. February 10, 2008
Like Bernstein, Celibidache or Svetlanov, Stokowski can be either a nightmare (Mahler 2nd RCA for example) or awe-inspiring experience (Mahler 2nd BBC Legend). These stereo live recordings, made in 1969 at Albert Hall shortly before the famous DECCA Phase 4 studio recording of the similar program, certainly belong to the latter. I bought this cd immediately after listening to the most impressive performance of Polovtsian Dance with Choir on BBC Radio 3, but it came with even more impressive recording of Poem of Ecstasy and 1812 Overture, plus absolutely magnificent performance of Stokowski's own arrangement of Night on bare mousntain and gorgeous string playing of Lyadov's Russian Falk Songs.

Both 1812 and Ecstacy are played as never been played before, with a sense of awe and undescribable beauty. Stokowski's own words express it better. "Music is dynamic - ever evolving - flowing like a river, never static. True music is inspired - it must be played and sung with inspiration. True music is has the heartbeat and surge of life..."

If you want to know true greatness of this conductor, this cd is most recommendable along side the mega-scale, earth-shattering performance of Resurrection Symphony, also on BBC Legend.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic flourish May 19, 2006
I enjoyed the live performances but what got me (and the audience) really going was the 1812 Overture. The Band of the Grenadier Guards got into the act too. What a glorious finish. I was swept away by the Orchestra and the Guards. Stoky`s often been accused of fiddling with the dynamics. i remember Toscanini doing Gershwin`s An American In Paris. He did a tremendous job of bringing it to life. Considering Toscanini didn`t do much modern music it was a fine effort. Stoky all the way or not at all. It`s a matter of personal preference. Forget the critics.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category