Buy Used
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by NSN
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Gift Wrapping & Gift Message available Get it fast & Secure for Holydays FREE 2nd Day Guaranteed Shipping for Prime Members Super Fast Amazon Fulfillment Hassle free return policy Tracking number provided in your Amazon account with every order Buy with confidence
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerti 2 & 3
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerti 2 & 3

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, May 1, 2001
"Please retry"
$47.64 $7.00

1. Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 44: Allegro brillante e molto vivace
2. Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 44: Andante non troppo
3. Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 44: Allegro con fuoco
4. Piano Concerto No. 3 in E flat major, Op. post. 75

Product Details

  • Performer: Mkhail Pletnev
  • Orchestra: London Philharmonia Orchestra
  • Conductor: Vladimir Fedoseyev
  • Composer: Peter Tchaikovsky
  • Audio CD (May 1, 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: EMI Classics Imports
  • ASIN: B00000DNYX
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #613,799 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Grady Harp HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on July 8, 2011
While there are innumerable recordings of the ever-popular Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, the other works for piano and orchestra are far too seldom performed, much less recorded. This album is an inexpensive one featuring very fine performances by Mikhail Pletnev, Russian pianist, conductor and composer whose recorded repertoire covers the gamut of both conducting and at the keyboard. His career withstood the shocks of a controversy in Thailand last year and he once again is on stages throughout the world. Pletnev is here accompanied by Vladimir Fedoseyev conducting the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a 2001 recording.

Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 44 is quite similar in structure to the first concerto, so much so that it is rather amazing that it has not sustained the performance records of the First. It is rich in sweeping melodies and in technical bravura and Pletnev serves it well. The response form the orchestra is very much in keeping with Pletnev's concept. The 'Piano Concerto No. 3 in E flat major' was begun as a symphony in E flat. According to historians the symphony was abandoned, only to become a single-movement Allegro brillante when published posthumously. Controversy remains, despite the composer's stated intentions, as to what form this concerto would have taken had Tchaikovsky completed it to his satisfaction. This question is further heightened by two points--the musical quality of what might have been intended as the second and third movements of the concerto and whether this material was worth the efforts of his former student and fellow-composer Sergey Taneyev in resurrecting it after Tchaikovsky's death. These two movements were published as a separate but related composition as Op. post.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category