Prime Music

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

Buy New

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Like New See details
$13.58 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by MovieMars.

Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $1.45 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos 4 & 5 (2008)

Humphrey Burton  |  NR |  DVD
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

List Price: $29.98
Price: $24.96 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $5.02 (17%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Want it Friday, Sept. 19? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos 4 & 5 + Brahms: Symphonies
Price for both: $60.25

Buy the selected items together
  • Brahms: Symphonies $35.29

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Product Details

  • Directors: Humphrey Burton
  • Format: Multiple Formats, Classical, Color, NTSC
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: Unknown
  • Dubbed: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: Deutsche Grammophon
  • DVD Release Date: November 25, 2008
  • Run Time: 148 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • ASIN: B001F4Z6DG
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #324,675 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Editorial Reviews

To celebrate Leonard Bernstein's 90th birthday, Deutsche Grammophon has issued a number of musically and historically important performances on DVD. These DVDs document the astonishing talent and virtuosity of Bernstein in a variety of works. The concerts are taken from the 1970s and 1980s and many include Bernstein's educational introductions to the pieces. His invaluable ability to communicate music and teach the general public still astounds as much as his energy and skill on the podium

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Performances a mixed bag, video inferior March 28, 2009
This is a mixed bag and I would try to rent it before buying it. We have four works here, although one of them is really just an encore. The program starts with the 4th Symphony, with the NY Philharmonic. The performance is rather stiff in the first movement. The orchestra seems a little bored. Things get better in slow movement, which is played with much more passion. The splendid scherzo is exceptionally well played and a delight. The finale is okay but a little overwrought.

The 5th Symphony is next, this time with the Boston Symphony. Their playing is much more flexible than the New Yorkers and it has much more warmth and spontanaiety. It is from Tanglewood and most enjoyable.

Next comes the Violin Concerto, again from New York and with Boris Belkin as the soloist. Mr. Belkin has an enormous technique but I find his reading to be most unmusical. Instead of concentrating on the music, his sole purpose to seems to be to show off his ability. The music takes second place. If you want a DVD of the Violin Concerto I would recommend Perlman and Ormandy.

Finally there is the string orchestra version of the slow movement from Tchaikovsky's 1st String Quartet. In the original version, the music is sentimental. In this version, it is like adding sugar to vanilla ice cream. I am glad they put it at the end as an encore.

The picture quality is enhanced black and white. There are no extras.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase
Bernstein puts everything into his conducting and is quite unbelievable. A masterful performance by wonderful orchestras and sublime conductor. Highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernstein Tchaikovsky February 26, 2009
In 1975, I saw the Live From Lincoln Center broadcast on PBS featuring the works of Tchaikovsky and have always considered it to be best program of any kind I have ever seen on television. I have waited over thirty years to see it again. It is just as I rembered it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category