Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Versed in Bible Study!
This is an excellent book with many solid suggestions for new pastors or laypersons as well as those with many years of teaching under their belts. It is simple to read yet detailed with many ideas. There are concrete examples and it is broken down into adult and youth studies, however, most if not all examples can be used across all age brackets. It is a must read...
Published on January 31, 2000 by Kim Bayless

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Resource for Teaching Bible Study
Murray presents ten teaching methods for Bible study. Some of his ideas are quite good including theological Bible study, all senses Bible study, depth Bible study, and shared praxis Bible study. In these four methods, Murray helps us move past the written words to personalization and deeper understanding on both the part of student and teacher. However, in comparing...
Published on April 23, 2002 by zoe1957


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Versed in Bible Study!, January 31, 2000
By 
Kim Bayless (Delaware, Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
This is an excellent book with many solid suggestions for new pastors or laypersons as well as those with many years of teaching under their belts. It is simple to read yet detailed with many ideas. There are concrete examples and it is broken down into adult and youth studies, however, most if not all examples can be used across all age brackets. It is a must read for all interested in enlivening any Bible study!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Resource for Teaching Bible Study, April 23, 2002
By 
"zoe1957" (Delaware, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
Murray presents ten teaching methods for Bible study. Some of his ideas are quite good including theological Bible study, all senses Bible study, depth Bible study, and shared praxis Bible study. In these four methods, Murray helps us move past the written words to personalization and deeper understanding on both the part of student and teacher. However, in comparing all ten teaching methods Murray tends to be redundant, as there is a good deal of overlap in the ten methods. Additionally, some of the more current methods are not included in this book, which could be due in part to the fact that the material is somewhat dated, i.e. no material is presented which covers learning stations and/or cooperative learning groups. This book would be a good starting point for a novice Bible study teacher; but, for someone with any teaching experience, this book is not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible study for taday, April 23, 2002
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
Mr. Murray provides a refershing look at Bible Study that is well thought out and well organized. The themes that author provides are fully discussed anfd the author is very thorough.
This is a good guide for any Bible Study teacher in any setting Because the author is sensitive to the learning needs and abilities of different people, he provides a diversity of different approaches.
Murray obviously desires to share his faioth woith others and through this book he not only underscores the value of Bible Study but the value of the method as well.
The reader is surprised by the quantity and duiversity of the methods in Murray's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Effective Bible Studies, April 23, 2002
By 
Andrew J Little (Delaware, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
This book provided explicit procedures for implementing various Bible study methods. Each of the methods outlined gave detailed approaches to develop meaningful studies. Being non-technical, the methods used were very student oriented. Evaluations were also given of different prepared Bible studies, although these were somewhat outdated. Several of these methods were used in a class setting and most were very effective. This book is highly recommended for anyone interesting in beginning a Bible study, since it gives a wide variety of ideas for getting started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practical Approaches to Teaching the Bible, April 23, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
In this book Dick Murray, professor of Christian Education at Perkins School of Theology, provides several methods for teaching the Bible. His methods endeavor to place the focus on God's Word--not on the teacher or the method--making the Bible accessible to adult and youth learners with varied learning styles. The book provides easy-to-follow procedures, often with several options. Murray provides several practical approaches to helping people learn about the Word of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Study Tool, May 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
I teach discipleship classes and finally decided to to order this book the study kept refering to and wondered how I went so long without it. It ehanced and helped both me and the students to go deeper into scripture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Browsed Only, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
I haven't got into this book yet. When I do I know it going to be interested. thanks again. check back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Should be interesting, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
It is not time to review this book and many of the books that I ordered from Amazon. That will not happen until I determine what I learn from the reading and the class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars satisfied, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
I am going through the Disciple Bible Study with my Church.
I saw repeated referances to this book in the teachers manuel.
I found this book very cheap,it came quick and i am halfway through it already.
It has some styles of teaching that are not for me.
But some info i will definatly use.
I am particularly happy because i love to teach but never buy these books.
This book promises and delivers.
It gives teaching suggestions,various syles,and an evaluation of a few long term bible study curriculum.
One idea is to write your own and have the sermons and sunday school(or long term Bible study)to reinforce each other to enhance the congregations understanding of and knowlege of the Bible.
It also gives ideas for short term Bible study .
This is good for pastors and laymen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book is OK, January 13, 2013
By 
LH (huddleston, VA, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth (Paperback)
I bought this book because it was being referenced in my Disciple I class. I did not find it to be as resourceful as I had hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth
Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth by Dick Murray (Paperback - March 1, 1993)
$18.99 $14.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.