Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference
just what i needed for my class AND a very good resource even though i will be teaching middle school science...
Published on August 31, 2010 by Liz G

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time To Start Protesting The High Cost Of Textbooks
Textbook publishers are getting away with murder. They are charging massive amounts for textbooks that you know you are forced to purchase for you classes. If your teacher assigns you a book, you have no choice but to purchase that book. Publishers know this and do everything they can to get your schools and professors to use their books. Students need to start protesting...
Published 6 months ago by Stinky K.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference, August 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
just what i needed for my class AND a very good resource even though i will be teaching middle school science...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This books is easy to read, and it is packed full of useful information on how and why students have a hard time reading. It also does a very good job explaining phonics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable!, April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I am a college student and usually I sell my textbooks the day the semester ends however this one is a keeper. There are so many tools and resources in this textbook. It is the most beneficial book I have ever read and it will be a great resource when I have my own classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great book, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I had to buy it for a class and found it to be excellent. I am keeping it as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ., January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
It Was the book I needed. I got into time. No marking and great condition. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book., October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This book is easy to read but full of great information. This but has great ideas and information directly relatable to the classroom. Will be using this for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for a Class, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
The book is in Good condition and its a book I needed for a class so I'm glad it looks good and readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
100% satisfied! Will continue to use Amazon for my books! 👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time To Start Protesting The High Cost Of Textbooks, June 26, 2014
This review is from: Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Textbook publishers are getting away with murder. They are charging massive amounts for textbooks that you know you are forced to purchase for you classes. If your teacher assigns you a book, you have no choice but to purchase that book. Publishers know this and do everything they can to get your schools and professors to use their books. Students need to start protesting the high cost of these books and one way you can do that is by doing it here. Start voicing your outrage over the injustice that you are subjected. You are being abused and shouldn't take it lying down. You are in school to become contributing members of society. The skills you learn, especially teachers, will benefit all of society. You shouldn't be subjected to such an indignity by those who are more concerned with profit.

I suggest that from now on, all books that you purchase that you deem to be priced above what you deem to be a fair price, especially when compared to other textbooks, be summarily given bad reviews without even bothering to waste your time further on the book. When enough textbook publishers are hit with these kinds of protests, they will think a little harder about trying to overcharge you for books. It will also encourage those professors who do ask you to purchase unnecessarily expensive textbooks to think twice before doing so. They are part of the problem and system as well. You should include in your reviews what you know about how the system of kickbacks to institutions and instructors works. You can change being preyed upon, but you must make some small effort to show your dissatisfaction for the way things stand now.

What I suggest is easy as a strategy and can be effective if enough people do as I suggest, on all websites for all reviews of these textbooks. Please cut and paste this and post it on other reviews of overpriced textbooks and materials so that other people can see this idea that can become a movement. If people automatically gave a thumbs down to a book, that they knew they were being overcharged for, this would have to influence a change in the status quo. You are buying this particular book because you want to make a change. You want to teach. Teach these publishers that they can't get away with taking advantage of students. Teach them that you are not a sucker. Students are taken advantage of in so many ways. The number one debt in the USA is for student loans. While people can declare bankruptcy for buying too much junk, students cannot for wanting to get an education to better themselves and all of society and they carry the largest amount of debt in the nation. Students have become a target for those who prey upon their good intentions and lack of experience. Don't let them take further advantage of your goodness. Fight back. Give a thumbs down to all overpriced textbooks and help spread this message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WRONG DESCRIPTION, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Wrong description, not the 6th edition. I was given the 5th. Therefore, it has caused difficulty for the semester and now with the trading in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference (6th Edition)
Used & New from: $40.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.