Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smattering of black-and-white photographs, tables, and sample forms illustrate this step-by-step guide
Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners is a straightforward guide for mathematics educators of grades K-12 to instructing students challenged by learning disabilities, ADHD, or mild cognitive disabilities. Drawing upon experience-tested, research-based strategies, Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully discusses the common learning...
Published on January 4, 2008 by Midwest Book Review

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Technical For Our Purposes but...
Our 6 year old was doing great in most areas at school, but found math more difficult. Rather than simply bombard her with more of the same approach, we bought this book (which was recommended in another book we read on the subject) to help us identify a different way of teaching math.

Unfortunately, this book is written for professional teachers and educators...
Published on March 21, 2010 by An Englishman Abroad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smattering of black-and-white photographs, tables, and sample forms illustrate this step-by-step guide, January 4, 2008
This review is from: Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners (Paperback)
Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners is a straightforward guide for mathematics educators of grades K-12 to instructing students challenged by learning disabilities, ADHD, or mild cognitive disabilities. Drawing upon experience-tested, research-based strategies, Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully discusses the common learning characteristics of students with learning difficulties, how to focus on the most important mathematical concepts and get the "big ideas" across, lesson plans and practical tactics for directly addressing students' learning barriers, how to analyze and improve one's own strengths and weaknesses, and much more. A smattering of black-and-white photographs, tables, and sample forms illustrate this step-by-step guide to teaching students what they most need to know about math from simple number operations to algebra, geometry, measurement, data analysis, probability, and more. Highly recommended for any educator responsible for teaching learning-challenged children, whether they teach at a public school, a private school, a summer school, or tutor in a private home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Technical For Our Purposes but..., March 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners (Paperback)
Our 6 year old was doing great in most areas at school, but found math more difficult. Rather than simply bombard her with more of the same approach, we bought this book (which was recommended in another book we read on the subject) to help us identify a different way of teaching math.

Unfortunately, this book is written for professional teachers and educators which we are not. We are pretty sure it is excellent for that purpose, but we found it heavy going and short on practical ways to help our child.

This is not a criticism of the book; more an ackowledgement that we simply bought the wrong title for our needs.

On that basis alone we gave it three stars. To a professional it may very well be worth more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a certain audience, May 1, 2013
This review is from: Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for those involved with math instruction and intervention of students with disabilities and at-risk concerns. Heavy on research, it provides a clear path to connecting math procedures and concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, May 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners (Paperback)
I read the book and it is very informative. I recommended to my friends to buy it. The strategies are very useful especially in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners, October 14, 2007
This review is from: Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners (Paperback)
Very helpful for teachers who work with struggling learners in mathematics. Offers ideas on differentiations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needed product, June 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners (Paperback)
I needed this book for a graduate class I was taking and it came in good condition with no worn spots or knicks. And it arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for Reaching Struggling Learners
$31.95 $28.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.