Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book!
The book reviews disabilities very well, and has many examples for better understanding and teaching more efficient.

Has clear examples of the diffrences in the disabilities.
Published on August 8, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A spectacularly bad and poorly-arranged textbook.
I was pretty shocked at how poorly written and poorly organized a book with 4 (listed) authors could actually be. It made me wonder if this was a textual example of the adage that "too many cooks spoil the soup."

I could give a laundry list of problems with this book, but I'll make a few general complaints and then give a few examples from the book...
Published 2 months ago by MF48


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book!, August 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Students with Special Needs in Inclusive Settings (6th Edition) (Paperback)
The book reviews disabilities very well, and has many examples for better understanding and teaching more efficient.

Has clear examples of the diffrences in the disabilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A spectacularly bad and poorly-arranged textbook., August 28, 2014
By 
This review is from: Teaching Students with Special Needs in Inclusive Settings (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I was pretty shocked at how poorly written and poorly organized a book with 4 (listed) authors could actually be. It made me wonder if this was a textual example of the adage that "too many cooks spoil the soup."

I could give a laundry list of problems with this book, but I'll make a few general complaints and then give a few examples from the book. First, the authors, despite being professors, have little to no idea about how this information should be scaffolded for the student who is new to the subject. Instead of a foundation which works from the very general to the very particular, you get a hodge-podge of generals and particulars mixed into huge, sweeping chapters--filled with lengthy, sweeping paragraphs--that contain little discernible organization as you read through them. The book reads like a professor (I once had) talks: from broad topic to ranging tangents or from narrow topics to narrow tangents. That professor just knew too much for her own good. She constantly navigated in a sphere of ideas way beyond her students who were learning the material for the first time. If this weren't an introductory text for this subject, I'd soften this critique, even if though I ultimately can't forgive the authors for the text in its entirety.

There are diagrams that don't appear on the page or pages in which the diagram is referenced. Instead, there is some other practical or factual scenario insert on that page. Why not move that around? This wouldn't be a big deal as these things do happen in text formatting, but this book is full of examples of this kind of poor organization or formatting. So many of the visual or textual "inserts" in the chapters seem haphazardly placed. I was regularly asking myself, "What is this here for? It's a factual scenario or personal spotlight that doesn't link explicitly to anything I've just read?"

The technical language of special education is as vast as the Pacific Ocean. So what happens here? The authors use vague terms they clearly understand but are difficult to discern the meaning of from the context. Here's only one example from innumerable examples: "If a referral is made, and the IEP team accepts the referral..." What's the referral for? Who is it coming from? To whom is it being made? Don't look to the context because the word referral doesn't appear in the paragraphs before or after this sentence. All it would take is one word to modify the word "referral" and the student would (or should) instantly recall what he/she read a page or two earlier. They once called this a "formal" referral. That's only slightly better. However, on the next page the chart calls it "Initial referral to eligibility determination." This mix of terms is now confusing. Terms of art should be consistently used for students new to the subject. But isn't this just how experts talk to each other? They don't need good, clear context or hyper-consistent usage to convey meaning to each other. (And so I imagine these four cooks slapping each other the back as they read through these chapters.)

On page 70, the authors mention "key steps" in a process, but those steps--which CHRONOLOGICALLY illustrate a process--are bullet-pointed. Further down the page, the authors mention helpful "guidelines" and THESE are numbered. Huh? They aren't even statutory or chronological, so it's not like numbers were even necessary or helpful here.

For another example, just look at diagram 3.4. It's a decision-based flow chart with arrows following "yes" or "no" lines of reading. Are there questions in ANY of the boxes for the student to read an then answer with a yes or a no? Nope. It's just absurd. Of course, only one bland, in-text reference to this chart appears on the page before the chart, not on the pages where the chart appears. The chart, however, is described in detail on the page opposite from it. That makes sense, right? Is the citation to the chart made there too? No. Only a good contextual understanding of the text tells you the authors are actually walking through and explaining their question-less "yes" or "no" answer chart.

And so it goes with this kind of poor writing and poor editing filling the pages. As a student who has been around the educational block, I am stunned at how hard this book makes it for me to read and understand the material. I've read challenging texts before, but for a careful reader like me this one is punishing to read--and I mean that. It's punishing.

While it is full of content, it is otherwise terrible. TERRIBLE. I gave it the second star solely for its content. That was a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Required for a course, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had to purchase this book for class. There seem to be more "case studies" for teachers to assign that actually content. But if you need it for class. It isn't terrible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will be using this in my Teaching Library, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Students with Special Needs in Inclusive Settings (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Required text for a credential program. Will be using it often for easy reference. Negative reviews stated this text was too general and did not apply to specific state standards, however, I thought it useful to understand national standards in special needs programs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The book served its purpose!, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book provided me with enough information to cover the topics from my class, it made for an easy read. However, the only item that keeps me from giving this book 5 stars is the search function from the book is totally useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars special needs, October 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Students with Special Needs in Inclusive Settings (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This book was in great condition and was just what I needed. The best part is that it arrived just in time, I will definitely rent from Amozon again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Students with Special Needs in Inclusive Settings (6th Edition) (Paperback)
Excellent!!! I liked this book because it was more than what I was expecting for my class!!! It is helping me a lot!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good information, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Students with Special Needs in Inclusive Settings (6th Edition) (Paperback)
This book is food for anyone who works with children with disabilities. I have found it very useful in my studies and classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No page numbers, May 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is for my credential program. Couldn't get a hard copy fast enough so bought this. It sure was quick but it doesn't have any PAGE NUMBERS. How can you site a reference from this text if you can't find the page number. Location is completely irrelevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what it says it was, June 25, 2012
By 
Ernie B. (Manchester NH) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Teaching Students with Special Needs in Inclusive Settings (6th Edition) (Paperback)
came in new condition. Delivery was fast. DOES NOT include the disc to access MYlab but otherwise covers the course contents exactly like the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Teaching Students with Special Needs in Inclusive Settings (6th Edition)
$173.00 $142.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.