Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Lynne
2008's finely crafted but slow moving tribute to Dusty Springfield, Just A Little Lovin', seems to have divided up the fans a bit. I loved it, but, judging from the reviews on these pages, others either disliked it because they felt the performances didn't compare favorably with the Springfield originals, or because it wasn't what they expected of Ms. Lynne. This new CD...
Published on April 21, 2010 by Mark D. Prouse

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
I am a real fan of Shelby's and couldn't wait to get her new cd. I am really disappointed. It is so slow it plays like elevator music.
Some really slow cd's are wonderful if they are haunting and heart wrenching. But this is just plain boring. I will be getting rid of this one.
Published on August 10, 2010 by Annette Sonnenberg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Lynne, April 21, 2010
This review is from: Tears, Lies, And Alibis (Audio CD)
2008's finely crafted but slow moving tribute to Dusty Springfield, Just A Little Lovin', seems to have divided up the fans a bit. I loved it, but, judging from the reviews on these pages, others either disliked it because they felt the performances didn't compare favorably with the Springfield originals, or because it wasn't what they expected of Ms. Lynne. This new CD finds Shelby firmly back on track, writing all the songs, and sounding better than ever, if perhaps a bit down.

There's a fair amount of variety here, but the album does tend toward the somber, and the instrumentation is sparse and often so subtle that it takes repeated play to notice all the nuances and bits of virtuosity by the supporting players. Yet this factor is also what makes this collection of tunes so charming, despite the sadness and occasional anger conveyed in many of them. Lynne is not a flamboyant artist, and is not interested in proving every second that she's a technically brilliant vocalist. No screaming or running up and down the scales - just good, straightforward phrasing with attention paid most to lyric and melody. These songs convey emotion through Lynne's words and the sweetness and delicacy of the instrumentals. Although this is at a heart a country album, it's not a typical one, in that it does not strive for either a stereotypical country sound, or for commercialism - no hit singles here except maybe the opening rocker, "Rains Came." This is mostly a quiet, adult record, yet not without some energy (although the most up-tempo tracks are the first two, with slight lifts coming in on two mid-tempo tracks in the middle, and the next-to-last song). Listen to the gently driving "Family Tree," reminiscent of the southwestern folk sound of Calexico. "Something to Be Said About Airstreams" is a sweet, nostalgic homage to living on the road and reminds me a little of the songs of John Gorka (his "Airstream Bohemians" came to mind), and Greg Brown. "Loser Dreamer" is especially moving, with a lyric that hits me where I live, and the effect is magnified through a haunting, atmospheric arrangement. "Old # 7" has some nice electric slide guitar, and the next track, "Old Dog," features vigorous acoustic guitar with a bluesy folk sound and some fine male backup vocals doing the harmony. The final ballad, "Home Sweet Home," is one of the best, most personal songs in this set, with Lynne expressing exhaustion from touring and a longing for the comforts and stability of home life; always nice when an album ends on a high!

My one complaint is that the CD is so brief. It wasn't expensive, though, and I'd rather have a solid, short recording, then a longer, less cohesive one. All and all, a fine offering from an artist who still has much more to say. I'll follow her as long as she keeps making music at least as good as TEARS, LIES AND ALIBIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not her best, April 29, 2010
By 
LA (United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tears, Lies, And Alibis (Audio CD)
There is no such thing as a bad Shelby Lynne album. She is a major talent and has an amazing voice. I own every album she's put out, and I was looking forward to this one because she produced it and put it out on her own label.

Unfortunately, that's the major weakness of Tears, Lies, and Alibis. I know she has a thing about record companies and music producers, but I believe she does better with collaboration.

This CD is so spare it almost sounds like a demo. I loved the spareness of the previous Dusty Springfield homage, but this one breaks no new ground. She never rocks out. There's nothing jazzy. I was hoping for some soul--nothing.

Several of the songs sound similar to other songs she's released. The lyrics cover similar ground as well. Her best albums continue to be I Am Shelby Lynne; Love, Shelby; and the Springfield homage.

Maybe she's going through something, and the next album will be incredible. I hope she collaborates in the future. I also hope someone tells her the new hairstyle is awful. Whoever is advising her right now is not doing her any favors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear, spare, heartwrenching and pure, May 18, 2010
This review is from: Tears, Lies, And Alibis (Audio CD)
Recently saw Shelby live in NYC and she is spellbinding. She played most of "Tears, Lies..." in the same spare, elegant manner on the cd, and she was mesmerising. Alibi is one of the great ballads of the 21st century. See her live, buy her music, she's as real and beautiful as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The melancholy side of Shelby Lynne, May 12, 2010
This review is from: Tears, Lies, And Alibis (Audio CD)
In her twenty year career, Shelby Lynne has become a bit of country music chameleon. She's tried mainstream country (her first three albums on Epic Records), alternative country ("Suit Yourself" and "Identity Crisis"), pop music (her 2001 album "Love, Shelby"), blue-eyed soul ("I Am Shelby Lynne" and "Just A Little Lovin'"), and even big band and swing (her two mid 90's albums). Her refusal for her music to be pigeonholed has oftentimes worked against her, and record labels were left scratching their heads as they had no idea what to do with her. Although she has been signed to practically every major label known to man, almost none of them lead to success for Shelby. So, she went the independent route and released her new album "Tears, Lies and Alibis" on her own imprint Everso Records.

Her latest effort is written and produced entirely by Shelby, much like her two albums for Capitol Records- 2003's "Identity Crisis" and 2005's "Suit Yourself". Most of the album has a stripped down acoustic sound throughout and the prevailing theme is heartbreak and sadness- as if the album title didn't tip you off. It starts off with "Rains Came" and the soul-infused ballad "Why Didn't You Call Me". The song "Alibi" sees Shelby confront her significant other over his late night indiscretions. "Old #7" shows Shelby drowning her sorrows in alcohol over a nasty breakup. The album ends with "Home Sweet Home" in which she is weary from doing tours and just wants to go home. Desptie the gloomy theme of "Tears, Lies And Alibis", it's fairly good but she has done much better material in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shelby is unique..., November 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tears Lies & Alibis (Vinyl)
She reminds me of nobody. Nobody reminds me of her. She stands alone. She sings to some of my deepest and most secret concerns and experiences. Shelby has the guts to be... Only the works of Edgar Allan Poe have moved me similarly. I should mention that her voice is as enthralling as it is in tune. I like the variety of her works. Shelby, I would like your next offering to be just you and your guitar...unvarnished and intimate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done!, July 11, 2010
By 
JBT "jbttttt" (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tears, Lies, And Alibis (Audio CD)
I've had this CD several months now and it's held up with repeated listens in the car and on Sunday mornings. Shelby is a fine talent -- voice with depth, emotion and dimension. Great songwriting -- favorite tracks -- Rains Came, Alibi and Loser Dreamer. Here's hoping fans have many years of music from Lynne to look forward too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Songwriter/Singer - needs to find a niche, May 31, 2010
This review is from: Tears, Lies, And Alibis (Audio CD)
Ms Lynne is an outstanding songwriter and singer. This album is a return to more personal material for her. Last album was all covers. She's been a c-w singer, rocker, pop artist and back to c-w. Beautiful and talented. Deserves the big time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinarily beautiful, heartfelt, and bravely personal album, May 27, 2010
By 
Buyumon (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tears, Lies, And Alibis (Audio CD)
"Tears, Lies, and Alibis" is an extraordinarily beautiful, heartfelt, and bravely personal album from one of the finest singer-songwriters in America today. Anyone who would disparage it is missing something truly important. It is essentially an acoustic album (at least in feel and sound), largely recorded at her home in the Southern California desert as well as in Nashville, with Shelby Lynne on acoustic guitar, and primary accompaniment from Lynne's lead guitarist, John Jackson (fantastic live solos) and bassist and co-producer Brian Harrison (as well as a few others). If the album is "low-key" and stripped down, it is so in the way that one might find with Willie Nelson (and Lynne's music is eclectic in the same way), Johnny Cash's American Recording albums, or perhaps even on Springsteen's "Nebraska".

My wife and I are fortunate to have seen Shelby Lynne live three times, including her remarkable appearance at the legendary Fillmore in San Francisco in support of "Just a Little Lovin'". It was a night that will be long remembered by those who were lucky enough to be there. Shelby put on the performance of a lifetime, and the enthusiastic Fillmore crowd gave back the love. We also were able to see Shelby twice during her most recent 2010 tour in support of "Tears, Lies, and Alibis", both in Chico, CA early in the tour (which Shelby said on stage was the weirdest show she'd ever played, but which had moments of sheer beauty and stark openess), and also at the tour's last show in Solana Beach, CA at the famous Belly Up Tavern (an absolutely great show at a classic SoCal beach city venue). While the Fillmore show was with a full band, the "Alibis" tour was very intimate, with just Lynne, Jackson, and Harrison. Shelby's live shows are among the most memorable of any I have ever seen.

"Tears, Lies, and Alibis" is a striking statement from an amazing performer and vocalist.
Shelby Lynne is an artist at the peak of her musical powers. Be wise, open your heart, and listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfection We've Grown To...., June 13, 2010
By 
This review is from: Tears, Lies, And Alibis (Audio CD)
...expect from a wonderful singer!! Though not a "country" fan, I have made an exception for Shelby Lynne (and her little sister Allison Moorer), and she has never disappointed me. Of course, she's not really "country", nor "rock", nor "jazz" (see "Temptation"), though she's been all of those and more. Though her albums are all in the same voice, one could easily believe that they're by different girls. Even the jacket photos over the years, which have ranged from gorgeous (as here) to ??? could have been not the same girl. She doesn't "fit", and that's probably why she's not the best-known singer in America.

The present offering again finds Shelby in no-girl's land, but the music is wonderful. You can her her country roots, but this is way more than country. Kind of sad thru much of the disc, but feeling pain with her is something I've never minded. The title cut, "Alabi" and track nine, "Old Dog", are particularly well done. But, heck, the whole record is well done.

Once again, Shelby defies classification, and once again she is perfection. She ought to be more widely known, but if she were, she might be "Shelby", and that would be a crying shame!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Strong Shelby Album. Great Songwriting, Production, & Performance., June 6, 2010
By 
BuzzGuy (Madison, WI, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tears, Lies, And Alibis (Audio CD)
Well, I'm crazy about Shelby, even Shelby in the beginning circa 1989.

On "Tears, Lies, And Alibis", she sounds a lot like she did on the mellow "Suit Yourself" without the patchwork of studio talk. She sounds as sexy as ever, a voice and production that feels like she's right in the room. Makes it hard to believe that the title track has ANY man cheating on her. Still, she is known for the done-me-wrong category, which she is able to perform with eerie detachment.

She relies on her guitar and fine songwriting to tell the rest. I'm tempted to say she's in a holding pattern until the stunning "Family Tree" which builds up such ferocity on the acoustic guitar until the money line "This apple done fell off the family tree".

She perks up a bit with "Old #7", you guessed it, a drinking song. With a voice that is whiskey and cigarettes if I ever heard one, I love to hear her honky-tonk like this. Not everyone's bag, but she happens to be very good at it.

Shelby has always had a niche problem, as many talented performers do. I didn't care for "I Am Shelby Lynne". At the time, the special interest group known as "women in rock" wanted to claim this gal very badly. The truth is that she is not only beholden to nobody, but maybe so quintessentially Country, she may not even know it yet. I hope she figures this out. Even Tammy Wynette thought she was one of the best voices that ever hit music. Please keep trusting your gut Shelby, and keep whispering those beautiful words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tears, Lies, And Alibis
Tears, Lies, And Alibis by Shelby Lynne (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.